We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gulmarg-Heaven on Earth”
Review of Hotel Hilltop

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Hilltop
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Gulmarg
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

I stayed in Gulmarg in July. One of the best places in India. Hotel hilltop is close to cable car. It is a bit mismanaged but ok to stay. Food is overpriced and the hotel claims to be centrally heated. However, i felt cold.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Avijitsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pghassan, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

dear guest
we are very thankful to you for your stay with us and for your valuable review in which you have liked our hoteland in your valuable comments you have written that the hotel is abit mismanaged,food is overpricedand the hotel claims to be centrally heated,but you felt cold.in response to the above,i have sent a personal request to you in which i have requested you to let me know the exact area where you have found the hotel a bit mismanaged so that we can rectify the mismanagement for future.As far as the overpricing of the food menu is concerned,I want to bring to your kind knowledge that in comparison to other hotels/Restaurants of the same category our prices are very reasonable and infact the guests who stay in other hotels are frequently coming to our Restaurant and fast food only because of the reasonable price and quqlity food.The hotel is centrally located and fully centrally heated but the systems works during winter time as today is summer time and there is no need of centrally heating .We provide electric heaters to our esteemed gue3sts when they feel cold and ask for it.
I once again thank you for identifying our shortcomings with the hope to find us better next time,when you will visit us again.
with warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Hilltop
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014

the hotel hilltop is located near cable car and surrounded by pine trees. Our room was on 2nd floor (215)one side it was magnificent View of mountains and other side it is so beautiful valley of Gulmarg.
The food was very tasty and the staff was so helpful and attentive.
Thanks (
HILLTOP)

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pradeep k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Hi this is Romana.
The hotel hilltop gulmarg is a very well known hotel.i m very happy from this hotel.the room was very clean 'food was excellent becoz we got very taste food here & the restaurent exp. was outstanding. Overall the staff was very caring & attentive. Check-in was very smooth.the boy at front desk (Mr Hilal) was soft spoken and very helpfull.
At the time of depature they helped us by packing food for us.i want to visit this hotel again n again.
Thanks HILLTOP GULMARG.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank romana00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The location of this hotel is a big plus incase you intend skiing in winters. It is close to the gondola ticket booth and the 1st level ski slopes are visible from the hotel. There is ski gear rental shop in the building itself. The food is nothing to write home about. Infact we had the same spread for breakfast on all three days. Something Mr Lateef promised to take care of.

Room Tip: Do not choose the rooms near the kitchen. very noisy.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank aparna521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is my second visit to this hotel.The front office manager Mr Lateef had made my stay last year very comfortable which is why I decided to come to this hotel again .Mr Lateef and his entire hotel team is very courteous and very helpful.He even helped me to get Gondola tickets which is a very tedious task in peak season.The food is excellent and the prices are very reasonable .The dinner for 5 with 3 main course dishes costed us around 960 Rs.We arrived late at night close to 11 pm and all of us were very hungry and Inspite of kitchen closing time being 10:30 the entire staff stretched itself for 1 more hr and fed us well without showing any signs of annoyance and irritation .I highly recommend this hotel whoever is planning to come to Gulmarg.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sumitginni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Well we were 4 and bill was around 1.7k
But we enjoyed the food alot
We were expecting that we would get the gondola ticket but we didnt so our mood was off
We came in this hotel and met 2 punajbi people and we all shared oir stories and made our day more epic
We ordered butter chicken
Mutton gosh something
Dham allu
And some other things
And desert was phirni I think
Epic taste
Epic food
Epic service
Overall rating epic
But a little bit expensive

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Indermohan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Excellent room with very good interiors.View from the hotel gives stunning landscape view,green meadows.Being stayed under scheme,no much variety food.But they take care and given good food.Room service was very good.Best hotel to stay as it is very near to Gondola entrance.Do not go for Goda Ride here as they took more. money.Not advisable to have horse ride .Be careful about brokers.

Rooms above the Entrance will give spectacular view.Better go in the morning for Gondola.

Room Tip: Room above Entrance is very good to have a valley view
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sriramseshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gulmarg hotels
1.0 mi away
Welcome Hotel Gulmarg
Welcome Hotel Gulmarg
#8 of 17 in Gulmarg
297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pineview Hotel
Pineview Hotel
#14 of 17 in Gulmarg
23 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Vintage Gulmarg
The Vintage Gulmarg
#1 of 17 in Gulmarg
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Heevan Retreat Gulmarg
Heevan Retreat Gulmarg
#3 of 17 in Gulmarg
654 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pine Spring
Hotel Pine Spring
#12 of 17 in Gulmarg
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Khaleel Palace
Khaleel Palace
#13 of 17 in Gulmarg
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hilltop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hilltop

Address: Opp Ice Skating Rink, Gulmarg 193403, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Baramulla District > Gulmarg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Gulmarg
Price Range: £28 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hilltop 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Hilltop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hilltop Gulmarg, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing