We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far From Main Road”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Toraja Heritage Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Rantepao
jakarta
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Far From Main Road”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This hotel having great view from lobby even from my window only can saw other rooms. We used 2 rooms with connecting door, i was lucky can got that rooms, so 4 of us can met and talked easier. Unfortunately the days we stayed, the phone rooms were offline because of the thunders (their reason), so for asked more toilet tissues, we must call the staff to their cellphone. The worst when we got dinner in the restaurant, we waited 1 hour for meals 4 person, and we saw there were some expatriates got meals before us, and we saw they arrived after us. Its so ridiculous, how come hotel star did that to Indonesian people. Well.... we didnt care and we didnt complain in that time because we will not stay in that hotel again. I think this hotel just respect with non Indonesian. Next time we go to Tana Toraja, will find another hotels, many around there

Room Tip: rooms near lobby much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    98
    68
    16
    7
See reviews for
37
108
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

Admittedly the prices are high for Indonesia, but i recommend the hotel without hesitation. The setting is spectacular, and the room i had (top floor of one of the traditional houses) was fantastic - the floor is made of gorgeous wide black planks of native wood. The bathroom is luxurious, with both shower and bathtub, and separate room for toilet. They put a fresh flower in the latter every day!
Bed was huge and comfortable, terrace and view were excellent.
The grounds are extensive, peaceful and lush.
Service is very friendly, helpful but not overbearing.
My only complaint is the breakfasts, which were poor. Perhaps they suit European tastes - sliced cold meats and cheese, white bread - plus some sweets.
And sadly the coffee wasn't good, which is disappointing in the center of Indonesia's best coffee growing area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BexYo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Located a bit on the hills, the hotel has an incredible view and it´s completely surrounded by nature and, with the accommodations which reproduce the traditional Toraja houses, there´s a really particular atmosphere.
Spaces are huge, the hall, the restaurant and the pool.
The rooms are nice, fresh at anytime of the day and night,(there´s no need of ac),
bigger the standards then the superior, fantastic the deluxe, that´s more a villa then just a room and all of them surprisingly clean ( to be in Indonesia..)
The food is wonderful. Always fresh and tasty.
The breakfast with buffet offers a wide choise of food, both indonesian, continental and european. Homemade yogurt, jam, croissant, danish, bread and fruit juices.
We asked room service at midnight and in half an hour they came with the best pizza we have eaten out of italy. Compliments to the chef!
The staff is nice and friendly, available 24 hours and really helpful.
Sport facilities need definitely to be renewed, but all the rest is absolutely well maintained, nice and clean.
Best place in Rantepao if you are looking for cleaning and relax.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valex305425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

This hotel has charm although there were very few people there in January. We stayed three nights. Our room was clean and spacious. We enjoyed the pool which is large and not used during our stay. The food was average but given the few guests I figured the choices might be due to that. I was unable to use the WiFi....We had a nice balcony with a beautiful view..

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabeth202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makassar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Overall what's good about this hotel was the room and it's view (deluxe room). The breakfast, I think were better then other hotel in Toraja. But still, some need to be improved. They should have some more variant of food, the quality of the food and the staff in the restaurant not all of them knows how to served the guest friendly. Some of the location like the corridor we've walked through near the reception when we want to get to our room, were plain and need to be paint. The swimming pool also need some attention for it's cleanliness.

Like I said the room was good, I was giving them "great" grade if only they notice that they're extra pillow in their wardrobe were not clean anymore since like it's been use by someone and they didn't change the pillowcase, and also they still had water in their electric cattle. Which was too bad for me because the bed was nice, the whole interior was great, and they have a huge bathroom but maybe add some more bathroom amenities (soap, shampoo, etc) because one per each type was not enough to take a bath for 3 times per day for two person.

What i'm trying to say this hotel actually could be a great one if they improved for the cleanliness, staffs and foods. Because they kept thing original, culture and also the tongkonan house for the room which people came to find in Toraja.

Oh yeah, one more thing..
I love the idea that they put hibiscus in the toilet which is cute :)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nenz_utari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
241 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

This is not a 4-star hotel, indeed. Maybe it used to be 4-star, but not anymore. Buildings are abandoned and need to be maintained, breakfast is poor (they serve stale beef ham !!) - just a 2 or 3 star standard breakfast.
Location : from the main road, you'll have to walk for approx 10 minutes, and the small road heading there is verrrry dark at night !
Rooms are spacious, and you don't need AC at Rantepao because the weather's naturally cool.
Bed and room ameneties are clean, ensures you for a good night sleep.
Bathroom equipped with bathrobe and other standard amenities, only no hairdyer.
BUT my husband had to complain 3 times to get the hot water running (we also check with a guest nextdoor, they also don't get hot water in the bathroom). After sending a 'technician' for 2 times (and all they did was just flushing the water for nearly 15 minutes without further action!!! this was ridiculous) and harsh-words complaint, finally they turn on the central water heater, then we got hot water in the bathroom ! It made us thought that the hotel just did it to save electricity - wait until someone complains before turning on the heater.
It just don't deserve to be 4-star!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rantepao hotels

Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
176 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

This hotel by the way the best in Toraja, used to be a very good hotel, but is a bit rundown.

The room is reasonable, as long as you are in the big building and not in the rooms of the Toraja houses.

The rooms are clean and quite good, old but everything worked.
By the way there is no air conditioning, but the hotel is rather hight situated, so at night it was ok, by opening the door to the balcony.

Room Tip: Ask for the room in the big building numbers 500 etc and 600 etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rantepao
1.6 mi away
Toraja Misiliana Hotel
Toraja Misiliana Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rantepao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hotel Sahid Toraja
Hotel Sahid Toraja
#1 of 2 in Makale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Marante Toraja
#6 of 9 in Rantepao
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Salassa Guest House
0.7 mi away
Luta Resort Toraja
Luta Resort Toraja
#4 of 9 in Rantepao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tongkonan Layuk Lion
Tongkonan Layuk Lion
#6 of 12 in Rantepao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toraja Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toraja Heritage Hotel

Property: Toraja Heritage Hotel
Address: Jln. Rante Kesu, Rantepao 91831, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > South Sulawesi > Rantepao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Rantepao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Toraja Heritage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome To Toraja Heritage Hotel Toraja Heritage Hotel (ex.Novotel) is the leading 4 stars hotel in Toraja, set high in the mountains amid rice fields and rolling hills. Offers a heaven of a retreat from city life-a perfect blend of tradition and comfort. Located in the heart of North Toraja, with a peaceful tropical 5 hectare garden and just 10 minutes away from Downtown Rantepao. The Hotel rest on a hilltop at 700 meters with superb views of the surrounding countryside. The graceful architecture of the Toraja Heritage Hotel embraces a spacious resort, with 134 rooms and suites that blend tradition and comfort to create a delightful holiday environment. Dine amidst nature at the poolside Marura Restaurant the Sarira Restaurant serves both local and European cuisine a la carte, and regular cultural shows of local music and dance. Extensive sporting activities are part of the Toraja Heritage Hotel charm. Guests may plunge into a swimming pool amidst tropical gardens, keep fit with table tennis, billiard or giant chess and explore our botanical jogging track. At the Marampa Spa, choose from a wide range of massage and body treatments. Enjoy excursions and trekking, outbound or cycling on mountain bike through spectacular countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Toraja Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toraja Heritage Hotel Rantepao, Indonesia - Sulawesi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing