We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff, excellent breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Balikpapan
Haarlem, Holland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, excellent breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. Staff is nice and adequate. Rooms need some maintenance, pool is used for party's, so we did not swim. But location is very good, we used an angkot to go to the mall etc. Breakfast has everything we wanted, even a real cappuccino.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank marja58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aston B, Manajer Umum at Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Marja58,

Thank you for choosing Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence for your memorable experience. We are looking forward to welcome you back here and please let us know by sending email to info@astonbalikpapan.com for your future visit. It is our pleasures to ensure all our customers are having a pleasant experiences during their visit in here.

With Kind Regards,


Tomy Yovan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    235
    132
    29
    18
See reviews for
138
34
30
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Decided to stay in this hotel because tripadvisor rated this hotel no 1 in Balikpapan. The check in was fast. The room is huge, apartment-like, with 2 bedrooms. This is a typical hotel in many Indonesian cities whereby they try to build luxury hotels but fail to maintain well. The property is supposed to be nice with a beach front but maintenance is poor. You could feel the ambience that some additional effort is required to make the rooms cleaner.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davida_Davida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aston B, Manajer Umum at Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Davida_Davida,

This most candid commentary from you is very much appreciated. While we do enjoy a good reputation that is synonymous with service, it resides on a reputation that is built on guest experience. Your experience the past days was not what we strive to deliver and for this I want to express my deepest apology and regret that corrective action is still underway.

We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to make the necessary changes in the service we provide. I would like to further learn details about your experience during your stay and invite you to contact us at: info@astonbalikpapan.com

With Kind Regards,

Tomy Yovan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

I ordered the airport pick up service and was picked up by a friendly staff member at the airport. However I had to wait 30minutes before the vehicle arrived which was very annoying for such an overpriced service. In the hotel itself the staff was very slow and not very friendly. The room was spacey but very dirty in some cornerns (but this is very common for this part of Asia). The worst thing was when we ordered a drink at the pool in the evening. It took 30 minutes for one of the drinks after reminding the waiter 4 times, when it arrived the ice cubes were melted and the drink itself tasted very bad. Further 15 minutes later the other drink arrived, again ice was melted and it tasted horrible. The price of the hotel and drinks is an outrage compared to what you get for it. But at least they try...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aston B, Manajer Umum at Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Marina C,

Thank you for your valuable feedback of your recent stay at Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence.

We were really disappointed to note your concerns for areas where we did not meet your expectations especially the product and service at Pool, please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience caused. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to make the necessary changes in the service we provide.

We do hope that we still have the opportunity to serve you again here at Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence at the near future.


With Kind Regards,


Tomy Yovan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Balikpapan hotels

Balikpapan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel.. But not excellent.. The location is very nice and excellent po! I really love the pool and the lobby area.. My room was on 12 floor so I had an amazing view. But my bedcover was smelly and an extra bathroom near the small kitchen was dirty.. The food was nice but not varied enough.. Service was good.. But my AC remote is broken and I called the receptionist to replace it and the said yes but they didn't replace it until I checked out. The AC in my room didnt work properly as well. But Overall this hotel is nice but I think it need a change in the wallpaper and the curtains cause it didnt work properly..

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank shafirayputri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aston B, Manajer Umum at Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear ShafiraYPutri,

Hello from Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence...

First of all we would like to appreciate you for choosing us as your second home to stay. Please also accept our sincere apology for some points that not met your expectation and we also very sorry and immediately we sort it out. Please do not hesitate to contact me at info@astonbalikpapan.com for your next visit and we will look forward to welcome you back here soon, thank you for your feedback and share your experience in Trip Advisor.

With Kind Regards,


Tomy Yovan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Unfortunately I have no positive comments for this hotel. I simply fail to understand how this hotel could be rated #1 in Tripadvisor for Balikpapan. Are standards in Balikpapan really that low?

Service is really not up to par, and quality of the hotel extremely poor. I stayed at the serviced apartment, executive room #1911. It was extremely disappointing for the following reasons:

Facility is falling apart, and housekeeping is either lazy, or really not properly trained.

- On my first day of stay, the lightbulb of the dining room lamp was dead and had to be replaced. Two days later, it was the lightbulb of the living room lamp that was dead.

- Two bathrooms, but no toilet roll was provided on the second (smaller) bathroom.

- Mosquitoes & small insects, incl. ants in the room

- My colleague who was staying in another room asked for a laundry bag. A dirty laundry bag )(that must have been used previously) was provided, she was absolutely disgusted and chose to hand over the laundry in her own plastic bags

- Another colleague staying in a different room found her room door ajar upon return from work. She was really concerned that someone had gone through her belongings, but the suspected culprit is housekeeping that did not properly close the door (fortunately she lost nothing).

- Breakfast is mediocre at best, and so is room service

- Minibar was provided, but housekeeping never bothered to replace any items consumed

- Water dispenser at the room is supposed to have both hot & cold water. Never could get the hot water to dispense, it was always cold. I had to request a kettle instead

- Service is extremely slow: had to wait 30 mins for the requested kettle

- Smoking is rampant everywhere throughout the facility, even in the main lobby. Clientele of the hotels are unfortunately of a "different class" - Indonesians who think the world is theirs and are not considerate of others.

- And the worse of all, during our stay, the service elevator was inactive, and staff were consistently using the guest elevator to transport food, laundry, etc. I had discreetly asked one of the staff why the service elevator was down. The reason could not have been any more stupid: management was in the process of upgrading the elevator with a swipe card system. The swipe card system is not in place (for the service lift), and the elevator was not used for this reason. Absolutely ridiculous and this led to long waits for the lift.

I WOULD NOT go back to this hotel. In fact, we are cutting our stay short and moving to the Grand Jatra next week. Good riddance, Aston Balikpapan

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irashaimase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aston B, Manajer Umum at Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Mr. irasshaimase,

Thank you for your valuable feedback of your recent stay at Aston Balikpapan.

I was really disappointed to note your concerns for the areas where we did not meet your expectations especially the service & maintenance issue. I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused.

This most candid commentary from you is very much appreciated. The exceptional is possible to happen and I assure you this will thoroughly be researched as to how this could ever take place for one of our guests.

While we do enjoy a good reputation that is synonymous with service, it resides on a reputation that is built on guest experience. Your experience the past days was not what we strive to deliver and for this I want to express my deepest apology and regret that corrective action did not adequately take place to your satisfaction

We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to make the necessary changes in the service we provide. I would like to further learn details about your experience during your stay and invite you to contact us at: gm@astonbalikpapan.com


With Kind Regards,


Tomy Yovan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hotel is a good option to stay in Balikpapan. It is centrally located near to the Plaza shopping centre, It is right on the waterfront and is a tall building so it has great views of the town and water up high. The only problem was I could not get out on the balcony to see the views. The door was sealed up. The food in the restaurant for breakfast was very good, the staff were all polite and friendly. It has a wonderful infinity pool that looks out to the sea as well. It is also the only hotel I know of that provides two bedroom accomodation that isnt the penthouse or super expensive room. A good option if you have a family. It is a little more expensive than some others in the area but worth the extra $$ for the location and comfort.

Room Tip: Up high and in the front for spectacular views of the city and sea!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicklamport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aston B, General Manager at Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Nick Lamport,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. I hope you enjoyed your stay here and delighted to hear that your prefer our hotel to stay at when in Balikpapan.

I would also like to personally thank you for your feedback in regards to being a family orientated hotel. Here at Aston Balikpapan we pride ourselves on providing superior service to all our guests and understand that our families are a large part of our hotel and we are glad to here you made good use of our leisure and family facilities. I hope you understand our security procedures for Balcony is to assure our guest's safety.

NickLamport we look forward to your return next time you are in Balikpapan.


With Kind Regards,


Tomy Yovan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
98 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed at the Aston in Balikpapan for a night in transit. Reasonable on-line deal, and nothing wrong with the hotel if you like a somewhat institutional environment. Staff are pleasant and helpful, rooms are OK, but are full of threatening messages that fines will be imposed if you infringe all sorts of regulations. This always puts me off - as does the infamous breakfast voucher. (Breakfast itself is OK if you overlook the horrid jams).

Location-wise, it's not ideal - just a bit too far from the city centre, although the seafront location (if you have a sea-facing room - I did not) is fine. There is a mosque inclose proximity which may or may not be beneficial.

Overall, probably not for me, with hindsight.

Room Tip: You really need to go for a sea-facing room if you are staying here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dhanbadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aston B, General Manager at Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Dhanbadman,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

I am saddened to hear that we did not deliver the level of product that you would expect when visiting Aston Balikpapan Hotels & Residence. This is certainly will continuesly improved hence your input to my official email gm@astonbalikpapan.com would be very beneficial for our quality improvement. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused.

I look forward to hearing from you,

Warmest Regards,


Tomy Yovan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Balikpapan hotels
1.0 mi away
Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan
Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan
#4 of 35 in Balikpapan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Balikpapan
Swiss-Belhotel Balikpapan
#8 of 35 in Balikpapan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Balikpapan
Novotel Balikpapan
#7 of 35 in Balikpapan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Grandeur Balikpapan
Le Grandeur Balikpapan
#11 of 35 in Balikpapan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.1 mi away
favehotel MT. Haryono
favehotel MT. Haryono
#1 of 35 in Balikpapan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
2.5 mi away
Platinum Balikpapan Hotel & Convention Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence

Property: Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence
Address: Jl. Jend. Sudirman no. 7 | Grand Sudirman Balikpapan, Balikpapan 76114, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Kalimantan > East Kalimantan > Balikpapan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Balikpapan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining the facilities of an international hotel and the comfort and personal service, the new Aston Balikpapan is the first combined hotel and residence in Balikpapan. While all rooms and apartments offer the comforts and amenities of an international 4 star hotel they also feature kitchens and private balconies. Within the ocean front Grand Sudirman Complex the Aston Balikpapan is ideally located in the heart of the city and just 15 minutes from Sepinggan International Airport allowing easy access to all the main attractions in the city including shopping and entertainment facilities. Besides the hotel's ample offerings guests also benefit from the many facilities within the Grand Sudirman Complex such as restaurants, cafes, banks, an Irish pub, a convenience store and major corporate offices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Balikpapan Hotel And Residence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing