We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Asana Biak Papua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Asana Biak Papua
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Biak
Kathu, Thailand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

I have stayed at the Aerotel Irian Biak on at least 5 or 6 occasions, and always had a pleasant stay. The beach front rooms are the quietest, largest, and best, but are a bit of a walk, with stairs, if you have heavy luggage. Although the breakfasts are very asian and limited, the Beef Rendang in the restaurant is very nice, as I'm told are many of the other dishes (I order the Rendang every time). Ms. Nancy or the staff can help you organize a sight seeing tour to see the Japanese WW2 cave hideouts, night fireflies or scuba diving. I didn't spend any time in the pool, but it did look inviting. All up a nice place to visit, and a two minute walk from the airport.

Room Tip: The rooms to the left and down the walk from the reception (near the ocean) are the best - I've...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oilfield2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    14
    10
    2
    5
See reviews for
4
4
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

The hotel was decent, considering the other alternatives available on the island. I arrived at the airport at 5am in the morning, and the huge benefit of this hotel is that it is located exactly adjacent to the airport, so no transportation is needed, because it is within a walking distance.

When I arrive at the lobby, despite the abnormal hour the staff was there to process check-in. They may be accustomed to have guests checked in at this hour because one major airline that serve this route (which I used) arrived at 5am in the morning.

Overall, the condition of the hotel is decent. The bed was OK, a bit too hard for me. The bed sheet has some stain on it, but overall the room is relatively clean and has no strange odor or some sort. The hotel sound insulation is not good, so whenever there is someone walking in the hallway you could hear them walking and talking, which can be annoying when you want to sleep.

The meal (breakfast) was OK, albeit limited options available, but it is available at 4am in the morning, so that is a plus point.

I would recommend this hotel to people who's planning to go to Biak, not because of its service and accommodations, but basically it is still the better hotel than the other alternatives available on Biak island.

Room Tip: ask for a room that has a balcony facing to the swimming pool / beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blazingwithfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

I've stayed at three hotels in Biak, and this is my favorite. A two-minute walk to the airport and a 20 minute walk to a few good grilled fish restaurants. The air conditioners don't rattle, the sheets are clean, and there is a dive operation on-site.

Get a room away from the parking lot and not in a high traffic hallway: the floors are wood, so the sound of all the wheely suitcases rattling by will really start to bother you.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobbyAceh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
222 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

We only had one night here and wanted the convenience of being near the airport and this place is a 5 minute walk away. Room was pretty nice and costs are reasonable both room rates and meals. We really liked the large pool to relax in after a full day bird watching. I have bird watching tips about Biak on my blog. http://www.milestothewild.com/biak-a-gentle-introduction-to-west-papua/ We would def stay here again if we return to Biak.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tikibird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

Aerohotel in Biak-West Papua is a very pleased hotel with a friendly staff and nice manager (Ms. nancy). They tread us well. The price is friendly and they have a very nice pool in front of the beach.

The room (superior and deluxe) has very great interior but, some of them have no great exterior view. I suggest you prever superior who get pool view or deluxe with beach view.

One minor of this hotel is about breakfast, the food is standard (standard means standard) but for lunch or dinner is great.

The beer is nice but maybe the price for red wine is rather expensive (more than one hundred bucks for australian wine).

It's nice to come back in this hotel. Actually I stay in this hotel once every two weeks.
:D

Room Tip: Deluxe room or superior with pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank resa_anasto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biak
0.0 mi away
Aston Jayapura Hotel and Convention Center
0.0 mi away
Grand Tembaga Hotel
Grand Tembaga Hotel
#2 of 3 in Timika
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asana Biak Papua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asana Biak Papua

Property: Asana Biak Papua
Address: Jln. Moch Yamin No. 04, Biak 98111, Indonesia (Formerly Aerotel Irian Biak)
Region: Indonesia > Papua > Biak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Biak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Asana Biak Papua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing