We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Hotel near Gondola”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Hilltop

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Hilltop
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Gulmarg
Certificate of Excellence
Rajkot
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel near Gondola”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We chose this hotel mainly due to the fact that it is very near to Gondola and we must say that we made a good choice.

the main benefit of staying in this hotel is the location. it is just 2 minutes walking distance from Gondola. we stayed in April 2014 and were lucky to find good snow all around. the hotel property is quite good. Rooms are big, though not quite contemporary furnished, but still good enough. all the necessary amenities were provided.

Hotel Staff was not bad. You dont find them as warm welcoming as in Rajasthan or other parts of India, but they were not rude or anyway bad. we were not offered any welcome drink.

The food at the restaurant was good. we had a dinner and a break-fast as per our plan and were not disappointed. though it can not be said to be on a very good side, but comparing to the other peer hotels of this category it is still good.

Overall, the main reason to stay in this hotel must be the location.

Room Tip: we stayed in Room 114, which had a very good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gpbarai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    145
    57
    24
    29
See reviews for
197
77
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Average Hotel..All Services are good ,,rooms plug in switches does not work, food is very good with a lot of varieties, Room service very good, staff at Hotel very courteous, Need more Heaters for the rooms

Room Tip: Good Hotel Rooms- facing East gives a lovely View
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shankjs1am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
132 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We visited Kashmir last week with Veenaworld Tours. We stayed in Gulmarg for a night in Hotel Hilltop.It is walking, distance from the main attraction Gondola.
The hotel was entirely surrounded by snow,a magnificient sight.Our room facing the snow was dream.The room was very comfortable with adequate heating arrangement. The hotel had posted friendly staff on each floor to assist the guests,which we thought was a great idea.
We visited Gondola before lunch and had an extended walk in the snow in the evening.Meals served by the hotel after these icy experiences were delightfully welcome.
Considering extremely difficult conditions which the hotel faces,their overall services were very commendable indeed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VIAN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed in the hotel for two nights at the end of march '14. The location of the hotel is very good..only 2 min walk for gondola station. Food is excellent. Centrally heated rooms..nice comfortable temperature..electric bed and heat blower also available..it was snowing outside..fantastic view of snow land and mountain..hotel staffs are very helpful..room service is very nice..fulmars is the paradise on the earth..staying at hotel hilltop is an enjoyable experience..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happysoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MUMBAI
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We were a group of 11. We checked in late evening and the rooms were so comfy and warm that one could stroll on normal track pants & a T shirt. The best surprise was without a request we were given a childs meal dal khichdi which is cooked only and specially for children. The hotel has a good view. Since we were on the 3rd floor the heaters and hot water had timings. The 2nd, 1st & gorund floors have water heaters too. The Gondola is a 5 minute walk from the the hotel. When we came back my kid needed a nappy change and they obliged us by giving us a room to change him. The room though on a ground floor was surrounded by snow & ice. Was the warmest. They had storage water heater and boiling hot water, what else do we need to clean baby poo.

Room Tip: 3rd floor best view. Ground to 2nd Storage water heater.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHTARAPORE_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulmarg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

I stayed in hotel hilltop for two nights i feel i am at home , the best quality of the hotel is it is two minutes away from gandola , the rooms are very good with a great view of whole gulmarg and mountains,, room service staff was very co-oprative and halpful .i had my dinner at restauurent ...great quality of food restaurent services are also good ....the main thing in the hotel there is 24hrs running hot water overall very good hotel to stay......

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arshadah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed for one night, three families in this hotel. Though spring time, the hotel and surrounding was covered with thick snow and we had a gala time. The service though attentive needs improvement in responsiveness. Also, the food quality is average. The rooms are nice and comfortable. Location is the key. It is five minutes walk to the Gondola!

Room Tip: Take rooms facing the main road, great in winters for snow and fresh snowfall. Take on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikram_Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gulmarg hotels
1.0 mi away
The Vintage Gulmarg
The Vintage Gulmarg
#1 of 16 in Gulmarg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
1.0 mi away
Welcome Hotel Gulmarg
Welcome Hotel Gulmarg
#7 of 16 in Gulmarg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heevan Retreat Gulmarg
Heevan Retreat Gulmarg
#3 of 16 in Gulmarg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pine Spring
Hotel Pine Spring
#11 of 16 in Gulmarg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Khaleel Palace
Khaleel Palace
#12 of 16 in Gulmarg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hilltop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hilltop

Property: Hotel Hilltop
Address: Opp Ice Skating Rink, Gulmarg 193403, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Baramulla District > Gulmarg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Gulmarg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hilltop 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Hilltop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hilltop Gulmarg, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing