We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Taiyuan Wanda Vista Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Venice Hotel(Taiyuan)
View Hotel
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haiyan Hotel(Taiyuan)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
View Hotel
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
41
13
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
13
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswould stay againbreakfast buffetfirst morningbasement levelstar hotelwandagymparbranddesktoiletsupermarketpillowsfloorstonechinaword
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

I was impressed by the facilities, tasteful decor and the accommodating service. The ground floor cafe food was well presented, tasty and very reasonably priced. We even had the chef entertaining us with his amazing noodle making skills. The hotel has all the facilities needed by a business traveler.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank pavjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

What a fantastic hotel! Brand new, gleaming marble and fine artwork in the reception area, spotlessly clean, all mod cons, a bathroom with wet room and choice of shower heads(!), a huge hotel restaurant with extensive choice of food for breakfast, and great views of the city from most rooms. The hotel is also very conveniently located next to a large mall, if that's something that floats your boat. If you're looking for somewhere luxurious but not at western 5 star prices then I'd recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The hotel is impeccable. The service is outstanding. The food was superb.
There are top-notch restaurants in the hotel with gourmet meals at very low prices.
Next to the hotel, there is a plaza. In the evening, locals gather here for socializing, dance, exercise, and play.
There is a park down the road (short walk) where locals exercise and play…they have exercise equipment right in the park!
I really loved this hotel. Also, I found customer service in China to be outstanding in general. It is obviously cultural, but people in the service industry, at least in my limited experience, seemed happy to help at all times. This hotel was no exception.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank molly273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We traveled for an adoption in Taiyuan and we picked this hotel. Lobby is huge and ornate. Location is walking distance to a big park behind the hotel, street vendors set up every afternnon along the way, easy walk to dining and shopping. But be careful crossing the roads (traffic is crazy in Taiyuan). Rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast buffet was outstanding. Should I have an opportunity to return to Taiyuan, would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnucfsae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I have stayed in many hotels in China that were locally branded and classified as 5-star properties. Like most things in China, those ratings are inflated. In all cases, a Chinese 5-star is at best a 3.5 or 4-star on a global level. Except this hotel. This is the first Chinese brand hotel that really delivered on the 5-star promise.

The service was outstanding. Everybody spoke English and it was easy to communicate, a huge change vs. other local hotels. The people were friendly and helpful. The check-in staff was efficient as was the check-out. The breakfast was very good and I really had nothing I could point to as an issue.

The hotels decor was ostentatious like is normal for many Chinese hotels that try to appear grand. While the rooms were perfect, the lobby was completely over the top. Tables and chairs were oversized with back rests that were taller than most humans. The amount of marble was overpowering and the huge chandelier hanging from the center of the lobby was simply tacky. The thousands of prices of glass took up almost the entire ceiling. The floor and walls were covered in marble and stone and the ceiling in lights. As a result, there was nothing the eye could really focus on. There was too much sameness, one of the cardinal mistakes of interior design. It felt neither warm nor inviting. However, I am looking at this with a Western point of view but I know that Chinese customers appreciate this sense of grandeur. Well done, Wanda Vista. This formula works for China and I will definitely come back. But, if I had the choice between a Wanda Vista and an Intercontinental, I would still choose the Intercontinental.

The only thing that felt odd was the cheap metal grating in the shower. It looked like it came from a gym shower.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DHWShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews