We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chateau Star River Taiyuan
Nearby Hotels
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Pullman
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
16
10
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
10
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom servicebalconycolumnsdecorationbedscarpetlobbyfloorchina
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed at the Chateau Star River hotel in Taiyuan for one night in October 2013, mainly because we had to catch an early morning flight from Taiyuan to Hong Kong, after spending several days touring the Pingyao area. Chateau Star River is a fairly new hotel and immaculately clean. Our room was huge, and there was even a small TV in the bathroom. Decoration for the room, however, was not very tasteful and can best be described as Vegas style. Except for the thermostat, everything else worked perfectly

We ate at the Chinese Restaurant in the hotel, whcih served Cantonese cuisine, and the food was surprisingly good.

The hotel is not located in the center of Taiyuan. Howver, it is a convenient place to stay overnight on the way to the Taiyuan airport. It is probably the most modern and the best hotel in Taiyuan.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lachris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

The whole hotel is more like a garden park, very beautiful and graceful, a lot of European construction and style, lobby is nice, rooms are all suits, big and comfortable, banquet room looks very fantastic, everything looks so nice here, the best hotel in Taiyuan.
But unfortunately, service is sucks. No greetings from the very beginning you entered this hotel, find a front dest girl to ask something they always not happy to tell you, go to a restaurant to have some meal, waitress do not understand any English, they also not sure which is available which is not. No body clean table take plates during meal.
I just wonder the whole Taiyuan market, service sounds like a very shamed job, people here are rude, unhappy and unhelpful in hospitality industry. They do not understand what is service and how to offer a guest needs service, just offer what they can give to you, and always say no when they not want to do something.

Stayed: September 2012
Thank Lydia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

The year-old Chateau Star River is part of a massive development that encompasses the hotel and an adjoining residential apartment complex which is still under construction. Restaurants and other public areas appear expansive and somewhat labyrinthine but the hotel's shopping arcade was not yet open during our stay.

No expense is being spared by the Guangzhou-based developer to create an up-market (probably foreign-achitectured) neo-Sino-Greco-Rococo edifice; fine workmanship is evident in the perfectly aligned joints in marble, mosaic, woodwork, concrete and oversized glass panels. The gounds are nicely landscaped with greenery and hawthorn trees which were fruiting when we were there. Staff are helpful, polite and well-trained.

Because both our rooms came only with one complimentary breakfast each, the Check-in staff suggested that two of us become CSR Elite members so that we would enjoy four complimentary buffet breakfasts next morning. The variety of food offered at the buffet comprises a good mix of East and West; we observed that most guests opted for the former.

The hotel's rack rates are relatively high thanks to the region's prosperous natural resources industry, particularly coal mining. That same prosperity apparently accounts for private apartment developments attracting hefty prices, from US$1,360-2,400/ft.

Our large double room includes a sunken sitting area, similar in layout to The Venetian in Macau except for the former's use of marble, concrete and plaster instead of drywall. A credenza along one wall in the sitting area has electricity sockets that accommodate multiple styles of plugs. An electric kettle is provided with a variety of complimentary teabags and coffee. Bottles of Watsons Pure Distilled Water are also gratis. Free WiFi is easily accessed in the room.

The en suite bathroom is fitted with a large bathtub, shower cubicle, water closet and single washbasin. Bedroom slippers, hairdryer, vanity mirror, a full range of amenities (shampoo, conditioner, body wash, combs, razors, dental kit, vanity kit, sewing kit) are of a quality to match any international hotel chain.

Overall, we found the hotel more than adequate for our overnight stay en route to Pingyao.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biketrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

After diverting into Taiyuan on our way to Beijing due to fog. We were put into this lovely hotel. Great looking hotel marble everywhere you look. Rooms huge and has all you need including a tv in the bathroom for watching whilst you relax in your bath. Food in th E Bar was a buffet breakfast and had western and traditional Chinese cuisine . Shame it was such a short break but would come again without fail. Free Internet with good speed in my room. The pool looked nice but too cold at this time of year to try it. All in all a great hotel staff very helpful. A big thumbs up in my book.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Good geographical position,hotel perfectly located in the interchange between ring-express route Binhe East Road and Airport Avenue .hotel has European feel and amenities.A chance to slow down in this city that seems to be always on the go.Great rooms ,hotel room is very big its around 60sqm.Excellent buffet style breakfast.One more good thing is the food offered in hotel is best ! The staff is wonderful.One girl named Ricy ,always help most guests .

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loe_babylei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews