We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
9
16
3
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
16
3
9
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2012

According to their info sheet, the location is 10km away from Ngorongoro. This is not from the crater itself, but actually from the entrance to the Ngorongoro wildlife protection area. A little bit misleading if you ask me.

The sign at the exit from the tarmac road says the lodge is only 4km away, which may be correct, but the drive over the very bad road takes almost an hour. Or even more if you get lost in the maze of roads in the coffee plantation. The next day the drive back to the tarmac road evidently also takes an hour of your time. This is a huge drawback, especially at the end or the beginning of a full day of safari. Our stay was at the beginning of the dry season, but I cannot imagine the road condition during the height of the wet season: it must be horrible.

After that long drive you expect a location with amazing views, but this is not the case. You get to see the forests on the crater, but not very interesting and far from breathtaking. For me this was not worth the long drive.

Tent could not be closed with a lock or door or anything, like in other lodges. People fearing items could be stolen, should not go here or bring their own lock.

Tent can be cold at night, but a fireplace in the tent an be filled by the friendly Masai staff with glowing hot coal to help keep the tent warm.

Mosquito protection is supposedly not needed due to the high altitude of the location.

Service is OK but not great. Same goes for the food. We did enjoy the hot cocoa we ordered and also the dessert at dinner. Those were very tasty.

OK for this one night, but I would steer clear of it and pick other accommodation in the Ngorongoro area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank straal79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

It was difficult to get there, the long and bumpy road to this desert place was very hard to drive caused by heavy rainfalls. (other people had to go by foot). But it was worth the trip.

In the middle of a beautiful forest some nice large tents are set up with great views above the trees. Water in the bathroom was not really that hot. Pressure was quite low.
But we had two really quite good nights here, and slept very well with decent comfort.

The food in the restaurant is not really special or inventive, or don't have any choice in what to eat, but it's tasty enough.

Staff is friendly and helpful.
The location of the camp is worth a visit.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jelvdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

It was a long drive to the lodge after a full day in the crater, but well worth it. Small enough to be relaxing, but large enough to have presence.
The tents were amazing. You're in the middle of the forest and in the midst of nature. We caught a glimpse of a herd of elephants crossing along the hillside. The landscape is soothing and the air fresh and clean.
I'm picky about my coffee, but I can truly say that the coffee on this coffee estate (you drive through it on your way in/out) was the best I've ever had. The staff will jump on a bike and bring you as much as you'd like to take back with you. If you're buying coffee in Tanzania, this is the best deal you'll ever get.
The tents were huge, with a stove (that you can ask to be lit if it's cold) and the washrooms comfortable and well designed. Sitting around the big thatch (and earlier that evening near the fire pit) make for a perfect evening.
Ask for a room in one of the taller tents that are on higher stilts- you'll have an unobstructed view of the hills...
Look out for the nuns farming along the drive into the estate. The agricultural fields make for great photography.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in one of the taller tents that are on higher stilts- you'll have an unobstructed view of the hills...
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ezelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Don't be put off by the long and bumpy drive to get to this lodge, because once there it is a really charming place to stay. The rooms are spacious, the bedding doonas fluffy and the views over the forest superb. The complimentary room gifts were a lovely touch and the hot water is hot! The staff are friendly and lit our bedroom fire urn to combat the chilly evenings. The food is great (they catered to our vegetarian needs well) and the dining room has a fantastic ambience due to the central fireplace and the use of hurricane lamps to light the room. The curio shop also contains some great buys. Overall this was the best accomodation in our safari.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XTWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2010

From Tarangire we went to Crater Forest Tented Camp southwest of Karatu near Oldeani. The tents and service were not up to the standards of the Asilia camps but the price, décor, views and ambiance made up that. Plus, they had on demand hot water! One note, if you go there, bring shampoo because they do not provide it.

We walked in the area escorted by a Maasai. He was the real deal. We had no common language but he was very pleasant, a little shy and self conscience. I found this combination surprising given the fact he was one seriously tough dude!

The next day we were off to Ngorongoro Crater. Due to the camps location we entered the crater at 10:30am,

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rwcorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews