We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious And Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aston Pontianak Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Pontianak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I stayed one night on 17 November 2013 at Aston Pontianak. The service is very friendly and helpful and check in was fast. They also offer rental car and because I had to leave early in the morning to Bengkayang then I'm a take away breakfast. Non-smoking room, very clean and spacious. Double bed, comfortable and clean. The bathroom was also very clean and the towel was a thick white clean. The location is within easy reach as well as massage and spa available. I like the room is spacious and clean. I do not particularly like because of 3 times power outages in Pontianak.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alpha_Sigma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

I was staying here during business trip on June 2013.

It was located near the airport, so you don't have to worry about getting late to the airport.
There's Garuda Indonesia Representative Office inside of this hotel which is a plus for me, since I always fly with Garuda for business trip.

And there's also a big mall, just two blocks away. So you can watch a movie or do something since there aren't many things that you can do in this town.

I was greeted politely when I was checking in, and the staffs were prompt and attentive toward their costumers.

As for the rooms, it's in accordance with Aston's standard. Simple, clean, and comfortable. And the foods were okay I guess. You'll find any foods that you would find in another Aston hotel.

Overall, this is a good hotel especially if you're flying with Garuda Indonesia. I heard you can get a discount if you show Garuda Indonesia's boarding pass. I really recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Their rooms tend to be fully booked when there are Chinese festivals and celebrations like Chinese N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OttoDeschanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Got the junior suite because the normal rooms were booked out. Spacious room and nothing much to complain about. Nice sink in the toilet, made from a single piece of plastic/acrylic; never seen this anywhere else before. Wi-fi is pretty slow though. There's a pretty good massage joint at the hotel though you have to use a separate lift to get there (took me a while to find it). Night club too (did not check it out). Breakfast was adequate, with good selection of local food and cakes. Some bread and eggs too. Service was cordial. If you step out of the hotel, on the right side there's a fruit stall with some local snacks. On the left side there's another hotel and a bustling seafood joint. It's fairly dirty and doesn't look hygienic at all but it's cheap and fresh and fairly crowded.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Flintstong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My friend in Pontianak recommended this hotel when I was in town for business for 2 nights. Although the hotel located not in the main street, its still in Gajah Mada area, which is the city centre where you can easily find traditional eateries and coffee stalls in the evening.
The hotel building was previously a shopping mall hence its layout is a bit 'funny'. Nevertheless, the executive suite I stayed in was spacious and the services is good.

Room Tip: Get rooms with views to the neighbourhood, rather than those facing inside the hotel void. Don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EquatorGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

A good hotel in a good location with very good facilites.
Althought only managed to stay for 1 day, managed to expercience the hospitality, food and other facilites. They have a great out door swimming pool as well.
Plus points:-
Welcome drink was refreshing.
Located in city center
Great breakfast spread (almost spoilt for choice) and the best I have seen so far in Pontiniak.
Very nice spacious rooms.
Good choice of Chinese food.
Very fast check in and check out.
Can walk out and find a host of eateries.

Minus points:-
Air conditioning in the walk way to the rooms need some atttention,

Would highly recommend

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelvijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I stayed one night at the Aston Pontianak on business. I was told that it is not the most luxurious hotel in Pontianak. If so, it must be the second-most luxurious.

Pluses
Lounge with live entertainment in the lobby and two restaurants
Well-trained reception staff
Five floors of very large rooms with refrigerator, desk, Indonesia and Singapore configuration wall plugs, writing desk, chairs, and table.
Medium sized TV screen with HBO and other premium channels
King sized bed, slippers
Clean and sanitary-looking bathroom with glass sink--fancy
Very large standing shower with rain shower and hand shower. Three people could shower at the same time--four people if they are good friends
Phone in the bathroom
Refrigerator, coffee and tea maker and free bottled water
Tissue box, glass coasters, soap and toiletries all have the Aston logo. Two tissue boxes, one in bedroom, one in bathroom. Full set amenities including two toothbrushes
Not super-luxury: soap is medium-sized, water bottles 330 ml (Coke can size) instead of 600 ml as in Jakarta
Lift has windows so can see lobby as going up and down
Good hook for two towels in bathroom
I liked the location in old section of town, next to fresh fruit market

Con
• Breakfast had egg station but juices and pastry not very tasty
• Slippery shower floor
• Small fitness center with old equipment small pool

I feel that the Aston is a very good deal.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staidthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Warning : dont leave anything behind, you wont find it again, disappointing even compare to mercure in same city

Hotel review:
Location is very good in citu center. In walking distance u can get numerous local food.hotel buffet is good. Didnt rry the swimming pool but the gym was..yahh tiny.
The hotel have karaoke and spa, warning (+)* service detected....so becareful if wanna entertain business partner or female colleague. behind aston theres another one as well under same management providing same karoke and spa name riverX . In front of hotel have 2 salon as well , it is ++ *salon . So if u r not into those things...dont go..unless otherwise :D
Rate 60USD (not verified by me)

Reminder :surrounding foods are mostly non halal(contains porks). Try the beef kwetiauw or yellow rice if u cant eat pork. For pork eaters (thats me) it is a culinary paradise.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tonylimz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pontianak hotels
1.2 mi away
Mercure Pontianak
Mercure Pontianak
#8 of 31 in Pontianak
505 reviews
0.1 mi away
HARRIS Hotel Pontianak
HARRIS Hotel Pontianak
#1 of 31 in Pontianak
260 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden Tulip Pontianak
Golden Tulip Pontianak
#3 of 31 in Pontianak
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santika Pontianak
Hotel Santika Pontianak
#4 of 31 in Pontianak
154 reviews
7.4 mi away
Gardenia Resort and Spa
Gardenia Resort and Spa
#29 of 31 in Pontianak
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Neo Gajah Mada
Hotel Neo Gajah Mada
#10 of 31 in Pontianak
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Pontianak Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Pontianak Hotel & Convention Center

Address: Jl. Gajahmada 21, Pontianak 78121, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Kalimantan > West Kalimantan > Pontianak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pontianak
#2 Spa Hotel in Pontianak
#3 Best Value Hotel in Pontianak
Price Range: £25 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aston Pontianak Hotel & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aston Pontianak is a modern International 4 star Hotel with vast conference and exhibition facilities committed to the highest international standards and a wide range of facilities to suit the needs of conference delegates, corporate business travelers and families on joyful weekend trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Pontianak Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Pontianak Hotel And Convention Center
Aston Pontianak Hotel Pontianak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing