We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for arriving late and leaving early”
Review of Arabica Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arabica Homestay
Ranked #22 of 46 Banyuwangi B&B and Inns
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“OK for arriving late and leaving early”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

OK place to stay the night before the early 3:30am start to trek Ijen crater. Lots of rooms, and pretty comfy beds, but fairly basic and we had a cockroach in our room. There doesn't seem to be anything else in the area so you are limited to buying your food and drink there. They serve quite a good dinner of rice, noodles, soup, omelette, chicken and juice for 50,000, or you can just order one of those for 20,000. Large water was 10,000, and small water 6,000. Breakfast was pretty basic though of 3 pieces of bread with butter, chocolate sprinkles, and a boiled egg.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank expressive-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    9
    39
    65
    115
See reviews for
13
108
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Most people come here for one night to see Ijen the next morning and so did we. The rooms are bad, staff is unfriendly and slow, WiFi does net work, restaurant is overpriced and breakfast is close to being a joke. If you come here bring your own food and water and get excited for Ijen (which is amazing) cause that is about it. The whole area is not even that bad with a bit of a garden and green spaces but everyone is pretty happy to leave in the morning!

Room Tip: Take the chapest one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jannis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Banyuwangi hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We were forced to stay here despite booking the Katimoor hotel as part of our tour (we were told the Katimoor was full). Having read other reviews we had extremely low expectations, however the room we had was manageable for one night. At first the room smelt suspiciously like detergent as if to mask other smells, then when going to bed the blanket didn't have the freshest smell. Bathroom was soaking wet when we arrived and therefore not hugely inviting to use. Internet access was available in the reception area but was extremely poor. Staff didn't handle our request for towels and toilet paper politely, not the strangest of requests! You get a packed breakfast to take on your trip but it is limited to a boiled egg and two slices of bread... You should bring food with you. Despite this Ijen is definitely worth visiting though.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MikunaWoodhna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Everything that was written before was confirmed during our short stay at Arabica: mould on the walls, very dirty bedroom and public areas, no service, noise, stains on the bed sheets. Bring your own towel and sleeping bag.

Wifi does not work but there is hot shower although I was too disgusted to take a shower. If like us you don't have other choice than staying here (booking via agency/very good location next to ijen) - don't be scared either. We have not found any bug or anything terrible. It is 'just' dirty for few hours.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Oeilaiguise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Pros :
* Second closest to Ijen Crater, about 45 mins drive (after Catimor Homestay)
* Very beautiful scenery and surroundings
* (Unexpectedly) working hot shower

Cons :
* Dirty room
* Breakfast is only 2 pieces of bread! (for a long hike, trust me : it won't be enough!!)
* Pricey dinner (IDR 50.000,- per person)
* And dirty room (yes, again!)

This homestay is owned by the government (National Plantation), not privately owned.. So it's explain a bit about all the mess..

Many driver and guide hanging around in the hotel.. Just beware of them when they try to sell you their service.. If you would need a guide, better ask one of the miner at the Paltuding post, since they more deserved the money.. Some of them can speak a bit English too..

An update from early March trip, the entrance fee is IDR 15.000,- and there's a camera fee now for IDR 30.000,-..

And back again to the hotel problem, if you take a packaged tour including this hotel, just request for another hotel.. The much better one will be in Ketapang, Banyuwangi area.. It's about 90 mins to the crater, but with whole lot better quality of sleep and meals, with *amazingly* almost the same price!

Room Tip: Ask for room in the main building, which is between VIP or Deluxe..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunsetcraver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

It’s a traditional indo homestay, room was okie but wall very very thin, not even consider a wall, more like a partition, hahaha. The restaurant with very few selections of food, like 6? Nearby there’s nothing so you leave with no choice but to eat there. Breakfast is simple. I don’t think I can stay here for more than 1 day. Surrounding of homestay is very nice, many greenery and like, back to nature!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonnesher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Assigned room & bed are reasonably clean though furnishing / mattress were old. Bathroom was of acceptable standard. Our assigned room was spacious & fits three person comfortably with an extra mattress. Hot water, towel, soap, toilet paper are available and no unwanted insects in our room. Staff are generally laid back but helpful. We are not fussy travelers so room served our basic needs as it was primarily a place to crash/ sleep for the night before heading off to Ijen Crater.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayliyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banyuwangi
20.3 mi away
Ketapang Indah Hotel
Ketapang Indah Hotel
#1 of 14 in Banyuwangi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
15.9 mi away
Kawah Ijen Guest House
Kawah Ijen Guest House
#5 of 46 in Banyuwangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
15.8 mi away
Kampoeng Joglo Ijen
Kampoeng Joglo Ijen
#2 of 42 in Banyuwangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Didu's Homestay Bed & Breakfast
20.5 mi away
Kampung Osing Inn
Kampung Osing Inn
#2 of 46 in Banyuwangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
23.4 mi away
Ijen Bondowoso Homestay
Ijen Bondowoso Homestay
#1 of 7 in Bondowoso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arabica Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arabica Homestay

Property: Arabica Homestay
Address: | Jampit, Banyuwangi, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Banyuwangi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Banyuwangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Arabica Homestay Hotel Java
Arabica Homestay Banyuwangi, Indonesia - Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing