We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
liya
East Kalimantan, Indonesia

family

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 May 2023via mobile
the room was adequately clean. the room is so small with that price it's not really worth it. the interior needs upgrade. breakfast was awesome with abundant of choices. i love the view from my room it's amazing and i can watch live bsb pantai live music from my room. the air conditioner is not too cold. nice location, connected to Pentacity mall.
Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Astara Hotel Balikpapan, Revenue Management at Astara Hotel Balikpapan, responded to this review
Responded 1 Aug 2023
Dear esteemed guest, Mrs. Auliyakirana,

Warm greetings from Astara Hotel Balikpapan.

Thank you for choosing Astara Hotel Balikpapan as your preferred accommodation during your stay in Balikpapan and for sharing your positive experience. We have heard that you enjoyed your stay and were satisfied with our strategic location and the various complimentary facilities available for your use.

We always strive to provide the best service and are ready to assist with any guest needs.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to Astara Hotel Balikpapan, offering an even better accommodation experience in the future.

Best regards,

Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£28
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.4 miles from Astara Hotel Balikpapan
Free Wifi
Free parking
£34
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • StayForLong
1.1 miles from Astara Hotel Balikpapan
Free Wifi
Free parking
£68
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £68
0.2 miles from Astara Hotel Balikpapan
Free Wifi
Free parking
Restaurant
£40
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.4 miles from Astara Hotel Balikpapan
Free Wifi
Free parking
£64
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £64
4.3 miles from Astara Hotel Balikpapan
Free Wifi
Free parking
£32
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • StayForLong
1.5 miles from Astara Hotel Balikpapan
Free Wifi
Free parking
£28
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
1.4 miles from Astara Hotel Balikpapan
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £44
  • StayForLong
1.5 miles from Astara Hotel Balikpapan
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £51
  • Priceline
0.6 miles from Astara Hotel Balikpapan
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £46
  • Priceline
2.7 miles from Astara Hotel Balikpapan
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Balikpapan
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
16
28
13
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
16
28
13
8
9
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2023 via mobile

It's nice to stay here because everything is here, you don't need to go out anywhere around the hotel, there are 2 large malls and BSB beach just walked, there are many choices of places to eat, the complete package can lie down and take a leisurely walk to the mall. the rooms are quite spacious, breakfast is yummy okay varied, strategic location and very good service. Recommended to stay here

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Yulianatandililing
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Astara Hotel Balikpapan, Revenue Management at Astara Hotel Balikpapan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2023

Dear esteemed guest, Mrs. Yulianatandililing,

Warm greetings from Astara Hotel Balikpapan.

Thank you for choosing Astara Hotel Balikpapan as your preferred accommodation during your stay in Balikpapan and for sharing your positive experience. We have heard that you enjoyed your stay and were satisfied with our strategic location and the various complimentary facilities available for your use.

We always strive to provide the best service and are ready to assist with any guest needs.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to Astara Hotel Balikpapan, offering an even better accommodation experience in the future.

Best regards,


Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2023

I checked in on 11 PM. There was no receptionist at the ground floor at my tower. The security told me that the 24 hour receptionist is on the 7th floor at the other tower. I must walked through water boom area that only partially covered by roof and that time the rain was falling. It could be better if I enter the hotel through the other tower.
At the receptionist I must wait around 10 minutes because they were handling another guests. When it was my turn they found my room have been registered by my company but they were not sure whether someone have been checked in to my room or not. Then they must check directly to my room and I had to wait for another 10 minutes. After got my key I must walk through the water boom area again and it was still raining.
Finally I could enter my room, but I found the blanket have some stains and the mat in the bath room was really dirty. I just opened the blanket and put away the mat. The room was small. The shower area in the bath room was also very narrow.
When I wanted to check out on 7 AM I called the receptionist where should I check out and they said I must check out at the same receptionist with last night because the receptionist on my tower was not open yet. So I must walk again through the water boom area and it was still raining.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Samuelpas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Astara Hotel Balikpapan, Revenue Management at Astara Hotel Balikpapan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2023

Dear esteemed guest, Mr. Samuelpas

Warm greetings from Astara Hotel Balikpapan.

We sincerely appreciate the feedback you provided regarding your recent stay at Astara Hotel Balikpapan. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced, and we assure you that we will promptly take necessary actions and communicate with the relevant departments.

It is always our utmost priority to provide the best facilities and ensure that all our guests have a comfortable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Astara Hotel Balikpapan and providing an even better experience during your future stays.

Best regards,


Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2022

We have Booked the hotel few days ago with their reservation, somehow Upon Check in our reservation were not listed, so we have to wait a while to get a room, once we enter the room we get a room with construction view and workers in front of the balcony, the room was not well prepared, we booked two rooms and one of the rooms don't have a curtain and another room wastafel sink hole were broken... also we booked for 1 Double Bed + 1 Twin Bed, but somehow they gave us only Double bed

So we need to change room, but when changing the room they did not send a bellboy to help us with our luggage... so we manage to drag it all on our own.... Also the staff who escorted us dont even give a brief explanation about the room and facility, they just handover the key and whalla gone right away... Now the breakfast was just not good, most of the meal were tasteless and very2 mediocre... Just not worth it for the Price of room that we Pay... Many other better options for similar or even cheaper room rates

Staff at the front office were also not so friendly, might need more training on handling customer, when we say we have book a room with Mr. A on reservation department, and they replied Have You Paid? (With an accusations tone as if the room were not booked because we havent paid for it) meanwhile the reservation staff said we can pay upon arrival at the front desk.

The Positive side was that the rooms and hotel area are very clean and well maintain, they have big swimming pool with slide available, and the location is very strategic located inside the Balikpapan Super Block where there are plenty of shops / mall / restaurant / sports facility/ Movie Theater and others

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank christophersC8472OD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Astara Hotel Balikpapan, Revenue Management at Astara Hotel Balikpapan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2023

Dear esteemed guest, Mr. ChristophersC84720D,

Warm greetings from Astara Hotel Balikpapan.

We sincerely appreciate the feedback you provided regarding your recent stay at Astara Hotel Balikpapan. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced, and we assure you that we will promptly take necessary actions and communicate with the relevant departments.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our services and the hospitality of our staff. It is always our utmost priority to provide the best facilities and ensure that all our guests have a comfortable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Astara Hotel Balikpapan and providing an even better experience during your future stays.

Best regards,


Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2021 via mobile

After 3rd times visit, now it become the Worst 4 star hotel in Balikpapan. Dirty bed cover when entering room, also the toilet. When complain to the reception and housekeeping, the're not responsive. It takes too long. There is duty manager phone, but no one response. It very dissapointed after the 3rd visit to this hotel. No more stay with this hotel next time visit Balikpapan.

Room tip: It would be better choose another 4 star hotel in Balikpapan
Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Freedom42501224535
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Astara Hotel Balikpapan, Revenue Management at Astara Hotel Balikpapan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2023

Dear esteemed guest Mr./Mrs. Freedom42501224535,

Warm greetings from Astara Hotel Balikpapan.

We sincerely appreciate the feedback you provided regarding your recent stay at Astara Hotel Balikpapan. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced, and we assure you that we will promptly take necessary actions and communicate with the relevant departments.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our services and the hospitality of our staff. It is always our utmost priority to provide the best facilities and ensure that all our guests have a comfortable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Astara Hotel Balikpapan and providing an even better experience during your future stays.

Best regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2019 via mobile

I class this as a mudguard on a car .... shinny on top but muddy underneath...... 5 nights here is more than enough..... royal suite .. not !!!! .... very average even by Indonesian standards.... room service very slow ... house keeping even slower...,. Running repairs to everything while I was there .... food yer that was a plus ... but when you have to teach the girl that does your eggs how to make pouched eggs ... there's a problem!!!!! ... cheap enough but ! Location pretty central.... plaza not far away ... taxi service ok but paying for parking every time you get a taxi to the front door ..
mmmmmm !!! .....staff friendly enough to help ...., pool .. to much clohorine ... I wonder why ... maybe it was to hide the smell ...

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Ontourincorparated
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Front Office Departement FO, Layanan Tamu/Resepsionis at Astara Hotel Balikpapan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2021

Dear Ontourincorparated

Thank you for your feedback sir, we do apoligise for the inconvenience that you had experience, it is our job to improve all the service & facilities in our hotel. We hope that we can provide you with a better treatment on your next visit.

Regards

Astara Hotel Balikpapan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews