We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Green Hills Lodge(Karatu)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jambo Rooms(Karatu)(Great Value!)
US$30
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Highview Hotel(Karatu)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge(Lake Manyara National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostel Ebeneza(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (662)
Filter reviews
662 results
Traveller rating
149
258
160
62
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
258
160
62
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot waterviewing deckfantastic viewsbuffet styleenjoy the viewrestaurant staffsafari packagelounge areacrater viewbreakfast and dinnerearly morningpublic areaslodgerimelectricityngorongorotelescope
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
186 - 191 of 662 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed here one night in low season. It was quiet, but we enjoyed the stay. The rooms are fine - not luxury lodge standard, but certainly adequate. The bar/restaurant is interesting - it looks very much like a ski lodge, and as such it wouldn't be my cup of tea in high season. There is a long terrace with stunning views of the crater.
The staff were friendly. The food was good. It's well worth taking a look at.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Had originally been scheduled to stay at the Ngorongoro Serena Lodge, but a very late change in itinerary put me in this Lodge; a screw up either South African Airways Vacations and/or Kudu Safaris. Ltd., and a lot of finger pointing. Tried to get into the Serena Lodge, but no room at the Inn (was Christmas Day). Very upset when I arrived at the Wildlife Lodge and the manager, Hamisi Juma, did a great job to make me feel welcome and arranged for a good room. Very friendly attentive staff, good bar service and the food was adquate, bufflet style serving. Lodge located on the rim of the Crater with great views, but was more like Holiday Inn in Tanzania, which is not that bad. No hot water in the AM on the 26th, so took a very quick and refreshing (cold) shower. Do not know what I paid so cannot assess value for the price point. Would have rather been at the Serena Lodge for Christams, that was to be one of the high points of my 5-week trip, but travel companies ruined that goal. Score above should be "Good" for the overall score, but no catefgory for "Good". Tip: Check and Double Check what your travel companies are telling you, and the arrangements they are making.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dionges1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The setting on the top of the crater is stunning. The hotel is dated and worn out. The rooms are simple and clean. The restraint is a buffet and had many choices. Nothing luxurious, but it did have warm showers and a view.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel4fun111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge is a luxury wildlife lodge. It is situated close to a large lake and is surrounded by high hills.
The lidge itself has very good and comfortable rooms and a very good restaurant. It is Close to the Ngorongoro Crater.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lars B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

When we arrived, we were expecting the worst! We were quite familiar with the reviews….and they were not good - go for the view and nothing more.

As our tour operator dropped us off, two ladies took our bags and started to clean them. When we went to check in, we were given 2 cold towels with lemon infused smells added, and 2 refreshing drinks. They were absolutely wonderful. Check-in was quick, and at this point we were very impressed. We went right to the balcony on a CLOUDLESS day…has to be one of the top views in the world for a hotel, I kid you not.

We had a few drinks (average price), and were given complementary nuts and popcorn. The main room looked refinished…with soft leather seats. We were wondering why there were so many complaints.

Supper was also good, not great, not bad, but good.

The room was the issue. Not including the unbelievable view from each, several huge issues arose…

When we showered, every time someone else flushed a toilet, the water would scald you…to the point of actually burning you. The walls are extremely thin…you can hear every flush, door shut, and so on. There were several power outages. Internet was charged $10/hr..and only in the main room. This alone is a joke, and needs to be changed! There is not one wall painting in the room…just blank white walls giving a very cold feeling. The boxed lunches for safaris are also a joke….waste of time ordering them. The had a white hotdog bun with cucumbers, a banana, and water…ugh.

This place needs to cut the price in half till they figure out a few of their major issues including plumbing!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlechilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews