We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good rooms - poor restaurant” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Oliviers Palace

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Les Oliviers Palace
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sfax
amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good rooms - poor restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

The rooms are indeed nice. The restaurant very poor and should be avoided. Neither cook nor waiters care too much: we even had a frozen carpaccio brought to our table. for the rest, the position is excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank giobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    35
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
4
13
6
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

I was in Sfax for a conference and i discovered such charming place. The hotel is an european level 4 star, with clean rooms and bathrooms, wi-fi, good breakfast and good restaurants. The most impressive restaurant is at the top of the building with a really beautiful terrace towards the sea. The center of the town and the Medina is 10 minutes walk. The internal pub is not only used by hosts but is a meeting point for Sfax inhabitants. Personnel is really polite.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FabrizC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
167 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

Probably the best hotel in Sfax, a very lively city in Tunisia. Hotel is very good. Rooms are spacious, not very big though, but very well appointed. Ours with excellent view over the harbour (611) and very quiet.
Inside swimming pool, very good for relaxation after visiting the city. Centrally located, in a shopping area, very close to Medina as well.
Staff very friendly. Breakfast and dinner included with our fare. Food was good, but not outstanding. Bar is overprized, especially compared to Tunisian standards.
All in all, a very good hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amore64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

basically perfect for a posh hotel.
greasy staff etc...
great pizza restaurant
breakfast a world-beater

Room Tip: top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abelljms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed for two days at the hotel with my son. Hotel staff is polite and helpful. Breakfast at the top floor is excellent. Rooms are clean and nice with all comfort. But after all it is Sfax and a bit too expensive for this location

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

I have stayed in This hotel now for a week, and have the misfortune of having to do another 6-8 weeks there aswell.To describe it as being like Faulty Towers is doing Faulty Towers an injustice.
I had stayed ther a year or so ago, and everything was top notch as you would expect from a 5 star hotel, but what a change !
The rooms are fine, internet could do with sorting out properly though. But where this place lets itself down is in the restauraunt I have been right through the menu and everything is either not what it say's, is served hot/cold as if had come out of a microwave, or just plain horrible. You order fillet steak,,you get neck cuts,, you order pizza, you dont get it (still get the bill for it though). I could go on. Oh yeah,,1 last thing, water out of the taps in the rooms smells like it has been drawn from a pond. If going to Sfax, try The Borj. much better service.

Room Tip: Dont use rooms on 1st or 2nd floor as windows open into foyer which can be very noisy because tv bla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boltadave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

We took a 10 days private tour around Tunisia and we experience different very nice hotels. This hotel is a real 5 stars due to the exceptional reception, nice room and great food. Maybe due to the time of the year (not to busy) and the fact that is more of a business type hotel (not too many tourists visit and stay in Sfax) but it was the only hotel in Tunisia were the long forms you have to fill were done by the reception personnel, not by us. We had the demi board (breakfast and dinner included) and the dinner was served at a restaurant (any 3 course dinner from a good selection) not buffet style. The breakfast buffet served at the 7th floor with a nice view of the port was great. The food was great. The separate toilet room from the nice bathroom with robes and slippers was a nice touch.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank olga s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sfax hotels
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Sfax
Golden Tulip Sfax
#3 of 8 in Sfax
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
2.4 mi away
Borj Dhiafa
Borj Dhiafa
#2 of 8 in Sfax
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pacha hotel
Pacha hotel
#2 of 4 in Sfax
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel naher el founoun
24.4 mi away
EL KAHENA: Residence et camping
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Oliviers Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Oliviers Palace

Property: Les Oliviers Palace
Address: 25 Avenue Hedi Chaker-3000, Sfax 8050, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sfax Governorate > Sfax
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Oliviers Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Les Oliviers Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Oliviers Palace Sfax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing