We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but not as traveler friendly as expected”
Review of World Trade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
World Trade Hotel
Ranked #6 of 632 Hotels in Taiyuan
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel room was very nice but the carpet was not vacuumed before I checked in. The cleaning staff took a very long time to clean the rooms.

Breakfast buffet had excellent selection. The staff as extremely slow to get coffee and/or refills.

Hotel restaurants were overpriced. Would recommend getting the Shanxi noodles from room service were very tasty and very reasonably priced. The ordering was difficult if you did not speak Mandarin.

Not much near the hotel.

The elevator attendants were the highlight. They always greeted you with a large smile. Wanted to try their English with me and were very kind to my son.

If you want to use the pool, be sure to bring a swim cap. Required and cost $15 if you want to buy.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 13 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

This hotel is well set up for the business traveler and is the first time I found a room with its own WiFi router assuring excellent internet service 24/7. Most of the staff spoke excellent English including those on the service staff.

The room had no hint of smoke and everything in the room has in order except for the shower which leaked at the base. A repair man re-caulked but failed then to retest to see if the job was effective, it wasn’t.

Breakfast was good and offered the typical wide variety of food of both Chinese and western pallets. The hotel has two towers with a shopping area in-between. The spa only consisted of foot massages which also include back and shoulder massage. I for one like the foot massage part, but the rest of a massage on the shoulders, means to get squeezed and pounded, not stretched and pressured firmly.

We had a very nice stay at this hotel and is on a par with most western hotels. Especially appreciated was the amount of English spoken and the Wi Fi router in the room. As its name suggests the hotel is set up for foreigners.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thor13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We arrived into Taiyuan late and stayed here en-route to Pingyao. It served its purpose as somewhere to sleep and eat. It may have been 5 stars when it was built but isn't anymore. Parts of the building have fallen away and haven't been repaired. A non-smoking room means no smoking in the room (presumably ignored by many), but you can smoke outside in the hallway. Our room was spacious, and had a decent view of Taiyuan. Service was very good, and almost all staff we encountered spoke English.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveWarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

just stay here for a business trip.just wonder why this city started road repairing at the same time.back to the subject,the sevice was nice and no need to go too far to find local restrant ,shopping mall and so on.The room was not so big but got everything you want,except WIFI...I think the impression will be better if the road was all ready.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginobobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed here recently, very well positioned but a very average place. Bed was good but pillows let it down. Non smoking room is as many other hotels in China, means dont smoke in it but doesnt mean the last guest didnt, or that the rooms around you are also non smoking. Breakfast menu also very bare.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Hello,

stayed at this hotel for one month now (oktober 2012).

The fitness area was closed due to renovation during this time.
The pool water has been completely replaced during that time, but unfortunately typical chinese behaviors are more or less shocking to not chinese people (spitting into the drain around the pool --> where whil the spit go? Correct).
Some fungus in the showers in that area, massage inside the house as expensive as the breitling-stores on the ground level.

Breakfast was okay, unfortunately only one kind of sausage was available every morning.


For lunch better go outside the hotel, inside the hotel very expensive and e.g. the steaks of poor quality.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robinkrumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I recently stayed at this 42 story hotel in the center of the city. It is in a good location and relatively easy to get to from the local airport. The spacious and attractive lobby is on the fifth floor. Staff are stationed at various points to ensure that you get to where you need to go as quickly and efficiently as possible. Check in was a little slow because of a language barrier but the staff seemed eager to accommodate. Even though a non-smoking room was requested, and I discovered only a few floors are designated as such, I was moved to another room on an upper floor. The room was bright and well-furnished. The bed and pillows weren't as comfortable as I would have preferred but were certainly adequate. I am sure that the flat pillows would have been changed if requested. Unfortunately, the room was rather warm. Adjustments to the thermostat had little impact. Opening the window provided some cooler air along with the street noise, chants from the adjacent school yard and the ever-present city smog. Fresh fruit was a nice touch and I appreciated the free wifi. Overall, my stay was pleasant enough.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Neponset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taiyuan hotels
0.0 mi away
Pullman Taiyuan
Pullman Taiyuan
#1 of 632 in Taiyuan
62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Taiyuan Wanda Vista Hotel
Taiyuan Wanda Vista Hotel
#3 of 632 in Taiyuan
58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chateau Star River Taiyuan
Chateau Star River Taiyuan
#5 of 632 in Taiyuan
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Taiyuan
Kempinski Hotel Taiyuan
#2 of 632 in Taiyuan
80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lihua Grand Hotel
Lihua Grand Hotel
#4 of 632 in Taiyuan
157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shanxi Grand Hotel
Shanxi Grand Hotel
#29 of 632 in Taiyuan
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to World Trade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about World Trade Hotel

Address: No.69 Fuxi Street, Taiyuan 030002, China
Region: China > Shanxi > Taiyuan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Taiyuan
#6 Luxury Hotel in Taiyuan
Price Range: £53 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — World Trade Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your World Trade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
World Trade Taiyuan
World Trade Hotel Taiyuan, China - Shanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing