We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice decor but food could be better”
Review of Cafe Aras

Cafe Aras
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Rantepao
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Café Aras is een nieuw restaurant in de hoofdstraat van Rantepao. De eigenaar, Aras (arasparura@yahoo.com) is tevens een soort hoofd van de gidsen in de stad en handelt in antiek. Het restaurant is mooi ingericht met veel antieke versieringen aan de muren.Op de kaart staan zowel Indonesische (inclusief Toraja) gerechten als Westerse gerechten (steaks, pasta, pizza). Wij hebben er twee maal heerlijk gegeten, zijn ook Australiërs tegen gekomen die dolenthousiast waren over de steaks, maar ook het Indonesische eten was erg lekker.Ik had ook de indruk dat er veel gasten waren die na één bezoek vrijwel elke dag dat ze in Rantepao zijn daar eten.Is zeer zeker een vermelding waard. Iets duurder restaurant, maar zeker het beste waar ik in Rantepao gegeten heb.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice decor but food could be better”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The service here is great, the people are friendly and I dare say that during the tourist season this place has a good hubbub around it. However, during the quieter season of March it was relatively peaceful and devoid of atmosphere.

Most importantly I found the food to be mediocre at best. Their attempt at a pizza were dubious to say the least and though the buffalo with fries and vegetables was relatively good, the meat was tough and their frying oil needed to be changed.

We attempted 1 lunch and 1 dinner here, trying 4 different dishes between my friend and I, but none of them quite hit the mark. Frankly, nothing could compare with the deliciousness of Pia's Poppies food, Aras just seemed like a let down in comparison.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Phoemail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    120
    71
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Arty Cafe - with great food”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Brought here by my guide, who liked to hang out here with other guides. Arranged for local toraja food for supper which required pre-ordering. Pork in Black (fruit) sauce and Chicken roasted in Bamboo. ALso tried the Buffalo Steak, which I think must have been skirt - certainly very thin but plenty of all dishes and all very tasty and well-presented. Ice cold Bintang beer. Walls decorated with local carvings. Good atmosphere. Young crowd playing music.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gaitero61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
263 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Some Great Dishes & Some Just Okay”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My first meal at Cafe Aras was voted the best dish on the table by the guy who tried them all. I ordered the pamarasan fish (in black sauce). It was a huge portion, and the sauce was so good. My friends liked their pork steak, the pamarasan pork, and other dishes. But on my second visit, a friend and I ordered the pork cooked in bamboo and the chicken cooked in bamboo (must order 5 or more hours ahead of time), and we weren't that happy. My pork was incredibly dry, and my friend didn't enjoy the coconut in the bamboo chicken dish. The juices they make are lovely, but be sure to ask for them cold. The ambiance is nice so long as the tour guides looking for business leave you alone. It's a tourist hangout, so there is bound to be some of that. The prices are okay... some of the dishes are almost double what you'd pay at a non-touristy restaurant. But I'd suggest it for anyone interested in trying some of the local dishes that won't be easy to find at other eateries.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RunsAmok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice place, go with enough time...”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Went there 3 times during our 4 days stay. Pork on bamboo was really good (order in the morning) but chicken cooked the same way was terrible... the days we didn't book previously everything took forever to come and some dishes never came at all... nice decoration and friendly staff.

Helpful?
Thank VascoCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good stick to local food”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Very nice decor, good service and friendly staff. the food is great but forget western food. We had pizza one night, sweet breaded base and ketchup instead of tomato sauce... was not the "best pizza" as described by Lonely planet :)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fluffymagics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Aras also viewed

Rantepao, South Sulawesi
Rantepao, South Sulawesi
 
Rantepao, South Sulawesi
Rantepao, South Sulawesi
 
Rantepao, South Sulawesi
Rantepao, South Sulawesi
 

Been to Cafe Aras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing