We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No where to eat!!!”
Review of Yong Jiang Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yong Jiang Hotel
Ranked #2 of 727 Hotels in Nanning
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

There is nothing nearby this hotel and getting a cab is near impossible, room was passable, stepped on a rate at breakfast literally crushed it, not sure why it did not run away, maybe it was used to people being about, staff came and took it away, needless to say I did not eat breakfast, the buffet was huge, while sitting at the table I saw a mouse scramble up a large flower pot and disappear inside the plants.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Purgateros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

I have stayed at this hotel 8 times in my last 11 yearly visits, the break being when it was refitted and I stayed elsewhere. There are cheaper hotels and more expensive hotels but this one has it all at a very reasonable price. I cannot recommend highly it enough.

It is centrally located with everything that has to offer; you can find everything you could want within easy walking distance and still have easy access to the main roads for trips further afield. It is close (within a few kilometers) to the train station and if asked will book a pick-up/drop-off from the airport.

All the numerous amenities are excellent with truly exceptional [Chinese] restaurant and [Western] food from the bar area. The internet is available free of charge and is both fast and reliable. The rooms are more than adequate even for the cheapest and the staff so good and polite with many speaking excellent English that they put my own holiday/university home town to shame.

Anywhere in UK or Europe this would be a 5 star [exceptionally expensive] hotel.

Like I said, I cannot recommend it highly enough so I’ll be back again in May 2014 for the 9th time!

Room Tip: I like the view when facing the river and/or across the Yong Jiang bridge at night when it has it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

it is a clean and comfortable hotel. nice view . it has a good chinese restaurant. the sausage pizza in its western restaurant is a good one. the prices for taxi and tours proposed by hotel is much more expencive than what you can find directly on the street.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManiaRonchail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Central location - very close to the train station if you need to get there, and walking distance to Zhong Shan Lu for local street food ... But of coz you'll find that there are more Taiwanese street food vendors there than Local street food. Not sure about why , probably nanning street food are limited ? Or the Taiwanese are moving their biz base to China ?

Yong Jiang hotel's front desk reception are extremely friendly and they go extra miles to ensure you are well served. when we found out that our air condition wasn't working at 11pm, they came over & check and told us that their A/C is centralized and emitting warm air is 'pretty standard'. they then suggested that they could send us a MOBILE A/C ..what a wonderful idea.

Beds in china are generally hard so don't expect feather goose texture mattress ..

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winnyeoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The hotel is ok, located by the river walk and, as many have mentioned, nearby food market and few local restaurants.
Reservations at the hotel were unusually difficult for us to make, it was a big turn-off. But other than that, Staff is polite and efficient, although generally they speak only some English. Our inquiries were quickly resolved once understood.
Rooms are clean and in the new side are nice. Although the views are not great on that side, as it is facing the back. They turned off hot water during our stay for a few hours which was not great.
Breakfast has western and Asian options, in a buffet setting.
It is hard to pinpoint what makes it only three marks. The decor is garish and somewhat dated. Food is unimpressive and somewhat sloppy. May be it deserves a higher review as all is ok but it is sloppy, not too classy, not your usual five star.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelista2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Am staying at this hotel tonight. The room is a good size and is very clean. Unlike many hotels in Mainland China, the room is well lit and the air conditioning in my room is working fine. There are two double beds (each approx 4' x 6.5') and the mattresses are not hard at all. Linen and towels are clean. Flat screen TV and many TV channels but all local chinese stations. Free broadband internet in the room and a good number of power outlets for charging my appliances.

What I am not entirely happy about is the water - it is not hot enough for my shower :-(

Would I stay here again? Yes I would - loved the clean and brightly lit room and the sufficient counter space in the bathroom. Plus, everything worked and the bed was comfy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BooFit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night in June 2013 on our journey from Hanoi to Guilin.

The hotel is about 2.4km from the train station. We would have liked to have been closer to the train station, but the train station is only a 10 minute, 10-15 RMB taxi ride away. One suggestion would be for the hotel to put an image of their business card on their website as their business card has a small maps and "Please take me to Yong Jiang Hotel" in Chinese for taxi drivers to read.

We followed the directions of google maps in order to get to this hotel, and ended up getting a bit lost on the way there. Please note that google maps has this hotel displayed on its map, but when you ask for directions it actually directs you to a hotel a couple of streets away.

The hotel was just around the corner from some night food markets. We had read about these markets in other reviews and decided to check it out. We were not disappointed. The food was cheap, fresh and delicious. That night was one of the highlights of our trip and a real Chinese experience.

The hotel room was spacious, comfortable and nicely fitted out. The bed is hard, but normal for Chinese standards. There was a slight smoky smell in the room, but again that is normal for China. There was no wi fi or safety deposit box in the room but these facilities were available in the lobby. It would have been nice to have at least one English speaking channel on the tv, but as we were only staying there for one night we didn't mind too much. We found in our time in southern China, English speaking channels were a rarity (if there was one station you were doing well).

The staff can speak English and they were friendly and helpful. The foyer area was quite impressive looking, with a large entrance area. Some areas of the hotel looked a bit dated.

There is a pool at the hotel. It overlooks a bit of a slummy looking area, but otherwise it was quite nice. There is a pool attendant there who was very friendly and communicated with us as best he could with his limited English and our limited Mandarin. There is compulsory use of swimming caps in the pool (these are provided free of charge).

We were pleasantly surprised by Nanning. We did not see any Westerners the entire time we were in Nanning, and we were happy to be off the well beaten tourist path. Nanning however was quite westerner friendly with street signs in English as well as Chinese and even an English speaking counter at the train station (ticket counter 11, the rightmost ticket counter at the train station). After travelling around Thailand, Cambodia and Vietnam, it was nice to not have touts pestering us for business.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonHSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanning hotels
4.2 mi away
Nanning Marriott Hotel
Nanning Marriott Hotel
#1 of 727 in Nanning
295 reviews
3.5 mi away
Wanda Vista Nanning
Wanda Vista Nanning
#3 of 727 in Nanning
20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Guangxi Wharton International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Nanning WinWin Hotel
Nanning WinWin Hotel
#5 of 727 in Nanning
29 reviews
3.3 mi away
Fairfield by Marriott Nanning Nanhu Park
0.0 mi away
Huangjin Holiday International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yong Jiang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yong Jiang Hotel

Address: No.1 Linjiang Road, Xinning District, Nanning 530012, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Nanning
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 727 Hotels in Nanning
Price Range: £41 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Yong Jiang Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yongjiang Hotel,a green hotel, is located in a peaceful belt of the central business district of Nanning commending a magnificent view of Yongjiang river. The hotel is adjacent to the railway station and the passenger dock and offers a swift links to the airport and inter-city bus station. The hotel is designed and built in European style, which makes it the spirit of "Yongjiang Spring", one of the Ten Sights of Nanning . It's gained it's reputation and certificates of the ISO9001 and ISO14001 for its award-winning services and quality environment . Ranked as one of the fifty best national star hotels,Yongjiang Hotel is among the list of designated hotels by the People's Government of Nanning for the CAEXPO . At all events,the hotel is an ideal place for all your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Yong Jiang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing