We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely worth staying in this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mingyuan Xindu Hotel
Ranked #243 of 700 Hotels in Nanning
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Definitely worth staying in this hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

This MingYuan XInDu hotel is actually quite big because there are several blocks from No.1 to No.5 and and two of the blocks serves as hotel, while the other blocks used as multipurpose hall (no.5) or restaurant or spa centre. I stayed at the No.1, I love the room and especially the toilet is very neat. I love the shower with their masonry paved floor. I went there during the week of moon-cake festival.. it is packed with people lining to buy mooncake from the hotel; pretty lively actually. Back in 2010, I stayed in the other block of the hotel, the room was not as pretty as the no.1 block. but everything else is fine :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chinsinvoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    51
    21
    7
    3
See reviews for
14
1
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

My daughters and I stayed here at the Mingyuan Xindu (a.k.a. in English, the Majestic) during a homeland trip to China. This was our fifth hotel during a two week trip.

I have to admit that this hotel carried a lot of memories. We had stayed here during my daughter's adoption trip, back in 2000, and I was looking forward to re-experiencing the hotel with the perspective of 13 years.

I wish I could say that I loved the experience. While it was overall positive, the hotel is showing its age. The televisions have been updated to flatscreens, but most everything else seemed to be the same, and showing the wear of the years. The decor, the carpets, the maddening bedside console all seemed to be the same as when we were there years ago. I thing perhaps it is overdue for a refurbishing.

The lobby is as opulent as ever, and the food at the restaurants was pretty good. On our original trip, we couldn't help but notice that the buffet included dog soup. I didn't not try the buffet this time around, but I can report that this particular delicacy did not appear on the room service menu. Different country, different culture.

As an adoptive parent, I did enjoy running into several other families who were there on their initial adoption trip. For whatever reason, we encountered more adoptive familes here than we did at any of the hotels in Beijing, Xian, Chengdu, or Wuhan.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoloPapa97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, Beijing, China
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

This definitely doesn't feel like an international five-star hotel - everything from the decor to the food feels very much like an average Chinese business hotel - but overall it was fine. Probably one of the better options in Nanning.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toluca
Level Contributor
152 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

The beds were a little hard, the rooms were a little old, but overall clean. Smelled of smoke but never saw anyone smoking inside.

Totally average in every way, nothing to complain about nor anything to praise.

The food was nothing special, nor was it gross.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paxmaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel and also 7 years ago on a previous trip. It has been updated since that time and I consider it a very nice hotel. The service was excellent, as was the food in the restaurant. The breakfast was a Chinese style and they offered a very limited western style breakfast, so we tried a little of both and enjoyed them. Our room was clean and comfortable, however the mattress was of the Chinese type and very hard. We requested a softer bed or mattress pad, but they were unavailable. The hotel is convenient to a downtown mall area, a large park behind th hotel, and a grocery store just across the street. The wi fi worked fine in our room. Since the weather was cold we did not stay outside very much or get to use the pool area. I believe this hotel now is catering more to the domestic traveler than the international traveler, however our stay was very pleasant and the staff was friendly and accommodating..

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David1975AA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare, Zimbabwe
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

My friend, seven-year-old daughter and I stayed in this hotel on a recent adoption trip against my better judgment. The hotel/travel agent knew that we were in Nanning to adopt a 3.5 year old boy and yet they gave my daughter and me a room with two small beds. When I asked for an extra bed or a room with a king size bed, I was told that I would have to pay more and move to a smoking floor (they have only one non-smoking floor in the entire hotel), neither of which I was prepared to do. Eventually, and after much negotiating on the part of my Chinese friend, they moved us to a room with a king size bed on the same non-smoking floor. Then they inexplicably brought in a crib. I had specifically confirmed beforehand that the hotel had free wireless internet in the rooms; however, when we arrived the internet connection was very spotty and then went out completely for several days, with no explanation, apology nor compensation from hotel management. For the most part, the hotel staff did not speak English well or at all. Taxis were generally difficult to find. Our room overlooked the swimming pool across the street that we couldn't swim in because we didn't bring bathing caps and the hotel did not sell them. Most unfortunately, my newly adopted son had a seizure outside the hotel and passed away shortly thereafter. The hotel doctor was not equipped to deal with emergencies and neither examined him nor wanted to sit near him in the taxi while we rushed him to the nearest hospital, which turned out to also not be equipped to handle such cases. The inadequate medical treatment probably contributed to his passing. All in all, an absolutely horrible experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dfavorito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nanning hotels

Otterlo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
114 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

Nice 4 star hotel, with free wi-fi at lobby. Rooms are neat, clean, well-kept and bed is pretty comfy; I have no complains. Toilet comes with a bathtub.

Can just cross the street to get to a big supermarket if you are hungry for snacks at night.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wallflower69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanning hotels
0.1 mi away
Mingyuan Hotel
Mingyuan Hotel
#78 of 700 in Nanning
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
2.1 mi away
Guangxi Wharton International Hotel
0.9 mi away
Nanning Travelling With Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Nanning Hotel
Nanning Hotel
#9 of 700 in Nanning
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.9 mi away
Yong Jiang Hotel
Yong Jiang Hotel
#2 of 700 in Nanning
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
3.7 mi away
Nanning Marriott Hotel
Nanning Marriott Hotel
#1 of 700 in Nanning
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mingyuan Xindu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mingyuan Xindu Hotel

Property: Mingyuan Xindu Hotel
Address: No.38 Xinmin Road, Xingning District, Nanning 530012, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Nanning
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 700 Hotels in Nanning
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mingyuan Xindu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 302
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mingyuan Xindu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing