We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
The Forgotten Banda Aceh History

You can download the free audio guide if you have an Android phone, but I highly recommend the... read more

Reviewed 8 June 2016
Marcel_NYC
,
New York City, New York
highly recommended - free audio tour

If you want to know more about the colonial history of Banda Aceh, this is a great opportunity. You... read more

Reviewed 4 March 2015
Spuit11
,
Capelle aan den IJssel
via mobile
Read all 15 reviews
  
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
9
3
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
3
3
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2015

If you want to know more about the colonial history of Banda Aceh, this is a great opportunity. You can download the audio tour or ask for a guide who explains you even more. We had a very informative time with our guide Andri. He told us a lot about the city and the culture.
Because we choose to see and do more Th only the audio tour he planned a special daytrip, starting with a pick up at the ferry from Pulau Weh, visits to the tsunami museum, the PLTD (big ship), the audio tour and even going to the beach before taking the night bus back to Medan. We can commend everything, but if you have to make a choice, the audio tour is not to be missed if you are interested in the history.

Date of experience: March 2015
5  Thank Spuit11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2014

I booked this tour with motorcycle transport provided (you can also do it on your own with the Android download if you like). The history of the Dutch in this region is not well known among either the Dutch or the Indonesians. A lot of research has gone into this beautiful audio tour and you'll hear journal entries from people who were on the scene during the Dutch colonial era. It reveals a fascinating side of Banda Aceh's history. My motorcycle guide, Andri, also added his own insights and we also visited additional sites related to the tsunami. All in all and excellent, unique and revealing tour. Well worth the time!

Date of experience: September 2014
3  Thank E W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We saw a flyer for this tour at Eddie's Homestay and decided to give it a try. The tour itself a free download but we payed 400.000 extra for transport. Were picked up and dropped off at our homestay, great. The tour is really interesting. We knew nothing about Banda Aceh except for the tsunami, but it turns out the Acehnese once waged a huge war against the Dutch. The tour takes you to some wacky old buildings that we otherwise wouldnt have paid any attention to. Each building tells its own story, sometimes quite shocking so be prepared.
The narration and old music of this tour were great and since they used so many quotes from eye witnesses, history really came alive.
Definitely one of the best things to do in town. Don't forget to stop for a coffee at blackjack kopi! Doesn't look like much from the outside but it turned out to be a 100yr old wooden building with lots of historical photos on the wall!

Date of experience: June 2014
5  Thank Annemarie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: September 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: July 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews