We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't say enough about this camp.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kisima Ngeda Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Encinitas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can't say enough about this camp.”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

One of the highlights of our safari was staying at this beautiful, peaceful camp. The camp is set in a dense, tropical forest on the edge of Lake Eyasi. The owner, Nani, greeted us and personally took us on a tour of the grounds. Nani was extremely welcoming and clearly loves the camp as well as the surrounding village and people. The tents were the largest and best appointed of any camp we visited. The shower and bathroom easily equaled those in the regular lodges. The food was wonderful, and the staff was helpful and friendly. The camp has a lovely pool, which my children enjoyed using. I highly recommend a stay here!

Room Tip: All of the tents were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    23
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
72
81
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My nieces thought this was the best lodge we stayed at the entire trip. It was certainly the most luxurious tent we have ever stayed in. Our tent had 3 beds, and there was still plenty of room to walk around. There were nightstands with real lamps on them next to the beds, and the floor was covered with matting. The bathroom was clean and nice.

Staff and owners were very friendly and helpful. The food here is not a buffet but served to you at the table. I found it more than plentiful and good.

The swimming pool was lovely. We had some rain 1 day there so I didn't explore around the lodge as much as I would have liked due to mud. There are plenty of places to walk, though, so I recommend getting out and seeing what's around the lodge.

I had read some other reviews that the road to get here is the worst road on safari, and I didn't find it bad at all. I expected to spend 2 hours in great discomfort based on what I read but it was the same as any other road we experienced on safari.

The only downside to our stay was a very large group was staying there our first night, so our table of 3 was shoved in a corner and there was no room for our guide to join us for dinner. They literally couldn't squeeze in another chair.

Room Tip: There are only 7 tents. I would imagine all are great. And they are getting ready to renovate all th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventurer43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

On our recent tour through Northern Tanzania we spent (alas only) 1 night at this Tented Camp bordering beautiful Lake Eyasi. It is such a remote and peaceful place teaming with monkeys, birds and other small animals. I even saw a Monitor lizard.
The few tents - big and comfortably with lounge veranda - are arranged along the lake border with great views and have a lot of space in between them to guarantee total privacy.
The small Restaurant serves very good food and they have a nice pool area there to relax.
For sundowners you can walk up a cliff that overlooks the lake and the magnificent escarpment of the Great Rift Valley - WHOW!
This camp is perfect as a base to visit the Hadzabe bushmen, but also to just spend a few relaxing days in between game parks and I can really recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheodorWiesbaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sint-Gillis-Waas
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Situated at the borders of Lake Eyasi. Stunning view over the lake from most tents. The tents are very comfortable. When I was relaxing a bit on our terrace at a certain moment 23 monkeys were in the surrounding trees staring at me. That gave me the feeling of reverse "game driving": not tourist staring at animals, but animals staring at people :>) Extremely friendly and helpful hosts, good food and lots to do in the neighborhood. After dark the path to the tents is guarded to insure a safe walk (wild animals) to the tents; elephants pass through the camp regularly. There is a unique viewpoint to enjoy sunset.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed one night on our way to visit the Bushman. What a "WOW" atmosphere. The tents are top-notch and the surroundings are superb. We were well greeted by the staff and the owners of the lodge. Everything was well thought out and provided for. Our only regret is not being able to stay longer as one evening was just not enough time to enjoy all this lodge had to offer. Especially liked the tree house sunset view - amazing. The food was scrumptious as well. A return visit is on my Bucket List.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view and location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank POSCHtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

After a very bumpy and dusty ride, we arrived at the first tented lodge in our journey. We had just visited the Tortuga tribe on our way and watched them build arrowheads and knives for the Hadzabe bushmen that we were to hunt with the next day. What a unique experience for us. We found ourselves saying "each day is better than the last" more and more often. Here, we said it again. The lodge was very attractive and the food was some of the finest in our travels. They take the simple and make it seem extraordinary, down to the morning coffee delivery. The staff was friendly, the owners hands-on, and the atmosphere was relaxing and enticing. The only down side of our stay is that we were so busy touring that we didn't get time to relax and enjoy one of our favorite stops. Thankfully, the little gift shop provided memories of our favorite stops.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mishmaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay, only wish it had been longer. Nani and Chris are delightful hosts. The setting is wonderful, the food fabulous, and the staff attentive and extremely pleasant. After bumping along on game drives, it was great to be able to walk around. The tents are most comfortable and you can amuse yourselves watching the vervet monkeys watching you. The pool is a nice feature too. If you have a choice, this is the place!
Blake & Claudia

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Blake W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ngorongoro Conservation Area hotels
20.4 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
417 reviews
20.4 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,167 reviews
42.0 mi away
Lake Ndutu Luxury Tented Lodge
Lake Ndutu Luxury Tented Lodge
#10 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.6 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,567 reviews
23.4 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
316 reviews
27.0 mi away
Ngorongoro Forest Tented Lodge
Ngorongoro Forest Tented Lodge
#20 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kisima Ngeda Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kisima Ngeda Tented Camp

Property: Kisima Ngeda Tented Camp
Address: Lake Eyasi, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Kisima Ngeda Tented Camp Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing