We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pool was best of all” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mirah Hotel Banyuwangi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mirah Hotel Banyuwangi
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Banyuwangi
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“pool was best of all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

nice stylish decorated rooms, bathrooms urgently need renovation. restaurant had no more coke. pool baar only sold beer. good location for Ijen Crater visit or ferry transfer to Bali. Price was ok, breakfast was a bit for the minimalist. A toast with egg in a box for on the road. Internet was working on and off. the place was half empty, food took long time to bring, but we were not bothered by that. Food was of average price and taste. We have seen better, we have seen worse. Best of all was the huge swimming pool. very clean. and nobody there!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juliaulr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    17
    39
    13
    9
See reviews for
26
19
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

The hotel itself was adequate. But despite booking a "luxury" room (standard room has no hot water) the hotel did not provide towels.

The breakfast... uuugghhhh where do I start? I felt physically sick upon seeing and smelling the fly porridge, cheesy papaya and greasy noodles. I only stayed at the hotel for one night but broke down in tears in the morning after seeing flies rubbing their hands in glee at all the cheesy papaya. This is not to mention the deep fried cow noses. I wouldn't feed this food to my dog!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shell312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Banyuwangi hotels

London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

We got a spacious bungalow, with two rooms.
The rooms are fairly big sized as are the bathrooms.
The rooms are clean but sparsely furnished.
The bathrooms were full of mosquitoes. They had anti-mosquito devices plugged into plug sockets in the rooms- but these seemed to make no difference.To be fair the bedrooms didnt really have any insects, it was mainly the bathrooms.

The beds were comfortable enough but my main complaint was the bed sheets. I found multiple hairs on the sheets which was highly off-putting. I also discovered brown stains on the sheets (photographs taken).

The breakfast consisted mainly on indonesian food- rice, noodles etc. We had omlettes which were adequate. The breakfast area is not aesthetically pleasing- also you are constantly having to swat away flies, which makes eating an overall unpleasant experience. There were also ants swarming around in the sugar pots.

On the upside the swimming pool seemed to be of size and the area seemed nice enough to hang out.
Overall unpleasant stay. Also a sideline, there is nothing to do in Banyuwangi!!!
We hated it. Our tour guide took us on a tour of a local market, which basically consisted of spices, cheap plastic household goods and clothes for the locals. We then went to a dairy farm and coffee plantation which was pretty boring. The tour guide then offered to take us to see the local department store- which we politely declined.
In summary I would personally advise against visiting Banyuwangi and staying at Mirah hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NAslam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We were at the Mirah hotel from May 14-17th. We stayed in the deluxe bungalow, the rooms are spacious and private with a lovely porch looking out onto the garden. The bathroom is very nicely designed as well although I was worried my children would slip in the tub. We went with our three small children so the day bed (where the kids slept and played happily) really made our stay there that much more comfortable. The swimming pool is really beautiful and suitable for two year olds as well, my daughter kept walking around the rim and enjoyed herself immensely.

The hotel is very good value and good for families. We paid around 450.000 for this bungalow

I rated the hotel average because
1. Nobody speaks English or has proper knowledge about the Ijen/Bromo tours or other things to do including local transport/ train/ bus timetables. So the hotel is more suited for the local population that speaks Indonesian and eats rice for breakfast! (they only have omelettes, bread, jam and the rest is rice/noodles.. !)
2. The food was really bad the first day, we had a fly in our rice and the 'steak' was burnt but they got their act together the next day after we wised up and ordered indonesian food!
3. Ketapang (at 660.000 IND) may have been a better deal since everybody apparently speaks English and they may be more geared to handling foreigners... but we can't miss what we dont know.. so overall, we had a comfortable stay at Mirah.

Room Tip: ask for the bungalows, they are better value
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gunduraja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

I stayed in deluxe bungalow room type for 1 week (Rp 450000/night). it feels like you live in a green cluster house with private terrace, parking area with a lot shady trees. the bed was comfortable, the room was clean and so spacious with a fridge, AC, a big lcd tv, electric kettle. the towel is always fresh, they change it everyday. the bathroom is so spacious too, almost half the bedroom. the lack point is there was a small part of cement floor area with no function i think, they should put some pots or stones.
My friend stayed in superior (=standard) room for Rp. 250000/night, electric kettle and toiletries are not provided. the bedroom is not too spacious with small tv, bathroom is big but a little damp maybe because it's rent more often than the bungalow.
breakfast is standard but quite varies. swimming pool is nice, the water is warm enough even in the afternoon. there is not enough lighting in the garden and surrounding area when evening comes so it will be a little bit scary with so many trees around.
to go to ketapang harbour you can stop the public transportation (small yellow car) accross the road and pay Rp 3000-4000/person. or book a taxi from hotel desk for Rp. 25000. it will take 5-10mnts to get there. ferry departs everytime from ketapang to gilimanuk. or you can stop the big bus from the street outside the hotel to Denpasar (Terminal Ubung) and pay approx Rp.60000 (incl ferry ticket)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juna06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

The room rates are cheap, the room i stayed in is very clean and neat with a very big bathroom. But, too bad, they only have internet connection at the restaurant and its not 24 hours.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarahndal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
No fixed abode
Level Contributor
107 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2010

World travellers reviewing where we stay en route. If you wish more detail, take a look at our Blog (details in profile) or contact us directly.

Mirah Hotel

Arrival

Train from Surabaya to Ketapang (Banyuwangi) and then grab a mini-bus to the hotel at IDR 15 000 for two people. It takes about ten minutes.

Plus

• the "hotel" is set in its own grounds and the rooms are like chalets
• good food in the one site restaurant
• air conditioning
• cheap prices
• lots of hot water
• TV with local channels
• swimming pool
• fridge
• little mini-mart on site selling useful items

Minus

• no internet
• room felt dirty and the bathroom was
• light curtains
• awful towels
• ancient bathroom fittings
• tried to charge IDR 15 000 for an extra pillow
• breakfast included but place was packed so we didn't bother

Comments

It was fun staying overnight in a "Butlins" style family camp with individual chalets. We stayed during a local volley ball tournament and so all the players were here, making it a very friendly and fun experience.
It is all dated, the swimming pool looks dirty (as too do the rooms) but for a night and the cost of the room, it was adequate.

Food and beer prices were fair and the grounds were lovely with beautiful and exotic trees and wild life.

Tip

To get to the ferry, just wait on the main road and hail a passing minibus. We waited less than five minutes and got dropped directly at the harbour ticket office, for IDR 10,000 for two. Avoid the touts selling coach tickets to Denpasar and take a ferry only ticket for IDR 6,000 each.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ktelontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banyuwangi hotels
3.5 mi away
Ketapang Indah Hotel
Ketapang Indah Hotel
#1 of 14 in Banyuwangi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Blambangan
Hotel Blambangan
#3 of 14 in Banyuwangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
27.0 mi away
Minak Jinggo Hotel
Minak Jinggo Hotel
#4 of 14 in Banyuwangi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Bangsring Breeze Resort
Bangsring Breeze Resort
#2 of 14 in Banyuwangi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kendi Villas and Spa
Kendi Villas and Spa
#6 of 14 in Banyuwangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Santika Banyuwangi
Hotel Santika Banyuwangi
#3 of 34 in Banyuwangi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirah Hotel Banyuwangi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirah Hotel Banyuwangi

Property: Mirah Hotel Banyuwangi
Address: Jln. Yos Sudarso No. 28 | Klatak, Banyuwangi 68421, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Banyuwangi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Banyuwangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mirah Hotel Banyuwangi 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mirah Hotel Banyuwangi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirah Hotel Banyuwangi Indonesia - Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing