We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay and great hospitality!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Badnor House - The Heritage Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Badnor House - The Heritage Homestay
Ranked #1 of 96 Ajmer B&B and Inns
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great stay and great hospitality!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed here 2 nights in February and we had a wonderful time in Ajmer. Sanjay is one of the best hosts you can get in India. He knows how to run a homestay. He is there when you need him and he helped us with everything, like transport, trip suggestions, food, background stories. On top of this he arranged a visit to the famous Mayo college in Ajmer, what was very special. The rooms were very clean, nice decorated and have all facilities (Satelite TV, AC, anti-musquitto, good matrasses) better than many (expensive) hotel I have stayed in Rajasthan before. Breakfast is also good, we ordered fried eggs, toast, beans, fruit, juice. All prepared perfect and fresh! When next guests come and visit India we definitely recommend Badnor House.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willem P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    17
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
30
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

We went to Ajmer on 21st Jan and returned to New Delhi on 22nd. It was really a short trip. Badnor house is a really nice property. It has three identical rooms and all the rooms are pretty spacious. Sanjay is very hospitable man. We checked in @2 PM. He helped us planning the Ajmer sight seeing and provided some really good suggestions and tips. We went to the dargah and pushkar and came back late night. We missed the cozy evening experience at Badnor house. May be a 2 day program would have helped us exploring the city and the homestay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nilmov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

I cannot stop myself from praising this lovely little hotel... Rather than a hotel it's a homestay. However, that doesn't in any way take away the kudos it deserve.. One can feel the warmth as soon as you enter the property and start interacting with the people there. The warmth will remain till your departure from this place. I stayed along with my family only for one night but we were highly satisfied with everything on offer, be it the rooms or the services. I would not hesitate a bit before recommending this place to anybody.. Highly satisfying!!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harshadsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

In December 2010, I stayed at Badnor House for five days. I later commented in TripAdvisor that the home-stay run by Sonny and JoJo was "exceptional".
My wife and I have just returned from a further trip to India, and we stayed for a week at Badnor House.
We were delighted that the truly exceptional standards have been maintained. In fact, Sonny and JoJo have made further improvements to ensure their guests have a relaxed and comfortable stay. The bedrooms are meticulously maintained, and nothing has escaped Sonny's attention to detail. It is also important to note that Sonny is also a font of information on what to see in Ajmer and how to get around the city.
JoJo has a special interest in fine chiffon saris. Any guest would be well rewarded to ask her to display her wares which are available at a price that (in my experience of regularly travelling to India for over twenty years), is significantly less than what you would have to pay in the textile or handicraft shops.
Recently, four of our friends, (three Australians and one American), have independently stayed at Badnor House. They have reported a similar experience to what I have outlined in this review.

Well done, Sonny & JoJo !

Room Tip: There are only three rooms available. They are all of identical excellent standard and permit comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThakurSahibMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

While traveling, I told my fellow tourists and the locals that my next destination is Ajmer, everyone was like “Huh?” “Why Ajmer?”

Well, because, I really wanted to stay in a place like Badnor House, a beautiful house in a quiet residential area, yet walking distance to the lake, the park, the market, the mosques and the bus stand to Pushkar.

And what makes it even so much more is that the owner, Sanjay, is extremely welcoming and helpful.

I enjoyed my day trip to Pushkar but I am so glad I stayed at Badnor House.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

The three rooms here are nicely furnished. While no meals are offered, drinks, toast etc are available and the veranda outside the rooms, facing a nice garden area, is a pleasant place to enjoy them. Breakfast, served in a separate small breakfast room, was good.

The accommodation is part of the small enclosed Badnore family estate. The family are friendly and helpful. They arranged cars for our local travel and for our visits to the attractive nearby towns of Pushkar and Kishangarh, and to the spectacular (and beautifully floodlit) Nareli Jain Temple. They also arranged a visit to Mayo College, probably India’s most prestigious school, which is on the outskirts of Ajmer.

The laundry service is very good and, even by Indian standards, very reasonably priced.

Badnore House merits a few days stop, both because it is a delightful place at which to stay and because there are quite a few places worth visiting in and near Ajmer.

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MSDSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pegnitz, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

Stayed here for two nights. The place is difficult to find for rickshaw and taxi drivers since nobody knows it. Driving up from the road of the bus station, just tell the drivers to take you to RTDC Hotel Kadhim and Badnor House is just to the left of the latter. Rickshaw charge from the train station should be no more than 80 Rs, taxi around 100 Rs.

Rooms were OK, nothing special of note. Everything was clean and tidy. We found the beds to be a little hard, but this is a personal issue. Breakfast was basic continental in a nicely decorated room.

The hosts are very nice, willing to help with advice on sightseeing and dinner options.

A good place to go for lunch is the Mango Masala. All the rickshaw drivers know it, fare from the homestay should be around 30 Rs. The restaurant seems a local favourite with truly fresh dishes (try the Punjabi thali). A good place for dinner is the Ambassador Hotel (the Restaurant Ambrosia).

Ajmer has an issue with mosquitos, so you should be aware of this. The rooms have good protection (nets) on the doors and windows and in-room aerosol does its bit.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank psch034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ajmer hotels
0.5 mi away
The Royal Melange Beacon Hotel
0.0 mi away
Bijay Niwas Palace
Bijay Niwas Palace
#13 of 47 in Ajmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel LN Courtyard by Xenious
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mansingh Palace Ajmer
8.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Ajmer
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#15 of 47 in Ajmer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badnor House - The Heritage Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badnor House - The Heritage Homestay

Property: Badnor House - The Heritage Homestay
Address: Civil Lines Opposite Savitri College | adjacent to RTDC Hotel Khadim, Ajmer 305006, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Ajmer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Ajmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Badnor House - The Heritage Homestay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Badnor House - The Heritage Homestay is conveniently located close to the bus stand at Ajmer and is set in a lush garden and has a peaceful and homely atmosphere. The 3 rooms and 1 suite are tastefully decorated with authentic period furniture ,are air conditioned and equipped with tea and coffee makers. Taxi pick ups can be arranged at Rly Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Badnor House - The Heritage Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing