We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Santika Pontianak
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Pontianak
Reviewed 3 January 2012

In my eyes Pontianak is not somewhere on your must see places before you die, and after finding out there were no flights to onward city had to stay here 2 nights. As a backpacker this was luxury! A double superior room for only £20 a night was a bargain. Food was lovely , great gym, and even better spa facilities. What a treat. Had an shiatsu massage while here by Javanese girl was amazing!! Staff were spmost friendly and loved that they called me 'miss Hayley' even gave me a wake up call when I had to go to the airport!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HayleyTucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2011

I stayed at the Santika in January 2011 with 5 friends and we enjoyed our stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the facilities very good. The staff were very helpful and friendly and I would have no hesitation in recomending the hotel to others. The breakfast had a very good selection of Western and Indonesian food. We were alsoimpressed with the room rates and the service at the hotel. It was a good experience and nicely located.

Room Tip: We simply took the room we were alocated and we were happy. I've had worse rooms in other hotels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Metcalf G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

This hotel is a perfect place to stay. The price is very fair. The service is amazing. The breakfast buffet is awesome. Internet everywhere in the hotel. The beds are comfortable. The location is central to the city. Western toilets and modern bathrooms are exactly what I was looking for. I have no complaints about this hotel and I suspect you won't either. Stay here, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kava-kauboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Traveled with a group of 10 bikers and when you arrive at the hotel, you're made to feel right at home with the warm hospitality shown by the staff. Offered warm ginger tea with steam sweet potato / banana / yam after coming in from the rain. Great service.

Enjoyed our room which had a good range of cable tv for both adults and kids (3 cartoon channels where most only have 1). Will definitely bring the kids here the next round. Bed and pillows were comfortable. The remote to the A/C wasn't working but that was quickly fixed by the staff. The bathroom ceiling had water stains and water flowed out from the shower really slowly. Not sure if it was blocked or just slow. But overall it was clean. Found it a little weird that there was no hair dryer in the room. A friend in another room asked for one which was promptly brought up.

Had the hot stone massage at the spa which was on the 6th floor. You get 20% off certain packages so be sure to check which package entitles you to this savings. You would need to take the second lift to get to the spa. The Spa is beautifully decorated. Men and women have separate jacuzzi /steam /sauna which was great! Very convenient to have a good spa at the hotel. I loved the jacuzzi but the steam room is too small and too hot.

What makes this hotel extra special is the people. If you need anything, you can make a request to the consciege and they will try their best to get it. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gyyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Santika Pontianak is one of the first 3 star hotels in Pontianak. The facility is quite old but the rooms are in good condition and clean as well.

The hotel is my favorite one in Pontianak since it offers so many facilities with a very good deal on its rate. Wifi broadband is available for free, fitness center and swimming pool are also available for hotel guests with no additional charge.

Being here so many times for business purposes, I had tried superior and deluxe rooms. Since the hotel building itself was an old style shopping center before being retrofitted to a hotel, there are some odd superior rooms with a pillar right in the center of the room. Probably since it is quite difficult to change the original construction of the building, they could not remove it. The bed in superior room is also quite small especially for people with the height of 180cm. If being asked for change to another room, usually they will upgrade the room to deluxe for free.

The breakfast is standard but provide many choices of local food. There is also a section for smoking guests in the restaurant. The location of the hotel is right in the downtown so it is quite near (10mins walk) to walk around to the waterfront or to jalan Gajah Mada. The hotel offers free shuttle to Ayani Megamall and airport. Just ask the departure time to those places.

Room Tip: Ask for the room facing outside not facing the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank BillyGabriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2011

Stayed for about 5 nights in Santika and was overall very pleased with the quality of services and room + facilities. Room and bathroom is clean, although the western side rooms seem to be next to a bird house (swallows), hence I heard the birds chirping 24/7 (after a while it simply became like background noise).

The staff are friendly, good all-round breakfast (mostly Asian and local food with a modest selection of bread/fruits/pastries). The gym-jacuzzi-steam facilities (after a struggle of finding where the 6th floor is located!!) are nice to use, and you can get a 20% discount for in-room massages.

Although not a big deal at all, there is an oddly-placed pole/pillar next to the bed. I was told that the hotel used to be a series of "ruko" ('rumah toko' or multiple-storey shop with the owner living on the upper floors), thus the pillars in each room.

The area is in the middle of the city, but not near anything interesting at all save for traditional-looking shops selling local goods. However since I was on business, I didn't mind the location at all.

All in all, not a bad deal at all, and I would highly recommend :)

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweetbuttercup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

The people working there were very friendly and helpful. We just seemed to have awful luck with the rooms we were given (though others staying at the hotel with us had better luck). First room we had was supposed to be a level above standard except it was smaller than the standard room we received the second night! It also had wires sticking out of the wall and the bathroom could have been cleaner. Next room was, as stated, larger (at a lower price), however had mildew around the bathroom sink and SURPRISE! a leaking A/C unit at 2am.

Breakfast buffet was fantastic with food from all over Indonesia, and good coffee.

Location was nice for some good restaurants and shopping, though this is not the kind of place most people go for a stroll.

Pool, spa, and sauna were all very nice. We just wish that both of our rooms had not been so bad!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DC2florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pontianak hotels
0.6 mi away
Aston Pontianak Hotel & Convention Center
1.8 mi away
Mercure Pontianak
Mercure Pontianak
#8 of 31 in Pontianak
507 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Tulip Pontianak
Golden Tulip Pontianak
#3 of 31 in Pontianak
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
HARRIS Hotel Pontianak
HARRIS Hotel Pontianak
#1 of 31 in Pontianak
263 reviews
8 mi away
Gardenia Resort and Spa
Gardenia Resort and Spa
#29 of 31 in Pontianak
91 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Neo Gajah Mada
Hotel Neo Gajah Mada
#9 of 31 in Pontianak
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santika Pontianak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santika Pontianak

Address: Jl. Diponegoro no. 46, Pontianak 78122, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Kalimantan > West Kalimantan > Pontianak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Pontianak
Price Range: £22 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santika Pontianak 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Santika Pontianak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing