We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only if you have no other choices...”
Review of Arabica Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arabica Homestay
Ranked #25 of 50 Banyuwangi B&B and Inns
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Only if you have no other choices...”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Pros :
* Second closest to Ijen Crater, about 45 mins drive (after Catimor Homestay)
* Very beautiful scenery and surroundings
* (Unexpectedly) working hot shower

Cons :
* Dirty room
* Breakfast is only 2 pieces of bread! (for a long hike, trust me : it won't be enough!!)
* Pricey dinner (IDR 50.000,- per person)
* And dirty room (yes, again!)

This homestay is owned by the government (National Plantation), not privately owned.. So it's explain a bit about all the mess..

Many driver and guide hanging around in the hotel.. Just beware of them when they try to sell you their service.. If you would need a guide, better ask one of the miner at the Paltuding post, since they more deserved the money.. Some of them can speak a bit English too..

An update from early March trip, the entrance fee is IDR 15.000,- and there's a camera fee now for IDR 30.000,-..

And back again to the hotel problem, if you take a packaged tour including this hotel, just request for another hotel.. The much better one will be in Ketapang, Banyuwangi area.. It's about 90 mins to the crater, but with whole lot better quality of sleep and meals, with *amazingly* almost the same price!

Room Tip: Ask for room in the main building, which is between VIP or Deluxe..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    11
    39
    66
    119
See reviews for
14
112
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

It’s a traditional indo homestay, room was okie but wall very very thin, not even consider a wall, more like a partition, hahaha. The restaurant with very few selections of food, like 6? Nearby there’s nothing so you leave with no choice but to eat there. Breakfast is simple. I don’t think I can stay here for more than 1 day. Surrounding of homestay is very nice, many greenery and like, back to nature!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonnesher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Assigned room & bed are reasonably clean though furnishing / mattress were old. Bathroom was of acceptable standard. Our assigned room was spacious & fits three person comfortably with an extra mattress. Hot water, towel, soap, toilet paper are available and no unwanted insects in our room. Staff are generally laid back but helpful. We are not fussy travelers so room served our basic needs as it was primarily a place to crash/ sleep for the night before heading off to Ijen Crater.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayliyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

With the limited accom in the area, this might not be too bad a choice if you are assigned to their bigger & better room but we were not that lucky. Other things that I wholly agree with the other reviewers is that their 'breakfast' of 2 breads is very disappointing & their dinner is overpriced.

We had booked the trip to Ijen Crater for 2-3 Feb from an agency in Surabaya who had arranged with Arabica Homestay for our accom. Upon reaching after 6pm, we were showed to a small, miserable room with just only enough space for 3 single beds. There wasn't enough space for putting our baggage, for walking & for a litter bin. We felt more like staying in a cell than a room. We were very fortunate that we had late lunch in town before going to the homestay so we do not have to eat there.

If you are someone who like hot breakfast, do remember to pack some instant noodles along.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Puzzled75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Banyuwangi hotels

malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

First of all there are only 2 hotels nearest to Ijen. According to my tour agent, this is the better of the two.
When we were there, there was a big group of the Indonesian military staying there so it was full. Were were put up across the road from the main building, called the Strawberry House. There were for rooms with a lounge in the centre. We occupied room 1.The floor of the room and lounge was very dirty, white bedsheets a dirty brownish colour. towels were small and thin.No toiletries, no hot water, no glasses.There were a cockroach crawling around and dead insects on the bed.Clearly, there was no maintainance of the building whatsoever.
The only choice for better & cleaner hotels is quite far off, so there was really not much choice.Either a longer journey in the middle of the night or a dirty room.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittjall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lille, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This hotel is used by touts selling tours bromo – ijen –bali and similar. Actually it’s a night stop-over and the closest to the kawa ijen, it takes only 45 minutes by car to get to paltidung in the morning (or 1am) to start climbing ijen. For this reason, the hotel is rather a motel, “sleep and climb away”. Since there is no much choice around (just one other hotel Catimor nearby), the prices can’t be negociated. We paid 200kIDR for a room with 2 beds and hot shower, but no towels, no soap, no sink, and dirty linen. Anyway the owners have no interest to retain their guests as again this place is for 90% tourists just a stopover. It’s a pity because it is located right in the coffee plantation and the scenery is gorgeous.

The hotel offers only buffet type dinner for 50kIDR (again rip-off).

The worst thing about this place are the scams operating on its territory with a tacit agreement (or even involvement) of the hotel staff. They sell the blue fire night tours for 150kIDR including local guide and entrance fee, which in reality costs only 15kIDR! We were lucky to have Indonesian guys with us to help us negotiate with the scams but you can’t do much because you are completely cut-off in this hotel and they dictate you their terms. This is a shame.
Conclusion: do not stay here if you travel independently! Better stop at bondowoso or sempol.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princess_pea2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

99 % of the tourists who are staying here is because they've booked a package from Yogyakarta (or from Bromo, or from Bali). So make sure you ask first in which hotel you're staying before paying and booking! Our story:
We ended up in this homestay because we have booked a transfer from Bromo to the ferry to bali with an overnight stay near Kawah Ijen. As soon as we arrived they asked us to pay for the entrance ticket for Kawah Ijen. An ridiculous amount from 55'000!!! Handwritten on an inofficial voucher...They also tell you the price includes a camera-fee" from 30'000!!! Don't believe them!!! Is not true! There is NO camera-fee!!
We refused to pay and told them we will pay the entrance ticket at the official entry-gate! They tried to force us and told us many lies. The hotel-staff also works together with the drivers so they can split the money from the paying tourists amongst each other! We were suppose to leave at 4AM in the morning to get driven to the crater but they FORCED us to pay the entrance-ticket and camera-fee otherwise they won't driving! We had a big fight with them and couldn't believe it! At the end we gave up and paid 45'000 Rupiah! Still too much! During our hike up to the crater we met a dutch guy who went there with a rented motorbike! He passed the official gate and paid for the OFFICIAL ENTRANCE TICKET 15'000 Rupiah!! And NO CAMERA-FEE!!!! So please be aware and if you don't mind the hassle don't pay for the overpriced and faked entrance ticket at the Arabica homestay! Keep in mind the ticket is only 15'000! No matter what they will tell you! They lie!

They also try to sell you tours to see the blue flames for 150'000! They will tell you lies like: you only see the blue flames this week and if you are going only in the morning it will be too cloudy to see the lake! Please DON'T BELIEVE THEM!
We resisted to go with them to see the blue flames but all others tourists did and paid them 150'000! As soon as all other tourists disappeared in the rooms, one of this dodger came again and told us he will make us a special price for only 100'000!! So if you really want to go with them to see the blue flames, BARGAIN BARGAIN BARGAIN!! Never pay the first price!

It's a shame what's going on here on Java, same story happened to us on Bromo! We've been travelling since 11.5 months, mainly through southeastasia and never happened such an obvious ripp off like here!!! It's not surprising that less and less tourists visiting indonesia.

And yes the rooms are dirty, not even worth to pay anything! And also be aware from their overpriced menu! They only serve dishes for 50'000!! We went down to the local village (just walk the way down, 5minute). There is a lovely little warung serves bakso for 10'000! Very friendly and honest people! So please support them instead of this ripp-off-hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank elin80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banyuwangi
20.3 mi away
Ketapang Indah Hotel
Ketapang Indah Hotel
#1 of 15 in Banyuwangi
731 reviews
21.4 mi away
Hotel Blambangan
Hotel Blambangan
#3 of 15 in Banyuwangi
76 reviews
22.9 mi away
Ijen View Hotel & Resort
Ijen View Hotel & Resort
#2 of 7 in Bondowoso
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Didu's Homestay Bed & Breakfast
15.8 mi away
Kampoeng Joglo Ijen
Kampoeng Joglo Ijen
#2 of 46 in Banyuwangi
18 reviews
20.3 mi away
Ijen Resto & Guest House
Ijen Resto & Guest House
#21 of 46 in Banyuwangi
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arabica Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arabica Homestay

Property: Arabica Homestay
Address: | Jampit, Banyuwangi, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Banyuwangi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Banyuwangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Arabica Homestay Hotel Java
Arabica Homestay Banyuwangi, Indonesia - Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing