We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Pullman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pullman Hotel
Ranked #6 of 649 Hotels in Guiyang
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay here in July this year, excellent western food in the restaurant, was really a pleasant surprise after 5 weeks of Chinese food.
Big modern rooms with tub and a large TV.
Had a great view from my deluxe room.
+ English speaking staff!
5/5 would stay again next visit.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanGuiyang, Public Relations Manager at Pullman Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Pullman Guiyang!

We feel very good to hear that we have been to your expectations with all our services and facilities, especially with the wide varities of dishes available in our western restaurant and the quality of our room and the amenities provided.

Nice to hear that you have been able to communicate easily with our bilingual staffs.

We request you to share your experience at Pullman Guiyang with your friends and relatives.

It will be our pleasure to serve you again on your next stay.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    33
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
6
12
6
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

While Guiyang is a very lovely Chinese city, where the weather is great and mild even in the summer time, it is a big disappointment that there exists such a facility, which claims to be Pullman.

Firstly, the location - it is located next to a traffic junction, but to get a taxi there to go anywhere is pretty complicated and usually requires at least 30 minute waiting time. There are no stand-by taxis like many other Chinese 5-star hotels have.

Check-in. The agent named Alice seemed pretty clueless and with very limited English vocabulary. I had booked their Executive Superior room, which according to their official website seems to be just one level before Executive Suite and as Le Club Accorhotels Platinum member a logical one-category upgrade would be into a suite. But in this property logic does not work. They tried to convince me that there is also another category, called Luxury Executive room, which they would like to offer. Funnily, however, this category does not exist on their official websites. Their assistant front office manager, Penny, tried also to convince that this is the only thing they upgrade for Platinum (as well as Gold) members. Finally after arguments for half an hour, I got to the room I had originally booked (and was waiting for getting the details of General Manager to discuss the matter with him/her) - also on the floorplan of the floor it was easily seen that basically all rooms are of the same size.

During the check-in I also asked Alice the overview of benefits on the executive floor and when and what is offered in the executive lounge. She insisted that she can't tell that, but that there is information about that in my room. However while in the room I could not read about it anywhere.

During the check-in I also asked Alice to organise me the business card of General Manager of the hotel, which was promised to be delivered in 10 minutes.

Half an hour later, ca 15:30 I got a call from someone, who introduced himself as "welcomer" of the hotel. He tried also to convince me that the room is good also without any upgrade and they are still working on getting hold of the manager. I also asked also about the executive lounge benefits paper, which he promised to organise in 15 minutes....

Time went and went... and finally I gave in and went upstairs to the lounge at ca 18.15 to see what's going on and if they offer the evening drinks and snacks already (usually in Chinese hotels they are served in lounges for 2 hours around 17:30/18:00 to 19:30/20:00) to only discover that in that particular hotel they serve them only from 15:00 to 17:00 (i.e. at a time when most of the people would be out in the city).

I went down and really insisted the manager to talk with, do discover how things can be so unprofessional in this hotel. Then Penny said that manager has already left... And finally after insisting few more times I got also a paper stating the benefits of executive floor, so that I would at least not miss breakfast the next day (which they serve until 10:00).

Penny also offered to arrange some snacks later as alternative, but as my companion found that they are very unreliable in filling their promises, then we'd better have dinner in the city.

Penny also promised to ask PA of the manger to arrange a meeting for next morning, so I could have direct feedback. However, next morning of course, they had not done that. However, I got a call from someone who introduced himself as deputy manager and was also justifying how good they are that Pullman Guiyang is creating fake room categories and I should be happy with the non-exisiting "Luxury Executive room". I was also insisting getting hold of the real general manager, but that guy said that he provides his business card during my check-out..... and during check-out naturally there was not even a trace of any of that.

When waiting for the taxi in the lobby, however, I met Jonathan, the Director of Rooms, who said that General Manager is today busy as the owners of the hotel are visiting the hotel to check how they are performing....

Dear General Manager, if you happen to read this review - would be finally great to hear from you if you are anyhow informed how unreliable your staff is and how good they are in alienating Platinum members of your frequent stayer programme?

All others, better keep away from this place.

Management of Pullman brand - you should exclude this hotel from your portfolio as they do not deserve to carry this name.

PS. Regarding breakfast - it was pretty average in the main restaurant, mostly catering Chinese breakfast selections.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tango-Xpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanGuiyang, General Manager at Pullman Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Please allow me this opportunity to apologize for inconveniences that you experienced during your stay on 30th of July 2013. We obviously did not meet your expectations and I appreciate your comments and remarks on our hotel facilities and services.
Concerning the room category on our official website, if you check our website again, you will notice that deluxe room is the next level after superior room but not a suite. When you check the price, the difference is noticed too. You are entitled to Platinum Le Club benefits, thus your room was upgraded from Superior to Deluxe as this is a standard for all Pullman Hotels.
Regarding the Executive Floor benefits, my staff provided information to your lady companion who did the translation for you. There seems to have some miscommunication in this regard. However, thank you for pointing out the lack of English communication skills of our front desk staff which we are currently addressing.
Our Happy Hour time of 2 hours at the Executive Lounge is a Pullman standard but we provided additional extension of time to meet your requirements. In spite of this, you did not avail yourself to lounge facilities.
I regret not meeting you due to prior commitments. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you on your next visit in Guiyang as we are confident that we can provide you the level of service you expect from a Pullman Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guiyang, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Stayed there with my partner for the third time already. The hotel standard is increased every time. Attractive room, soft bed, clean everything, great breakfast and most important are the very nice foreign and Chinese service staff. Their Chinese staff's English is quite average tho. We used the business center to print document this time. Very helpful! There is a good dumpling restaurant in the shopping center right close to the hotel. We went there almost every day. Will stay in Pullman Guiyang next time for sure!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peach W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanGuiyang, Public Relations Manager at Pullman Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Guests,

We are extremely glad that you are choosing Pullman Guiyang again and again. Feels good to hear that you liked the room and breakfast and that you have seen lots of improvements in our services and facilities.

We request you to share your experiences at our hotel with your friends and families. Looking forward to welcome you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guiyang, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

Excellent choice for your stay in Guiyang.... The room is very comfortable with all the expected amenities.... Large bathroom with rainforest shower and tub. The area around the hotel is not too modern, but there is a local food court street adjacent to the hotel with all the local foods. The hotel has direct access to a great shopping mall with great shopping and restaurant choices. The hotel restaurant has an excellent breakfast with both Chinese and Western choices. The dinner buffet is quite good and room service is excellent also.

I have stayed at this hotel for a few trips and will definitely choose this hotel again when I am in Guiyang. The staff is very accommodating and can communicate in English. The food and beverage manager is a foreigner and the quality of the food is excellent...

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanGuiyang, Guest Relations Manager at Pullman Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Guest
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Pullman Guiyang and the facilities that we offer, namely our Food and Beverage. Our staff are very accommodating to all of our guests and we are glad to hear that you were able to communicate with them in English. We are also happy to hear that you enjoy our location in respect to the shopping mall and snack street. We hope that we will see you again in the future when you travel to Guiyang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2013

The location is good and the room is quite clean. There is a nice swimming pool but the opening hour is a little bit short. Perhaps not many people come to enjoy it. The service is very good. The equipments in the room is farely good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank yhutchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanGuiyang, Public Relations Manager at Pullman Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the location, rooms and service of our hotel. We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed our swimming pool and we will look into the posibility of changing the swimming pool operaton times
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzhou, China
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We are a Chinese and Foreigner couple. When we check out it was Penny who serviced us. When I talked to her, she totally ignored me. She didn't reply me and didn't even look at me. She just wanted to talk to my husband in English to show off her good English and brown nose to foreigners. I'm pretty sure she heard me, because I've asked a few questions. She showed no respect to me at all !!!That is very unprofessional for the receptionist as a five star hotel!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ambertina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanGuiyang, Public Relations Manager at Pullman Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel. We are sorry that you experienced this bad service within our hotel. We have discussed you complaint with our Front Office Department. At the time she was focussed on helping your husband understand our Credit Card Guarantee Policy, our other receptionist that was originally checking you out should have taken care of you, we did not mean to be rude or ignore you. We will use this as training for our staff if this should happen again in the future. We hope that the rest of your stay was enjoyable and that you will choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guiyang hotels
8.8 mi away
New World Guiyang Hotel
New World Guiyang Hotel
#1 of 649 in Guiyang
212 reviews
7.8 mi away
Renaissance Guiyang Hotel
Renaissance Guiyang Hotel
#3 of 649 in Guiyang
80 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Novotel Guiyang Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Guiyang Yunyan
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Guiyang Hotel
Sheraton Guiyang Hotel
#2 of 649 in Guiyang
497 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Guiyang
Hyatt Regency Guiyang
#5 of 649 in Guiyang
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Hotel

Property: Pullman Hotel
Address: No.100 Jiefang Road, Nanming District, Guiyang 550007, China
Region: China > Guizhou > Guiyang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 649 Hotels in Guiyang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Guiyang is located at A Mall, is a collection of hotels, business, meeting,leisure, high-end restaurants in the integration of urban platinum five-star hotels. Hotel rooms, have set up 410 guiyang between the largest scale and highest level banquet halls and multi-purpose function room. All day dining western restaurant, executive lounge,etc. included different type of restaurants feature from east to west international cusine can satisfy different consumption demand, large indoor swimming pool, and fitness center etc recreation supporting reveal five-star hotel quality, more traffic routes, peripheral convenient transportation,from the airport only15 minutes away. The hotel adornment noble and unique style, guest room comfortable modern neat, clean, neat all the be born glass panoramic scene, highlights the fashion, the atmosphere, comfortable, fully with the international brand connotation five-star pullman advocate business combination, let you enjoy high quality hospitality and theall-around humanistic care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Pullman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing