We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
subaru135
Genoa, Italy

Strategic location for the airport and good standard

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 May 2017
Gran Jatra hotel, is 20 minutes from the airport. The building is new, and close the a mall with shops and restaurant. The service is kind and careful. The room are clean and wide. The gym is little but good enough as the swimming pool. The Bellagio supply you a very good breakfast and tasty lunch and dinner, international standard. We always stay at Gran jatra when we come to Balik Papan for work.
Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jatrahotelbpp, GENERAL MANAGER at Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan, responded to this review
Responded 1 Jun 2017
Dear subaru135,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan..

Thank you for taking your time to provide us feedback of your recent stay at Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan. It is a pleasure to receive your positive comments on our location, facilities and services. Once again, thank you so much and we look forward to have your next reservation in our property.

Best Regards,

Widya Wiryawan
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £18
  • Booking.com
0.5 miles from Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £27
  • Lol.travel
0.7 miles from Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan
Free Wifi
Pool
£36
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
1.3 miles from Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £24
  • eDreams
1.5 miles from Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan
Free Wifi
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £27
  • Booking.com
0.5 miles from Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £96
  • Expedia.com
    £97
0.0 miles from Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £39
  • Expedia.com
    £45
2.7 miles from Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £30
  • Booking.com
2.5 miles from Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ibis
    £24
  • Booking.com
1.7 miles from Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £28
  • Booking.com
2.2 miles from Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Balikpapan
Reviews (422)
Filter reviews
422 results
Traveller rating
132
152
89
22
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
132
152
89
22
27
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 422 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2017

I stay in this hotel each time I visit Balikpapan. The location is less than 10 minutes from airport. There is a mall at the ground floor. And in the same area there are shopping area, entertainment, restaurant and cafe.
My room was clean, big enough and comfort. My only problem was there was no electricity port near the bed. There was sofa set in the room.
The swimming pool was very nice, and it has a great city view. There was also a jacuzzi.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuelpas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jatrahotelbpp, GENERAL MANAGER at Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Dear Samuelpas,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan..

Thank you for stayed at Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan. We are delighted that your overall experience was a comfortable and positive one. We have noted of your review related to the unavailable electricity port near the bed, for your information we have put the project on our schedule and it still on progress due to we have to do it partially. Sure, your feedback will certainly assist us in further upgrading our guest facilities & services. Once again thank you so much, we do hope to be able to welcome you back to Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan soon.

Best Regards,


Widya Wiryawan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

The hotel is in a strategic location : 20 minutes to the airport, 20 minutes to downtown, near the gift shop, near the balikpapan iconic resto (dandito, kenari, torani, bang joni etc), and next to the mall. Breakfast with various menu and great atmosphere, especially with the tradisional music performance

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank ae c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jatrahotelbpp, GENERAL MANAGER at Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Dear Apip C,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan..

Thank you for taking your time to provide us feedback of your recent stay at Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan.
It is a pleasure to receive your positive comments on our location and facilities. Once again, thank you so much and we look forward to have your next reservation in our property.

Best Regards,

Widya Wiryawan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017

I have been travelling to Balikpapan for over 25 years and I have stayed at most of the hotels available in this city. This is an exceptional hotel, clean, great system in place, rooms spacious, food great. The breakfasts are spectacular . It is close to a bar and mall so everything is easily accessed. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The only issue I had (and it drives me crazy) is the salt an pepper shakers at breakfast. The staff do not make sure each table has a set and when they do either they are empty or the holes are clogged. So I am having to chase staff around the room asking for salt and pepper, or steal from other tables OR chasing staff to clear the holes in the shakers. Seems very easy to implement a system to fix this ongoing problem. Still apart from that, do yourself a favor and book a stay at this hotel if you are in Balikpapan.

Room tip: I don't know what a room tip is?
Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MarkFernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jatrahotelbpp, GENERAL MANAGER at Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Dear MarkFernie,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan..

Thank you for stayed at Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan. We are delighted that your overall experience was a comfortable and positive one. We have noted of your review relating about the salt and pepper shaker in the breakfast table, we apologize for the service deficiencies. Sure, your feedback will certainly assist us in further upgrading our guest facilities & services. Once again, thank you so much and we look forward to have your next reservation in our property.


Best Regards,


Widya Wiryawan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017

it is good hospitality from the begining. nice front office during check ini. i stay at delux room which was very comportable for my fams. wide room and wide bathroom.
hot water a little bit waiting but good. fitness center good so do swiming pool and jakusy pool.
comportable dining room for breakfirst and so many various choice of food for adult and kidos.

a litle bit iprovement is at dining room. smoking area is close to non smoking area. the smell is not good for non smoking person.

thanks
PP

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank putu_puswadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jatrahotelbpp, GENERAL MANAGER at Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Dear putu_puswadi,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan..

Thank you for stayed at Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan. We are delighted that your overall experience was a comfortable and positive one. We are thank you of your review related to our Bellagio Restaurant. Sure, your feedback will certainly assist us in further upgrading our guest facilities & services. Once again thank you so much and we do hope to be able to welcome you back to Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan soon.

Best Regards,


Widya Wiryawan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

The hotel is nice, great location being attached to the shopping centre. The breakfast buffet was good quality. The staff spoke a reasonable amount of English to get you through the basics. It's close enough to the airport, but not too close that you get airport noise.

We got the room at a discounted rate, it wouldn't be worth the full rate (would be comparable to western rates), and the room air conditioning is loud if you are used to a quite room.

The airport shuttle is free in one direction only. Having said that, it was very good.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mekros
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jatrahotelbpp, GENERAL MANAGER at Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Dear mekros,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan..

Thank you for stayed at Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan. We are delighted that your overall experience was a comfortable and positive one. We have noted of your review relating about the air conditioner sound, we apologize for the service deficiencies. Sure, your feedback will certainly assist us in further upgrading our guest facilities & services. Once again thank you so much and we do hope to be able to welcome you back to Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan soon.

Best Regards,


Widya Wiryawan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews