We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#1 in my Book!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Taiyuan
Ranked #2 of 623 Hotels in Taiyuan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Its right next to everything!! Even a European grocery store, as if you'd need to get anything. This hotel basically covers all your bases from wining and dining to a comfy place to rest your head! I know where I'm staying whenever I visit the city. Excellence. Pure excellence!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brit T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin C, E-commerce Executive at Kempinski Hotel Taiyuan, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest, thanks for staying with us and sharing your experience. Kempinski Hotel Taiyuan is located in the city's south commercial and business hub. We believe Kempinski Hotel Taiyuan will be the best choice for you to stay here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
There are newer reviews for Kempinski Hotel Taiyuan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 43 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

The Kempinski is very new and high tech. It feels as if they are still getting settling in, but any issues were very minor. The room is large and very well appointed, and the breakfast was of the standard one expects at 5 star hotels

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R0bSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albee G, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Taiyuan, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2015

Dear Guest, thanks for staying with us. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We're very sorry that the airport taxi could bring you so much annoyance. We also advise that you take the real taxi during your trip to anywhere. Welcome to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I like the room set up - cozy & simple, staff in resturant very polit & friendly. The bath room is most beautiful and robe is comfortable. The hotel has a beautiful swimming pool, made me completed relax after a long day stress.

Room Tip: The hotel is not far away from airport, hotel sourrodings by shopping malls, local foods & Prada...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiantQQ1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I am in room 2708 executive suite, from last 24 hrs there is no air conditioning, the bell boy, mechanic, engineer, manager all came and saw the room, finally send me bucket of ice and fruit bowl. It is 79 degrees F( 26 deg C) in my room and no body understands English.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muhammad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

stayed in this brand new hotel for one day and really stisfacted myself.locate in the centre of
city of taiyuan,the big shopping mall nearby,the room was awesome!!!!thoughful service and
nice stuff,make me feel like home.the charming point was the buffet in 2floor.The lobster ,which was not easy found in this kind of inland city,was so yummy,
and can not forget the taste of great desert even by far!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginobobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed at this fantastic hotel for 7 nights at the end of October. The hotel facilities are superb; you will not want for anything. Bedrooms are very comfortable, with free access to the variety of juices, soft drinks and beers in the mini bar. The quality of the food in the hotel is also excellent. There is a fantastic array for breakfast catering for all tastes, with a superb fresh fruit selection. In the evening, you can choose to eat at one of two restaurants, either the buffet, offering a great variety of food, or the Bavarian restaurant and bar, which had a great menu and fantastic home brewed beers!

The staff in the hotel, without exception, were some of the highest calibre we have ever experienced. With an understated manner, they were always on hand to offer help and advice and they clearly cared and wanted to offer any help they could. The management staff were always visible and would seek our views on how they could make our stay even more special. Indeed, to help plan our site seeing, one of the management team even bought a very comprehensive local guide book for us.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The best example I can give is that I needed a pair of boots repairing and wasn’t sure how to go about arranging this as there was nowhere obvious. I spoke with the concierge who took the boots and the next morning, even though it was his day off, he personally delivered them back to the hotel for us.

This hotel is truly superb and their entire staff are an absolute credit and I would highly recommend this as your number one choice in Taiyuan.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed at the Kempinski Taiyuan for two nights in October 2013. You can tell the hotel is brand new and very high tech. We were greeted warmly by the desk staff and in our room quickly. The room itself was very large, with plenty of space to stretch out and a comfortable sofa and bed. The huge tv had all the local as well as a number of international channels. Wifi was free and fast. The bathroom was great. Rain shower and a separate tub. All the amenities were provided as well.

Here are the things keeping me from giving it a 5 star review: the room was very hot. Even with the air conditioning turned all the way up it stayed in the 26c range all the time. I later found out that the hotel doesn't turn on the air conditioning in the winter...even though it was uncomfortable in the room. The hotel suggested that we open the window and let the cold air from outside in, which is a terrible suggestion because of the smog and dust from outside. The pool was also not open because it wasn't completed yet.

Overall a very nice choice for a hotel in taiyuan. Definitely very spacious and luxurious.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewc310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin C, E-Commerce Executive at Kempinski Hotel Taiyuan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your pleasant experience regarding your recent stay with us.
We are thrilled to hear that you are satisfied with our service. Your compliments has been shared among our colleges and it is a great encouragement for us to continue providing the guests with European luxury experience.
However, it is with great regret that some of our facilities failed to meet up to your expectations. We apologize for any frustrations you encountered with the air conditioning. The next time you are in the city, I hope you will return to our hotel so we can deliver the flawless service and facilities you expect and deserve.
We are truly looking forward to welcoming you back soon at Kempinski Hotel Taiyuan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taiyuan hotels
5.6 mi away
Pullman Taiyuan
Pullman Taiyuan
#1 of 623 in Taiyuan
59 reviews
4.7 mi away
Taiyuan Wanda Vista Hotel
Taiyuan Wanda Vista Hotel
#3 of 623 in Taiyuan
58 reviews
4.0 mi away
Chateau Star River Taiyuan
Chateau Star River Taiyuan
#6 of 623 in Taiyuan
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
World Trade Hotel
World Trade Hotel
#5 of 623 in Taiyuan
272 reviews
11.4 mi away
Shanxi Jinci Hotel
Shanxi Jinci Hotel
#34 of 623 in Taiyuan
191 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lihua Grand Hotel
Lihua Grand Hotel
#4 of 623 in Taiyuan
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Taiyuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Taiyuan

Address: No. 115-1 Changfeng Street, Taiyuan 030006, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanxi > Taiyuan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Taiyuan
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taiyuan
#3 Best Value Hotel in Taiyuan
Price Range: £116 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kempinski Hotel Taiyuan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kempinski Hotel Taiyuan is located in the heart of the "Dragon City". It is a contemporary luxury hotel that is ideal for both business and leisure travellers and blends European flair with Chinese traditions. The hotel is close to many shopping centres, such as Tianmei Plaza, Fashion Walk, Wangfujing, Parkson and Lufthansa Centre, as well as upscale office buildings. Shanxi International Exhibition Centre is only 3km away and Taiyuan Wusu International Airport can be reached in 25 minutes by car. As a landmark building and the first luxury five-star hotel in Taiyuan, Kempinski Hotel Taiyuan will be the premier choice for large enterprises and government offices for accommodation, business, meetings and exhibitions. There are over 300 rooms with modern facilities in Kempinski Hotel Taiyuan. You can enjoy a wide range of dishes in Elements, our all-day dining Restaurant; Longyuan Chinese Restaurant; Paulaner Brauhaus, G&W, the Lobby Lounge and Kempinski The Deli. For your relaxation and comfort, we also offer an indoor swimming pool, health club and spa. Kempinski Hotel Taiyuan offers a wide range of multi-function meeting and event rooms in order to meet the different needs of its guests. All meeting and event venues are equipped with state-of-the-art audio/visual equipment and feature either natural daylight or modern lighting systems. Meanwhile, assistance from the 24-hour Business Centre will ensure all events are properly taken care of at all times. Luxury experiences and Kempinski culture will be continued in Taiyuan. We are devoted to fulfill your expectations by offering a truly relaxed ambience with personalized service tailored to your business or leisure needs. Start a new journey at Taiyuan and discover the history and heritage of the ancient city of Taiyuan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Taiyuan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Taiyuan China - Shanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing