We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bit too much noise but good value”
Review of Riana Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rantepao
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riana Guest House
Ranked #2 of 13 Rantepao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

stayed for 5 nights, it is in the backstreets of toraja but only 5 min walk to main road.

room was big, but had a bit of a wet dog smell! think its just a bit damp.
room not cleaned in 5 days which was a shame.
there was also building work just above our room that started at 8am.
we understand they have to start early but there was never ever an apology about this or even an acknowledgement. The work shook the room so was difficult to ignore!

the owner however is generally very kind and informed.

this is also a family home, all the family are so lovely again but expect some noises of screaming and crying children.

we paid 130,000 per night including breakfast. I think this was the average. The breakfast was just egg, bread and tea but delicious.

We used hendrick as a guide - he was brilliant. call him +6285342414010
patient and well informed.
see my other review on 'discover ...with Hendrick'

If I could go back I would stay out of toraja up in the hills out at a homestay there or a resort.
it's beautiful up there and toraja is an ok town but a bit 'rum'

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jac8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2013

Located down a lane not far from the main street where the buses stop, this is a great place to stay for a good location in Rantepao. This is a family run home stay/ guesthouse. The rooms are very clean with hot water. They are basic but the price is so cheap you couldn't expect anymore. Breakfast of fried egg with toast & tea/ coffee. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners & we couldn't have been happier. If I had one criticism it would be that the lane way can be a bit noisy at times & on two mornings we had guests arriving at 6am from the night bus that woke us up but it's best to get up early in Rantepao anyway & when you are paying about €10 a night for a room with breakfast & hot water you can't afford to be too fussy about these things! When we left Dowd even called the guesthouse we were going to at Lake Poso to make sure everything was ok.

The huge bonus of this guesthouse is using Dowd(the owner) as a guide. He happily shares all his information about Toraja & Indonesian culture. He is a anthropologist & has been sent on studies all over the World to look at different cultures so he has a great understanding & is very interested in sharing his knowledge to help you understand. We went on a 2 day tour. The price was really good & we were able to understand everything, I had many questions & they were enthusiastically answered even things I wanted to know about Burghanese, Balinese & Batak

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hungry_Neilius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Rianas is a great choice in Rantepao: centrally located, clean, spacious rooms at a reasonable price and a very hospitable family: Daud is a knowledgable guide and explains you everything you want to know about the Torajan culture. As an anthropologist, he can also give you further background information. I feel I understand so much more about it than any guidebook explains. I can recommend him a lot as a guide and hope that a lot of other guests of Riana's do the tour with him (there's a price agreement in Rantepao between the guides anyways - 300.000 IDR / day, therefore, I would rather go with someone who provides you with profound information).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanne_782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The direction is a bit tricky for us, as we thought it was behind wisma monton. Actually what you need to do is to just go down the road that is next to wisma monton (its on the left side).until the end and the road kinda turn left..and still keep going until almost the end and you will notice it on the left side. The road was really dark at night, but we walked around 10pm and it was safe.
This guesthouse is not far from the main road.. about 7 minutes walking.
Spacious and clean room, no fan, no aircond.. but I guess there is no need for it as it wasn't hot. However, there is a small mobile fan to use, just ask Pak Daud, the owner. Outside the room there was 2 chairs and a table with chairs.So its a good chillin' and social area.
The owner, I have to say is superb.. very understanding and accommodating. We had a good conversation.
The bathroom is large and could do with a sink. The neighborhood is great. Overall a good experience.

Room Tip: there was rooms attached to main house.. we had the one next to it - this is good as you have your o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nannur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Rianna Homestay is a fantastic place to stay! It’s only a five minute walk from the main street in Rantepao and all the motorbike drivers can take you there. It is squeaky clean with huge bedrooms. The bathrooms are equally large, with gloriously hot water. The family are kind, friendly and hospitable. Breakfast is not included in the price, but it is cheap and tasty. They also do a laundry service, which is relatively cheap. The owner has excellent English and was a tour guide for 30 years, so he is more than happy to talk to you about Torajan culture and can certainly recommend tour guides to you. They recommended their friend and neighbour Amos who is an exceptional tour guide. We spent 5 days altogether with him and had a fantastic time. He has excellent English and local knowledge, is flexible, kind and thoughtful. The three day hiking trek is superb. Contact Amos on +6281241881998 or email him at: amos_palungan@yahoo.com. Rianna were also more than happy to hold all our bags while we went trekking for three days.
You should definitely stay in Rianna homestay! Email them at rianahomestay@gmail.com or call them on +6281343696270

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBandSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

Those people are very kind. Its a Nice place in rantepao, but a little hard to Find. Luckely the most motorbike drivers can bring you there easily. The room was Nice! Remember that you are in toraja, so you will hear some animals. The price is really good and the owner had a heart of gold.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DutchLeonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights, and really enjoyed the friendly family-atmosphere here. It's situated surrounded by local people which is very nice. In the morning you'll be woken up by the sounds of roosters, a lot of children and dogs. Village-life-sounds!
Riana's Homestay is named after the always smiling wife of Daud, the owner - Daud speaks good English and is very proud about his Toraja culture. He can arrange a guide when you want to visit a funeral-ceremony or when you wnat to rent a motorbike.
The rooms are very affordable and are huge, clean and basic. Bathroom is big too, with a shower. The only thing we found really strange... was there is no sink. This makes it a bit uncomfortable when you want to wash your hands, brush your teeth or anything... but well, at leats we had a shower. :-)
Breakfast (eggs, toast) is not included, you have to pay a littlebit extra.

Room Tip: There are no sheets on the bed (only a little blanket), so bring your own sheets/ sleepingbag.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahLu_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rantepao
2.1 mi away
Toraja Misiliana Hotel
Toraja Misiliana Hotel
#2 of 9 in Rantepao
278 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hotel Sahid Toraja
Hotel Sahid Toraja
#1 of 2 in Makale
33 reviews
0.8 mi away
Toraja Heritage Hotel
Toraja Heritage Hotel
#4 of 9 in Rantepao
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Marante Toraja
Hotel Marante Toraja
#6 of 9 in Rantepao
14 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indra Toraja
Hotel Indra Toraja
#5 of 13 in Rantepao
73 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luta Resort Toraja
Luta Resort Toraja
#3 of 9 in Rantepao
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riana Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riana Guest House

Address: Jl Abdul Gani Lorong Wisma Monton | Toraja Utara, Rantepao, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > South Sulawesi > Rantepao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Rantepao
Also Known As:
Riana Guest House Rantepao, Indonesia - Sulawesi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing