We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Forgotten Banda Aceh History”

Remains of Koetaradja
Ranked #13 of 33 things to do in Banda Aceh
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A free guided audiotour to colonial Banda Aceh. Narrated in English, Indonesian and Dutch and accompanied by old school colonial music, and illustrated with many unique pictures and eye-witness reports.
Reviewed 8 June 2016

You can download the free audio guide if you have an Android phone, but I highly recommend the guided tour with Andri. You will be able to talk to him (a Banda Aceh resident) and learn so much more info, plus it would be hard to walk from place to place by yourself in the busy streets. The audioguide is very well made, available in English, Dutch and Indonesian, and contains many stories and old photos thanks to thorough research. The best tour we did in Banda Aceh!

Date of experience: June 2016
4  Thank Marcel_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

1 - 5 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2016

Banda Aceh city has been well developed since after Tsunami disaster. There are a lot of constructions today. Unfortunately, the Dentist house was destroyed for a hotel's area expansion. If I'm not mistaken, the number 9th of the audio tour list.
So sorry about that...

But thank you for your appreciation reviews. :)

Date of experience: January 2016
1  Thank bicycle_toursbanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2015

If you want to know more about the colonial history of Banda Aceh, this is a great opportunity. You can download the audio tour or ask for a guide who explains you even more. We had a very informative time with our guide Andri. He told us a lot about the city and the culture.
Because we choose to see and do more Th only the audio tour he planned a special daytrip, starting with a pick up at the ferry from Pulau Weh, visits to the tsunami museum, the PLTD (big ship), the audio tour and even going to the beach before taking the night bus back to Medan. We can commend everything, but if you have to make a choice, the audio tour is not to be missed if you are interested in the history.

Date of experience: March 2015
5  Thank Spuit11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2014

I booked this tour with motorcycle transport provided (you can also do it on your own with the Android download if you like). The history of the Dutch in this region is not well known among either the Dutch or the Indonesians. A lot of research has gone into this beautiful audio tour and you'll hear journal entries from people who were on the scene during the Dutch colonial era. It reveals a fascinating side of Banda Aceh's history. My motorcycle guide, Andri, also added his own insights and we also visited additional sites related to the tsunami. All in all and excellent, unique and revealing tour. Well worth the time!

Date of experience: September 2014
3  Thank E W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We saw a flyer for this tour at Eddie's Homestay and decided to give it a try. The tour itself a free download but we payed 400.000 extra for transport. Were picked up and dropped off at our homestay, great. The tour is really interesting. We knew nothing about Banda Aceh except for the tsunami, but it turns out the Acehnese once waged a huge war against the Dutch. The tour takes you to some wacky old buildings that we otherwise wouldnt have paid any attention to. Each building tells its own story, sometimes quite shocking so be prepared.
The narration and old music of this tour were great and since they used so many quotes from eye witnesses, history really came alive.
Definitely one of the best things to do in town. Don't forget to stop for a coffee at blackjack kopi! Doesn't look like much from the outside but it turned out to be a 100yr old wooden building with lots of historical photos on the wall!

Date of experience: June 2014
5  Thank Annemarie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Remains of Koetaradja also viewed

 

Been to Remains of Koetaradja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing