We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
favehotel MT. Haryono
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Balikpapan
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice budget hotel”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Location good for airport access, but a short taxi ride to centre. Clean, welcoming staff, lovely food. The staff are incredibly polite, and try and help as much as they can. The rooms are quite jazzy in pink!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 730tinap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favehotel M, Manager at favehotel MT. Haryono, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Derby,
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We Really appreciate for feedback as it helps us to improve the service that we provide to our guests.

we are very grateful for the very nice comments from both the facilities and services of our team

Happily we are looking forward to welcoming you back at favehotel - Balikpapan.

Best Regards,
Niar Husain - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    151
    71
    8
    4
See reviews for
34
46
32
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Samarinda, Indonesia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Actually, I booked these rooms for my parents when visiting my brother for his new born son. They felt so comfortable, clean & helpful staffs. I choose this hotel because it has an ease access to go & in the centre of city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favehotel M, Manager at favehotel MT. Haryono, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Ron,
First of all thanks to taking the time to write your comments at trip advisor,
i also thank to you for trust has chosen favehotel to your parents as a place to stay in balikpapan .

Please Receive my gratitude to you and your parents.
we look forward to seeing you again,

Best Regards,
Niar Husain - Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magelang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
301 reviews
264 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I always find good experience when I stay in this hotel. Pros: attentive and friendly staffs, efficient check in - check out, good price, free internet wifi connection, strong shower with good temperature, spacious room, comfortable bed. Cons: budget hotel with minimum facilities but i found no complaint with this hotel services. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexSantosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favehotel M, Manager at favehotel MT. Haryono, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Bapak Alex Santosa,
Please receive my gratitude to you from favehotel balikpapan has been Recommended and chosen as your second home in Balikpapan.
Deepest from our heart , we always glad to serve with you again.

Best Regards,
Niar Husain - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a night during bussiness meeting in Balikpapan, June 2014. Checked in at night, reception was 10 minutes quick and direct. Spacious lobby. My room was 205 (2nd floor), unfortunately I got a smoking-allowed room/floor. Room was quite big, wifi was slow, clean bathroom with nice hot shower. Minimal amenities, no minibar, no wardrobe, but quite nice bedlinen. Found some ash leftover from cigarettes near the window. Better not staying on the smoking floor.
There was no easy access to convenient stores nearby the hotels, but many food stalls to choose around.
Breakfast was ok, indonesian tradisionals, juices, bread and free local newspaper. Service responsiveness was a little slow.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Emil I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favehotel M, Manager at favehotel MT. Haryono, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Bapak Emil,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel,

For the future of cigarette ashes near a window will not be found again, checking the cleanliness of the rooms and we will improve, as well as with the somewhat slow service we will fix by doing training for staff.

we would be very happy to forward to you returning to visit favehotel Balikpapan.

Best Regards,
Niar Husain - Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balikpapan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

good and clean room, additional water heater and coffee/tea in the room will be great..
breakfast - food variance need to be improved, add desserts also favorable... need to immediately refill the empty food storage

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tiket.com

Helpful?
Thank ViedE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favehotel M, Manager at favehotel MT. Haryono, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Calade,
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel,
Just information for water heater & coffee / tea sachet , we are set up at Deluxe & Suite Room.
and about for food during breakfast, we will improved about the taste and service.
Gladly, we will await for next coming at favehotel Balikpapan.

Best Regards,
Dahniar - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

When hearing the word budget hotel, surely not much of an expectation... Though the hotel was located strategically in MT. Haryono, it'll still only provide accommodation at a minimum level...

Don't expect lavish interior and top notch services..., however prepare only for a decent welcome and just acceptable accommodation. The lobby was nice, compact and sleek, however when you walk in the corridors to your room, don't be surprised to see the windows open and the air is fairly less cool, since the air conditioning system is not provided on the corridor (or maybe it is provided? I couldn't feel it though).

The room was okay... small, but okay... just enough to get some sleep and for a decent shower (although it seems the hot water did not work in my stay). They don't provide hot kettle, however if you need hot water, they provide a hot & cool water dispenser down the corridor #chuckles.

Breakfast was okay, not much choice, but acceptable, food was adequate.

well, I guess it's one of those budget hotels.... What do you expect...?

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favehotel M, Manager at favehotel MT. Haryono, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We appreciate for all guest to give feedback as it helps us to improve the service that we provide to our guests.
we will always improve the facilities and improve services for guests who come to the place that feel comfortable staying at favehotel Balikpapan.

We look forward to seeing you again

Best Regards,
Niar Husain - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My first stay and first visit to Balikpapan.

I was looking for affordable hotel with great location for my trip and Fave MT. Haryono popped up in my search. I've stayed in other fave hotels in other areas before, but this one gave me a pleasant surprise. As I knew what to be expected when checking in to a budget hotel, I was not expecting anything excellent with the price I paid for. I have to admit, I've underestimated the hotel.

Check in process was a breeze, I arrived around 10:00AM at the hotel and got my room instantly without any extra charge for early check in. When I got to the room, I was surprise with how much space they have in the room, it was HUGE!!
Breakfast is good with selections of indonesian food and the taste was surprisingly authentic.

Location is great as it was very easy for me to reach the area where I need to go to.

The only downside is that I was given the room in the corner (the hotel's building is in L shape) and I can literally see and bee seen by other guests in other room across mine, so need to close the curtain the whole time I was in the room.

Room Tip: Ask the reception to give you a room far away from the corners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mardliahaziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Balikpapan hotels
0.3 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Balikpapan
Swiss-Belinn Balikpapan
#15 of 36 in Balikpapan
147 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence
0.6 mi away
Quest Hotel Balikpapan
Quest Hotel Balikpapan
#5 of 36 in Balikpapan
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Neo+ Balikpapan
Hotel Neo+ Balikpapan
#12 of 36 in Balikpapan
22 reviews
0.6 mi away
Whiz Prime Hotel Balikpapan
Whiz Prime Hotel Balikpapan
#17 of 36 in Balikpapan
75 reviews
1.7 mi away
Novotel Balikpapan
Novotel Balikpapan
#8 of 36 in Balikpapan
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to favehotel MT. Haryono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about favehotel MT. Haryono

Property: favehotel MT. Haryono
Address: Jln. MT. Haryono no. 78 | Daerah DAM, Belakang Hanking Donat, Balikpapan 76114, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Kalimantan > East Kalimantan > Balikpapan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Balikpapan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — favehotel MT. Haryono 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your favehotel MT. Haryono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing