We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather spooky but a special place”
Review of Bijay Niwas Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bijay Niwas Palace
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Ajmer
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Rather spooky but a special place”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We spent a night here on the road to Jaipur from Jodhpur. A warm welcome and an upgrade to the Maharaja's suite. We later discovered that we were the only guests hence the upgrade. A lovely suite if a bit dated and a vast amount of room just for us. The tour of the countryside and village was a real highlight which we will never forget.
The restaurant is where it got a bit spooky. Over attentive staff for both dinner and breakfast. Food was adequate but not great. The serving bowls, with plenty left in them, were whisked away as soon as we sere served. It was just odd to be the only guests! They are trying very hard to get this right and they are very nearly there. Give it a go.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExeterHilary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketMyHotel, Public Relations Manager at Bijay Niwas Palace, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us. We are glad to have guest like you and we just loved your review and get to know that our team had made your stay comfortable. We are also very happy that you liked our overall services. This provide our team a positive strength to provide more better. We are looking most positive to welcome you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    31
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
28
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We spent a night here on the way from Delhi to Udaipur and thoroughly enjoyed it. We were given our choice of room on arrival - quirky and fun at the top of the steep stairs - and then taken on a wonderful ox cart ride and a walking tour of the nearby village where we were introduced to famers and locals. After the long drive from Delhi it was magical to trundle back on the cart through the dusk with stars coming out and the song of the night insects all around us as we crossed the fields.

There had been a leak in our bathroom while we were out so the staff had moved all of our belonging to another room. Dinner was served under a tree by the pool and was really delicious. The following morning we were taken on a lovely walk through the fields and returned for breakfast. On checking out we were told that, as we had suffered 'an unnatural attack by water' the evening before, our dinner and drinks were on the house - a very generous if unnecessary gesture.

These old palaces (perhaps a rather grand name for this country house) are a delightful insight into the lives of the old Indian families. As long as you don't expect 5-star luxury, but go with a spirit of adventure and exploration, you will love this one.

Our stay was delightful and we will return when we can.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FJPfromUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketMyHotel, Public Relations Manager at Bijay Niwas Palace, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Very thanks for your valuable feedback and love to see your ratings and reviews and sharing your stay experience. We are happy to know the services and amenities we provided were up to the mark and hope also that you had a nice and comfortable stay. We are looking forward to welcome you soon during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We booked this hotel as an overnight stop on our journey between Udaipur and Agra.

The hotel is set in it's own grounds surrounded by it's own farmland, and we took advantage of the free loan of bicycles to meander round the countryside to explore the local wildlife.
There is an excellent pool to relax around and generally it offers a real haven from the hurly burly of Indian city life.

We opted for, and were very happy with, one of the refurbished garden bungalows as against a rather large but darkly imposing room within the main building.

The fixed menu dinner was the nearest that we came to Indian home cooking and was delicious. Overall we could happily have stayed longer, but Agra was calling.

If you are looking for night life or restaurants in nearby towns, this is probably not the place for you, but if you want some real R & R, then it's perfect.

Room Tip: We found the individual bungalow a real delight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketMyHotel, Public Relations Manager at Bijay Niwas Palace, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Brian,

Thanks for staying with us and for the ratings. Positive feedback from our precious guests is always a strong motivation to all of us to continuously provide a high level of services to our guests. It's been a joy serving you. We would love to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Our group had three different styles of room - all had their charms. Mine was out in the garden and was a haven - lovely bathroom and so forth. The staff are great and keen to show guests around. We met many people working and living across the district - fabulous experience. The food is absolutely wonderful. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketMyHotel, Public Relations Manager at Bijay Niwas Palace, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the really valuable feedback. It is indeed a pleasure to hear words of praise for the stay, facilities, staff, food and service and they are delighted to hear your words of praise & suggestions. We would love to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Four of us spent a night at this lovely lodge / manse / retreat. It has an air that cannot be manufactured . It is gracious and relaxing and relaxed. We halted here in the middle of our journey thru Rajasthan between Udaipur and Pushkar. It was a perfect place to rest and draw on energy for the hustle-bustle of Pushkar whch was a comfortable driving distance the next day .

The service was exceptional. The staff hosted us - not served- which we as guests enjoyed thoroughly.

The rooms we were assigned were airy spacious and private . There was a small dressing room like the ones you had in old Hill stations suites . The walls and ceiling were painted with geometric designs which we found calming to gaze on as we fell asleep. Actually enjoyed these rooms and place more than the Shiv Niwas Palace where we had stayed the previous nights.

Overall a place to use as an R&R whether you are there for a night or a week ! I would return happily with books to lie about the pool and go for walks with binoculars in the surrounding countryside.

If this is heritage Rajasthan lead on ! I will follow the heritage trail !!

Room Tip: We loved the rooms we were assigned - the ones behind the Dining Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suja_wrongsami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketMyHotel, Public Relations Manager at Bijay Niwas Palace, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us. We thank you for such a detailed feedback about your excellent experience with us for everyone to see. To sum it up feedback like this really puts a smile on the face of our colleagues and also motivates them to do it more energetically. We hope we will have an opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Bijay Niwas is near Ajmer if 70 kilometres can be considered proximate. But it is a rambling, quirky lodge that has seen better days. The grounds are well maintained, as was the pool (though it was impossible to dive in just before Christmas given the low temperatures). The shabby-chic atmosphere (peeling paint, unpolished brass electric switches) was perfect, and the children in our group enjoyed playing on the antique piano. The rooms were spacious but drafty - better heating would have been appreciated.
The menu was somewhat limited. Breakfasts were spartan and hurriedly prepared with no choice of fruit or cereal and faintly toasted white bread. The coffee (from sachets) was undrinkable. The staff did their best with lunch and dinner but, here again, the menu was limited to a few Indian dishes. Nonetheless, the quality of cooking was excellent, and the willingness to serve much in evidence.
Mr. Abel, the property manager, was extremely helpful. A very pleasant person who strived to make the most of a tough job. I was disappointed at not meeting the proprietor, Mr. Dushyant Singh, who I believe is an old boy from my school. Given the location of Bijay Niwas, he can certainly do a lot more to make this a must-see boutique property in Rajasthan.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent - we didn't try those at the fringes of the property (they seem more mod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArjunThapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketMyHotel, Public Relations Manager at Bijay Niwas Palace, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Arjun,

Thanks for staying with us. Thanks for your valuable feedback and we are happy to see your ratings and review. Hope you had a nice and comfortable stay here. We are looking most positive to welcome you very soon during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We had one night here on the route from Jaipur to Jodphur. This hotel was the epitome of calm after the bustle of the city. Excellent hospitality. The room was rather quirky with more light switches than Blackpool, old furniture, but a good bathroom and very comfortable bed. The food was good.
The grounds were good and although we sat by the pool didn't go in.
We had an of cart trip to the local village, and meeting local farmers and sharing their experiences was great. Their vegetable plots put ours to shame.
Don't change a thing.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketMyHotel, Public Relations Manager at Bijay Niwas Palace, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Tony,

Thanks for staying with us and for the ratings. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your overall stay here. It's been a joy serving you. We would love to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ajmer hotels
44.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Ajmer
38.3 mi away
The Royal Melange Beacon Hotel
42.3 mi away
Hotel Chitvan
Hotel Chitvan
#3 of 50 in Ajmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.1 mi away
Xenious LN Courtyard Hotel
37.6 mi away
Grand Xenia
Grand Xenia
#10 of 50 in Ajmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
39.7 mi away
Mansingh Palace Ajmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bijay Niwas Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bijay Niwas Palace

Property: Bijay Niwas Palace
Address: | Model Farm, Ajmer 305624, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Ajmer District > Ajmer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Ajmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bijay Niwas Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WelcomHeritage Bijay Niwas has been built almost about 100 years ago by Rao Bijay Singh the 16th descendant of the erstwhile Masuda Istimrardari as a getaway retreat. It was about the same time that he founded the town of Bijaynagar which is also named after him. This heritage palace is set over 50 acres of orchard and is a majestic heritage retreat along with being an apt stopover for visiting the great Indian bustard reserve at Sokhlia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bijay Niwas Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing