We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 star service - 5 star prices”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“2 star service - 5 star prices”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This lodge has a spectacular view of Ngorongoro Crater - and that is its only real asset.
Shortcomings:
1) towels were not available upon check in
2)power outage for about 1/2 hours before dinner
3)wifi is not free - $10 for an hour - did not work and had a terrible time getting refunded.
4) bar waitress would not allow me to charge my drink order to my room - insisted upon cash - said check out in the morning would be too busy to reconcile my bill
5) restaurant is like a high school cafeteria - buffet style, but no seating assignment - people grabbing tables, moving tables and chairs around. Could not tell if a table was occupied or had been vacated. Staff had hard time keeping ahead of the mess.
6) had to wait for clean coffee cups during breakfast.
7) food is mediocre - pork chops so tough I could not cut them.
8) Driver/guide facilities are also lacking - very small rooms, no towels provided, and eating area so small that some must stand to eat their dinner - unacceptable!!
This faciitiy is not worth the money - would suggest another facility in the area - others also have great views.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the crater
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    242
    153
    55
    30
See reviews for
121
281
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I stayed one night with my family and the hotel offers a great view but the facilities and the service is horrible. Moreover, you have to pay 10 USD to access the internet.

They do not turn up the heat during July and August so please remember your winter coat it is very cold inside (the staff wear fleece inside)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThomasC463364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ngorongoro Conservation Area hotels

Banos, Ecuador
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Great views from rooms and restaurant . Good hospitality and food. This is the lodge I would recommend for a visit to Ngorogoro crater for a safari tour as it is well situated to access roads to the crater. It offers good value in comparison to the likes of Four Seasons.

Room Tip: Spend two nights here at least
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelbrkeaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed one night here and one night at Rhino Lodge. This lodge was way more expensive, but we actually enjoyed Rhino Lodge more. The food here was bad. The service at the restaurant left a lot to be desired. The rooms were adequate. The pipes were noisy whenever you or your neighbor turned on the water. There was no hot water for my wife's morning shower.

However, the view is the best on the crater. If you can eat or drink on the balcony outside (i.e., if it's warm enough), you really should.

It seemed like they were trying to create American style accommodation in east Africa, and it just didn't quite work. Perhaps that's why we enjoyed Rhino Lodge, which is more genuine.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The only reason to stay here is the view. That said, there are two other lodges along the crater rim with the same view so unless they are booked up, there is no reason to stay here. The rooms are fine but nothing special. I would have been worried if my mother had been with me as I feel the step into the tub/shower was quite a high one. I would not have let her do it alone. I was pretty shocked and put off by the fact that this place does not let the guides can't eat with their guests. Internet was an unbelievable $10/hour (i declined). The lunch box they packed for me a a vegetarian was french fries. Meanwhile the rest of my companions (all meat eaters) were given a vegetarian sandwich along with their chicken. Dinner was ok. This is not a place were you feel particularly cared for by the staff. It is a bit of a factory. I later saw a review in the lonely planet guide that was succinct and dead on, "If all other lodges on the rim are full, but you really want a room with a view, consider this large relic, which can only be recommended for its excellent setting."

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank aps101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here purely for the view and it was well worth it. The rooms were clean, the food plenty and service very friendly.
I can't imagine visiting Ngorongoro without staying at a lodge without a crater view.
Waking up to the early morning mist moving across the crater rim only added to the experience.
The dining area although large had a warm feel about it but the crater view from the verandah with a cold drink was excellent.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms with a crater views will be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We were met by a friendly efficient staff with a glass of fresh juice and a moist towel, which was just what we needed after a 6 hour game drive in the crater. Our room was nice (not dated), had an excellent view of the crater, and was very clean. There is a long veranda for relaxing, taking pictures, and having a drink. The sunset was off to our left, so no photos there. Also, in the morning the crater is fogged in, so there were no photos then either. The fog had lifted by the time that we got to the overlook though.
The restaurant was buffet style and the food was good, especially the desserts! Unfortunately they charge for internet (in the lobby) and it is a bit slow, but we got our emails checked satisfactorily. We had warm showers with no "scalding" problems that other reviewers mentioned.
Check in and check out were easy. I cannot comment about cost, as SED Adventure Tours upgraded us without charge to this lodge from a tent camp. Needless to say, we were delighted!

Room Tip: overlooking the crater, to the left of the lobby as you enter the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irislover04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngorongoro Conservation Area
3.3 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,149 reviews
6.9 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
411 reviews
12.9 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 48 in Karatu
635 reviews
11.2 mi away
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodge
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodg...
#14 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
76 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge

Property: Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
Address: Ngorongoro Crater, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:2 star — Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge is dramatically perched on the rim of Africa’s Eden, affording unbelievable views plunging down over the crater floor, 7,500 feet above the sea level. The Lodge is elegantly built mainly from natural stone and local wood and timber, harmoniously merging with its natural surroundings, and it is provided with panoramic windows that encompass superb views of the crater’s great bowl. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ngorongoro Wildlife Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Ngorongoro Wildlife Conservation Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing