We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good”

Sanjin International Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sanjin International Hotel
Ranked #53 of 614 Hotels in Taiyuan
Linfen, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

I was at this hotel for about two days and it was a very pleasent stay. The hotel is a 10 to 15 min walk from the train station. All you have to do when coming out is just walk strait and you will see the hotel on the left side of the road. If you don't feel like walking to it just take any of the buses (I took 611 because that was the most common one and it stops right in front). The hotel staff don't speak very good English but they do know some words and check in and out was very easy and quick. Though I booked online with a good price, when I arrived they lowered the price about a hundred RMB because they were having a sale (at least thats what I understood from the Chinese explaination). That was a pleasent surprise and I loved it. All the staff are very nice and if you can understand talking with hands and a little chinese you can get all your problems solved very fast.

The breakfest was very good. There was a lot of options even some western choices. So if your a picky eater you should have no issue eatting here. I am not sure what lunch and dinner is like at the hotel because I often ate out but if it is anything like breakfest it sure to be just as good. If you don't feel like eating in the hotel then there is a McDonalds, KFC, and Pizza hut right along the building.

The room I stayed in was a single room and it was kinda small but it worked for my stay there. It had a very clean bathroom and room (though the bathroom needs to be updated it looks a little old). The temperature of the room was good and if I got to hot I could turn the temperature down. What I liked though was the free fruit basket every day and the turn down service. It was nice to come back from exploring the city and have the room set up already for me. All in all I though this hotel was very nice and the convience of the bus stop outside for exploration and the service this hotel provided was a winner for me. I will be staying here again if I ever go back to the city.

Room Tip: If you don't want to feel like the walls are coming in go for a bigger room. The single is a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viola232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    71
    17
    4
    1
See reviews for
1
2
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

Recently (23/07/2012) stayed at this Hotel for 11 days, although the reception staff speak little or no English the checkin was hassle free and the room rate was as agreed when shown the email from the online booking agent, considerably less than the room rate advertised.

My suite was comfortable and everything worked, the bath/shower could do with an upgrade however plenty of hot water and a shower head that was clean and powerful, towels were changed every day and the room cleaned every day too. The free fruit each day was a nice touch as was turning down the bed each evening and a note of the following days weather forecast.

The vast range of food for Breakfast meant there was never a shortage of new things to try! I appeared to be the only Westerner staying at the Hotel so maybe "International" is a bit mis-leading however for my first visit to China i found it Central to the area i was visiting and certainly no shortage of local places to eat within just yards of the Hotel.

I would have no hesitation in suggesting you give this Hotel a try, it certainly wasn't busy during my stay and the added bonus of being able to pay by Mastercard or Visa would encourage me to stay here again.

Room Tip: Room was on the 9th floor overlooking the rear of the Hotel so no traffic noise from the busy road r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteBunyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

I am somewhat hesitant to give this place only two stars, because I suspect that in Taiyuan, it's about par for the course. Although it's a city of millions of folks (what town in China isn't?), and clearly has pretentions to greater things, Taiyuan is a pretty provincial town. For example, I saw ZERO high-end restaurants on the main strip. The train station was the most run-down of any I visited. Et cetera.

Thus, Sanjin falls into that category of Chinese hotels where the rooms used to ALL be smoking rooms, and they smell like it (whether they are or not any more). My suite was large (two rooms), and everything in the bathroom was functional-- albeit the shower drain was literally on the other side of the room from the shower, meaning that taking a shower resulted in a soapy swamp afterwards.

There was no WiFi in my room, but the handy dandy LAN port worked fine.

I did not try the restaurant, so I can't comment there.

Service was as good as it could be considering that the staff at this "international" hotel spoke no English. None. They could barely say "deposit". So, unless you speak Mandarin, better download the Google Translate app for your phone and hope for 3G coverage.

The one thing I will say in its favor is that there were tons of taxis thronged outside its entry.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TherouxWannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
132 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2009

Sanjin International Hotel is a ten-minute walk from the train station, located on the street that runs perpendicular from the station's main entrance. In good weather, it's an easy walk.

The staff is quite service oriented, although only a very few of them speak English. The young man that checked me in spoke no English at all, and his Chinese was so heavily accented I could only understand about half of what he said. The other staff members all seemed to speak standard putonghua (the national dialect.)

My room was spacious and nicely decorated. But it was also 30 C (86 F) and the thermostat seemed to have no real ability to alter the climate in this tropical oasis in wintery Shanxi. An empowered housekeeper found in the hallway helped me select another room among all those on the floor that were vacant. SHE moved my suitcase to the new room, and within five minutes, a bellman was in my room, (unrequested by me,) with new key cards and revised registration forms. Now that's what I call customer service!

The new room was quiet and comfortable throughout my stay. Hard-wired Internet access was excellent and free. The mini-bar had been decomissioned, but the refrigerator was still working and there was bottled water and tea. (I bought orange juice at the convenience store across the street and kept it nicely chilled in my room. If you need a quick and inexpensive cup of coffee, there is a 24 Hour McDonalds in the building.)

Needless to say, the housekeeper won me over from the very first minute, but the housekeeping service was also first rate throughout the stay, including the evening turn-down service which not only replenished towels, but also a fresh fruit basket.

The hotel's restaurant serves an extensive breakfast buffet which not only includes standard Chinese and Western fare, but also local favorites and delicacies. Be adventurous and try the delicious cat's ears noodles (named as such ONLY for their shape) or the corn/rice/pumpkin soup, which is guaranteed to fortify you against whatever the Shanxi winter will hit you with. The huge range of offerings can be almost bewildering, but it also guarantees you will not grow tired of breakfast here!

The bathrooms in the hotel, although very clean, were surprisingly primitive. The water temperature in the shower fluctuated wildly. The grout around the tub looked as if it had been installed by an 8 year old. Nitpicking? Probably. But if they improved the bathrooms, they'd have a first rate product.

Even if you don't speak Chinese, I'd give this hotel a try. The staff is excellent, and for the most part, make an extraordinary effort to do an outstanding job.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HiIslandsGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taiyuan hotels
2.7 mi away
Pullman Taiyuan
Pullman Taiyuan
#1 of 614 in Taiyuan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
3.0 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Taiyuan
Kempinski Hotel Taiyuan
#2 of 614 in Taiyuan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
1.8 mi away
Taiyuan Wanda Vista Hotel
Taiyuan Wanda Vista Hotel
#3 of 614 in Taiyuan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Shanxi Zhongcheng Hotel
Shanxi Zhongcheng Hotel
#3 of 117 in Taiyuan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jinjiang Inn (Taiyuan Liuxiang)
2.4 mi away
Jinjiang Inn Taiyuan Longtan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanjin International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanjin International Hotel

Property: Sanjin International Hotel
Address: No.108 Yingze Avenue,Yingze District, Taiyuan 030001, China
Region: China > Shanxi > Taiyuan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Taiyuan
#21 Best Value Hotel in Taiyuan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanjin International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Ctrip TA so you can book your Sanjin International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanjin International Hotel Taiyuan, China - Shanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing