We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth considering”

Sanjin International Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sanjin International Hotel
Ranked #74 of 623 Hotels in Taiyuan
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Recently (23/07/2012) stayed at this Hotel for 11 days, although the reception staff speak little or no English the checkin was hassle free and the room rate was as agreed when shown the email from the online booking agent, considerably less than the room rate advertised.

My suite was comfortable and everything worked, the bath/shower could do with an upgrade however plenty of hot water and a shower head that was clean and powerful, towels were changed every day and the room cleaned every day too. The free fruit each day was a nice touch as was turning down the bed each evening and a note of the following days weather forecast.

The vast range of food for Breakfast meant there was never a shortage of new things to try! I appeared to be the only Westerner staying at the Hotel so maybe "International" is a bit mis-leading however for my first visit to China i found it Central to the area i was visiting and certainly no shortage of local places to eat within just yards of the Hotel.

I would have no hesitation in suggesting you give this Hotel a try, it certainly wasn't busy during my stay and the added bonus of being able to pay by Mastercard or Visa would encourage me to stay here again.

Room Tip: Room was on the 9th floor overlooking the rear of the Hotel so no traffic noise from the busy road r...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteBunyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
There are newer reviews for Sanjin International Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2012

I am somewhat hesitant to give this place only two stars, because I suspect that in Taiyuan, it's about par for the course. Although it's a city of millions of folks (what town in China isn't?), and clearly has pretentions to greater things, Taiyuan is a pretty provincial town. For example, I saw ZERO high-end restaurants on the main strip. The train station was the most run-down of any I visited. Et cetera.

Thus, Sanjin falls into that category of Chinese hotels where the rooms used to ALL be smoking rooms, and they smell like it (whether they are or not any more). My suite was large (two rooms), and everything in the bathroom was functional-- albeit the shower drain was literally on the other side of the room from the shower, meaning that taking a shower resulted in a soapy swamp afterwards.

There was no WiFi in my room, but the handy dandy LAN port worked fine.

I did not try the restaurant, so I can't comment there.

Service was as good as it could be considering that the staff at this "international" hotel spoke no English. None. They could barely say "deposit". So, unless you speak Mandarin, better download the Google Translate app for your phone and hope for 3G coverage.

The one thing I will say in its favor is that there were tons of taxis thronged outside its entry.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TherouxWannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2009

Sanjin International Hotel is a ten-minute walk from the train station, located on the street that runs perpendicular from the station's main entrance. In good weather, it's an easy walk.

The staff is quite service oriented, although only a very few of them speak English. The young man that checked me in spoke no English at all, and his Chinese was so heavily accented I could only understand about half of what he said. The other staff members all seemed to speak standard putonghua (the national dialect.)

My room was spacious and nicely decorated. But it was also 30 C (86 F) and the thermostat seemed to have no real ability to alter the climate in this tropical oasis in wintery Shanxi. An empowered housekeeper found in the hallway helped me select another room among all those on the floor that were vacant. SHE moved my suitcase to the new room, and within five minutes, a bellman was in my room, (unrequested by me,) with new key cards and revised registration forms. Now that's what I call customer service!

The new room was quiet and comfortable throughout my stay. Hard-wired Internet access was excellent and free. The mini-bar had been decomissioned, but the refrigerator was still working and there was bottled water and tea. (I bought orange juice at the convenience store across the street and kept it nicely chilled in my room. If you need a quick and inexpensive cup of coffee, there is a 24 Hour McDonalds in the building.)

Needless to say, the housekeeper won me over from the very first minute, but the housekeeping service was also first rate throughout the stay, including the evening turn-down service which not only replenished towels, but also a fresh fruit basket.

The hotel's restaurant serves an extensive breakfast buffet which not only includes standard Chinese and Western fare, but also local favorites and delicacies. Be adventurous and try the delicious cat's ears noodles (named as such ONLY for their shape) or the corn/rice/pumpkin soup, which is guaranteed to fortify you against whatever the Shanxi winter will hit you with. The huge range of offerings can be almost bewildering, but it also guarantees you will not grow tired of breakfast here!

The bathrooms in the hotel, although very clean, were surprisingly primitive. The water temperature in the shower fluctuated wildly. The grout around the tub looked as if it had been installed by an 8 year old. Nitpicking? Probably. But if they improved the bathrooms, they'd have a first rate product.

Even if you don't speak Chinese, I'd give this hotel a try. The staff is excellent, and for the most part, make an extraordinary effort to do an outstanding job.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HiIslandsGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 22 October 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 18 September 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 9 December 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 6 October 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taiyuan hotels
Shanxi Grand Hotel
#25 of 623 in Taiyuan
110 reviews
Yingze Avenue
Bingzhou
Bingzhou
#26 of 623 in Taiyuan
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pullman Taiyuan
#1 of 623 in Taiyuan
59 reviews
Kempinski Hotel Taiyuan
#2 of 623 in Taiyuan
75 reviews
Taiyuan Wanda Vista Hotel
#3 of 623 in Taiyuan
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanjin International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanjin International Hotel

Address: No.108 Yingze Avenue,Yingze District, Taiyuan 030001, China
Region: China > Shanxi > Taiyuan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Taiyuan
#31 Best Value Hotel in Taiyuan
Price Range: £27 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanjin International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sanjin International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanjin International Hotel Taiyuan, China - Shanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing