We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel fine but million miles from anywhere!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Lido Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Nabeul
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I'm staying at the lido hotel Tunisia at the moment and really it's a very nice hotel the staff are helpful and friendly enough rooms cleaned every day though the mags could do with a broom, I would like to point out the bungalows are a lot to be desired very dark and shabby looking so I'd avoid them if possible.
If your here just to stay within the hotel to relax by pool or beach then this is ideal but if you are n need of shopping centres amusements or just want to go out by yourself exploring I'd recommend that you look closer towards the south Yasmin's Hammett or sousse is more resort like.
This hotel is not used to English though starting to and trying hard,. Most understand English but taxis not a all the are no banks to change money in hotel and therefore if you only take a debit card you will need to get taxi to bank which can be a little off putting ( I had to search for 3 different banks before I managed to get any money out ) luckily the girl I. The queue spike English and was very helpful if not I wouldn't have been able to translocation my problems to taxi driver!!! )
The hotel has a very long driveway to road but then it's another few mikes before you see any real shops and by that the not really tourist shops.

The area is quite run down this country is very poor so expect to have many people offering you things you don't want or need and seeing things which most would find very disturbing!

This hotel caters mainly for French and German so tv ( I know you am not cme on holiday to watch it but sometimes it's a must) is not English other than world news lol wifi is great here not slow. Food is ok not brilliant I've only been sick once not sure if it was from a bite or dinner I had the night before.

A e minute there's not a lot of activities to do other than swim in indoor or outdoor pools which is nice indoor has no life guide so watch the kiddies it is quite deep the gym is good with treadmills running machines multigym update equipment . You have a shop in resort and on site for nic naks if your into British tea bring ya own coffee is fine here. There's no drinks late at night so if your thirsting in night you'll need to buy water or pop I went down at half three in morning and only people there were guys with torches!

The beach is nice enough for relaxing by or paddling in not much way of walking either way though nothing around just old run down building s Etc so like I say if you like to get out and about this far north is not or you but If your just here to relax and soak up the sun it's perfect.

Room Tip: Do not have a bungalow even if it is sea views there are shabby and dark and not nice at all. Opt fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

have never been to tunisia before, but we decided to try this hotel for a week and have just got back 24th feb 2013. although the hotel mainly caters for french our holiday was very enjoyable and relaxing. the hotel is clean and the pool area and beach is very nice. the food was really good and the chefs took great pride in their work and there was something to suit all tastes and very tasty . one thing that was surprisingly different was the lack of chips......and to be honest i thought it was a good thing......afterall what is the point of visiting a foreign country and not tasting the local cuisine. in my motto, if you want burger and chips then perhaps stay in england.
the bar staff were lovely and very friendly......nothing was too much trouble and would help in any way possible. all the staff work long hours and are a real credit to the hotel owner.
i would definately visit the vime lido again but i would perhaps go when the weather is hotter and the hotel is in full swing.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank amanda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Nice hotel, good value for the money. Went here in winter, the place is quiet and clean and I got everything I paid for without problem. Don't expect a "real" 4-stars though, service is good but not great, the hotel is very big and can give a feeling of tourist factory. The surrounding area is sad and dirty, you will have to get a taxi to go sightseeing. I had a good time overall and would recommend it in silly season.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Boulingrin87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

A change for the worse This was a wonderful hotel under iberostar unfortunately it is now this year an absolute joke too many managers not enough staff the hotel now doesn't cater for guests the guests cater for the managers forget the customer is always right enter holiday camp atmosphere it makes me so sad after 28 years of wonderful times to be treated with so little respect

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Not many British tourists visit this hotel which is one reason why I wanted to write a review, This is a fantastic hotel situated on the beach and would highly recommend staying in the bungalows. Food is good and drinks are unlimited. They even provided you with large bottles of water for your room which i have never had before when staying in Spain on a all inclusive basis.Swimming pools are fantastic and entertainment at night is average. A relaxing hotel with helpful friendly staff.

Room Tip: Bungalows are great, spacious and have a large veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dorneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

I had no knowledge of Tunisia, but I've really enjoyed the Arabic culture. It was a nice experience. The hotel is very good, much better than other hotels from the same star category that we saw during the stay. The Hotel have a nice food and activities. Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank brunopereira7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2010

We spent a wonderful vacation in Vime Lido resort. As we didn't know Tunisia at all we were simply looking for some information on the net till we bumped into last minute travel which offered the family bungalow in Vime Lido resort for a very attractive price, so we booked it without really knowing whether it's good or bad. We took the chance…Luckily we chose well, the children really enjoyed themselves. The food was fantastic, the beach was lovely and we all had a wonderful summer vacation without spending much.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank petrapol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabeul
1.7 mi away
Khayam Garden
Khayam Garden
#1 of 6 in Nabeul
624 reviews
0.9 mi away
Byzance Hotel
Byzance Hotel
#5 of 6 in Nabeul
190 reviews
1.1 mi away
Les Pyramides
Les Pyramides
#3 of 6 in Nabeul
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Kheops
Hotel Kheops
#6 of 6 in Nabeul
157 reviews
9.5 mi away
Africa Jade Thalasso
7.9 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#2 of 119 in Hammamet
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lido Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lido Resort & Spa

Address: Boulevard 14 Janvier - Boite Postale 63 | Dar Chaabane Plage, Nabeul 8075, Tunisia (Formerly Vime Lido)
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Nabeul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Nabeul
Price Range: £50 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Lido Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dessole Royal Lido is situated in front of the fabulous beach of Nabeul with a nice view of the Mediterranean Sea.The hotel is an ideal place to spend a delightful family holiday, guests will discover a wide range of entertainment and sports programs inside and outside the hotel for both, children and adults.The hotel has a great location 2 km from Nabeul, 12 km from Hammamet and about 1 hour from the International Airport Tunis-carthage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Lido Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vime Lido Nabeul
Vime Lido Hotel Nabeul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing