We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hendra” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gajahmada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Gajahmada
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Pontianak
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
“Hendra”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Fantastic services,affordable,friendly staff,good food and located in city center. Looking forward for my next stay. The room was nice and clean,daily makeup room was tidy. Breakfast was easy and organised.sort of comfy hotel to stay in. Just stay and relax but dont expect more than you think of.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank hendratedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    11
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
2
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Been coming back and forth to this hotel since it first opened years ago. Can see the hotel amenities are getting old although there are some major renovations on going to upgrade. Some of the rooms has weird smells, I think it is from the carpets. I recently stayed in one of the suites room, was feeling reluctant to hang my clothes inside the wardrobe, it has smells as if it was never been used for a very long time. The inside room facilities are great though, water heater, complimentary 2 water bottles, room sandals, VCD, International channels.

The TV channels has lots of issues with connection. Sometimes I can barely see any pictures at all or the other way around.

The restaurant servers will require extra training. Although not everyone, some will need extra push, some will also need to learn to show appreciation to guess when they give away a decent tips over services given even though it wasn't a pleasant one.

With me have experienced this situation myself recently, I felt deeply disappointed with one the server girls in short hair (can't remember her name but her face) was not even giving a smile or said thanks when I told her she can keep the (decent amount) change. The second night, I was sitting at one of sofas at the lobby right in front of the restaurant counter, as a server, she could have come and offered me as a hotel guess, a drink or the different choices from the restaurant's menu. Instead of doing that, she was just sitting and looking at what I did with a weary face. This was not pleasant at all. I, Instead of asking her to come to bring the menu, would rather just continue working of my computer. Batter then seeing her face taking my orders with that unpleasant reluctant working attitude.

But to my surprise, the security guys are working beyond my expectations. They are going extra miles to attend to us. They greet and smile, and showing respect.

Make sure you ask the hotel staff for the non smoking room if you don't smoke. This hotel allowed people to smoke inside the room, the cigarettes smells can gets stronger at nigh and you wont be able to sleep.

Second floor is not really a good choice, especially if you plan to stay for more than two days. Besides the cigarettes smells, noise from the people outside are extremely loud as well which make it worst.

Some of the room air - conditioners are not even working properly. There was this one day when a piece of a long sharp line of frozen ice dropped almost on top of my head from the air - conditioner which wall mounted on top of the entrance room door, was old, smells and was having loud noise.

Room Tip: Choose rooms more towards the front end, usually gets less noisy and less cigarettes smells at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D_syPatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Breakfast great, lots of choices, dinner had shrimp salad which was fine for $2. Staff friendly an English OK. Taxi's out the front for $6 per hour, but can walk the central city from the hotel. Overall happy with everything, good value.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
367 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

The only family hotel in Pontianak which give the complete services, I love to do exercise after work and the only provide the best and complete fitness equipment's is Gajahmada Hotel, the unique of this hotel is the room is quite big and service of breakfast was very unique traditional Pontianak food combine with Asian and the hotel is link to Feony Hotel next to the building and provide the roof top dining, the food is excellent plus the local singer are very professional, very relaxing and romantic roof top dining, one more its Value for Money

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

Gajah Mada Hotel is located in the city centre. You can reach supermarket, traditional market etc by walking distance. The room is clean and bis enough with the standard value. Staffs are helpfull. one thing that they need to improve is breakfast menu. The menu is too limitted and the taste is so so.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucyliestiyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2009

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. Room was okay, clean and spacious. It's a 3-star hotel so didn't expect much. Room comes with breakfast, which is a plus as it'll be quite difficult to get a proper coffee shop/ stalls selling breakfast around that area.
The staff is very helpful, and conversant in English, though not all of them. Basic English should not be a problem. The location is good, next to a departmental store/ supermarket and market.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BoonBoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pontianak hotels
0.1 mi away
Aston Pontianak Hotel & Convention Center
0.1 mi away
HARRIS Hotel Pontianak
HARRIS Hotel Pontianak
#3 of 30 in Pontianak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orchardz Hotel Gajahmada
Orchardz Hotel Gajahmada
#8 of 30 in Pontianak
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Golden Tulip Pontianak
Golden Tulip Pontianak
#4 of 30 in Pontianak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Pontianak
Mercure Pontianak
#2 of 30 in Pontianak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
1.2 mi away
Orchardz Hotel Ayani
Orchardz Hotel Ayani
#7 of 30 in Pontianak
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gajahmada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gajahmada

Property: Hotel Gajahmada
Address: Jln. Gajahmada No. 177-183, Pontianak 78121, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Kalimantan > West Kalimantan > Pontianak
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Pontianak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gajahmada 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hearty service. Comfort and warm Eastern hospitality can't be separated from Gajahmada Hotel's identity, a two-star hotel located in the heart of trading and shopping area in Pontianak. We Provide 110 modern and simple elegant guest rooms, which are well decorated, equipped and facilitated to comfort your rest. They are Gajahmada Suite, Family Suite, Executive Room, Superior Room, Standard Room and Moderate Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Gajahmada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing