We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent rooms but far away from airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Garden International Hotel
Ranked #168 of 632 Hotels in Taiyuan
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel has nice rooms, very good staff, the food in the restaurant is very expensive ( in terms of China) and not many options. The menu is very original because is a tablet and you yourself order your meal. I found this neat and was my first experience with this kind of menu. The breakfast was not excellent. They could have better coffe ( american type ) and for god sake: please diet coke in the restaurant!

Room Tip: If it is only a day in Taiyuan maybe consider stay near the airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 9 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

Location – was OK for our business trip, a few excellent restaurants nearby serving great food. Unfortunately the views are the main road or the steel mill, both of which are noisy
Hotel Condition – on the outside and inside the hotel looks in good condition.
Room – nice big room in good condition, with comfy carpets. Towels were lovely and new and all the basic free stuff e.g. shampoo, razor, toothbrush etc Aircon heated the room well. Bed was nice, firm but very comfortable. I had a poor night’s sleep due to the noise from the steel mill plus some electrical problems which meant the lights and aircon came on and off throughout the night.
Dining – breakfast was good, with a variety of Western and Chinese buffet. Coffee from a machine was good.
5 star it is not.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welshkiwi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Nice modern hotel and like most hotels in China, has a large reception area.
The staff spoke some English, more so than most other hotels I have stayed in in Shanxi, China. I presume it is because there were also a lot more Westerners.

Bedrooms:
Large, with a flat TV and some English channels. Coffee and tea making facilities, a safe, complimentary slippers, and a bar fridge. Like most hotels, heating works very well, sometimes too well. We had to open the window to cool the room down. In room safe.

Bathroom:
A little cramped but there is a separate shower stall with good flow of hot water, bathtub and hand basin. The usual supply of hair dryer, shampoo, shower gel, soap, toothbrush, toothpaste, comb, shower cap and razor.

WiFi
Complimentary. No reception in the rooms.

Breakfast:
Excellent spread of Chinese cuisine, some bread , pastry and cereals. Coffee and tea. Cooked egg section, makes a decent omelette.
Selection of fruits.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikelima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

You would only come to this hotel for a conference or to do business with companies located close by, which I did!

However, other than slow check in and slow check out I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were clean, service in the bar area was good and the Espresso in the tea lounge was superb. Obviously you cannot compare this hotel to the usually superb 5 start Asian hotels but it is not sold as one of them.

Well done!

Room Tip: There is no decent view unless you like looking at a stainless steel plant!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Good four star hotel. However the location is absolutely not convenient if you are travelling: the hotel is far away from the city! To go everywhere you need to take a taxi for almost 1 hour. Price paid was 100$ for a double room. The room was large and nice. Food was ok (i.e. you can find also some western style food).......

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BB_Switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

[FYI: I'm a 7~8 on a "pickiness" 10-scale]
Stayed 2-nights for business trip visit in Room 1613. VERY close to TISCO (world's largest stainless steel mill). In-short: a very nice & contemporary western-friendly hotel in this emerging & quirky city. The only negative I can really pick-on from my perspective was the breakfast buffet assortment was a bit limited for my western tastes. I certainly didn't starve, but other Asian hotels do a much better job. The breakfast area is a dark space that, but don't let these words scare you off. The rooms are very comfortable with everything you really need for a productive business trip. Would be a drag if I were sick (confined to room) without computer as only one English TV channel (CNN World) - but is very comfortable. Interesting - sometimes frustrating - & high-tech lighting control system (see photo). Room had every Chinese electrical outlet type I've encountered! A/C system blows over work-area - can get chilly... Bed/duvet combo very comfortable for me (as typical of nice Asian hotels). No night-light. Hair dryer hides way over in work area drawer. Same day laundry service worked perfect & reasonable prices. Professional staff did good job & spoke English okay. One night arrived from road-trip late & got dropped-off at hotel. I ate in restaurant; ordered hamburger (was dying for one after week of Chinese dinners!) asking for med-well to well-done. When cut in half to eat was seriously under cooked. Frustrated, tired, etc...regrettably sent back. Meat was "medium" when got back with new bun & dressings. Chef kindly showed face - waved, smiled, saying "sorry"... "No problem" I replied. When finishing burger he emerged again with big smile & wonderful plate of fruits - watermelon, cantaloupe, kiwi, apple. Nice touch. Bellmen attentive & happy. Enter different world when drive out onto street!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mechcr8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016
Thank 吉韻驊
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taiyuan hotels
0 mi away
Pullman Taiyuan
Pullman Taiyuan
#1 of 632 in Taiyuan
62 reviews
0 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Taiyuan
Kempinski Hotel Taiyuan
#2 of 632 in Taiyuan
80 reviews
0 mi away
Taiyuan Wanda Vista Hotel
Taiyuan Wanda Vista Hotel
#3 of 632 in Taiyuan
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Chateau Star River Taiyuan
Chateau Star River Taiyuan
#6 of 632 in Taiyuan
31 reviews
0 mi away
Shanxi Grand Hotel
Shanxi Grand Hotel
#29 of 632 in Taiyuan
110 reviews
0 mi away
Yitel Hotel Taiyuan Fudong Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden International Hotel

Address: No.83 Jiefang North Road, Xinhualing District, Taiyuan 030003, China
Region: China > Shanxi > Taiyuan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Taiyuan
Price Range: £34 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Garden International Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 349
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Garden International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden International Hotel Taiyuan, China - Shanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing