We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience”
Review of De Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
De Garden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Butterworth
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I visited Butterworth with my family as I got work for two days. We came to know this hotel and stayed for tree nights. The hotel was good, big room, clean, may be a bit old but it was neat. There were breakfast provided for two guests. Parking was safe, monitored and free.We enjoyed staying. We visited the city, driving around, even lost into the cargo ferry nearby, but my kids loved it as they so so many Optimus Prime lorries...We went to to the new shopping mall too. It was something like Sunway mall. The trip was good.


Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Nawas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed here overnight to catch a train the next day and got there late at night. The reception staff were nice but that's where it stops. The room smelt of grease, the bedding had stains on it and the towels smelt.
My advice is that there are hotels nearer the train station so stay there

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StevenMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The overall condition of the room is clean and new. However, the breakfast provided is unsatisfying and limited of choices. Hope the hotel can improve the quality of the breakfast. It is suitable for those who are looking for budget hotel and staying near to Butterworth

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fatty_Ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night to attend a wedding. Room, amenities, staffs are pleasant. Breakfast was simple but at a cheap price you can't expect much. Coffee was good taste. Location ok.
Price was reasonable, showers was great, toiletries minimal.
Overall basic hotel if you are around that area for errands.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank MarianaAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The hotel itself was very nice and clean. We arrived late at night and received no help at all regarding food or drinks after a long train ride. The breakfast was really less than I expected and I left quite hungry.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Hales216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel after returning from the Langkawi ferry, which arrived quite late (past 20:00). We were taking the train from Butterworth to Kuala Lumpur the next morning at 8:00 and wanted somewhere that would be close to the train station. Butterworth does not have a lot of hotels and don't really cater for tourists. This hotel was a 10 minute drive from the train station. Check-in took quite long and I had to fill in forms. It had a very small bathroom consisting of a toilet, basin and shower. Coffee/tea making facilities were provided. It is a basic hotel room, sufficient for a one night stay. There is not much in the area in terms of restaurants, just a small convenience store. The hotel does have a restaurant that provides meals, but since we arrived late and had to check out early we could not make use of this facility.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabihah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I stay in Studio room. Strongly suggest to others traveller..superb stay...their staff are very helpfull..the only reason why I can't give 5 star is because their breakfast. I will stay here again in the future if I travel around here

Room Tip: Studio room. Very nice, large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ghostriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Butterworth
0.3 mi away
Aroma Hotel
Aroma Hotel
#5 of 11 in Butterworth
56 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Palm Inn
Hotel Palm Inn
#4 of 11 in Butterworth
36 reviews
0.5 mi away
T+ Hotel Butterworth
T+ Hotel Butterworth
#8 of 11 in Butterworth
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya
3.7 mi away
Grand Orient Hotel
Grand Orient Hotel
#4 of 4 in Perai
5 reviews
3.1 mi away
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
#35 of 87 in George Town
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Garden Hotel

Address: Lorong Cempa | off Jalan Telaga Air, Butterworth 12200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Seberang Perai District > Butterworth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Butterworth
Price Range: £23 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — De Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a world of refined corporate luxury, De'Garden Hotel is a star rated hotel strategically located in the heartland area of Butterworth surrounded by lush greenery situated at Lorong Cempa off Jalan Telaga Air, Butterworth nearby to commercial center, Raja Uda famous local food stalls, Sunway Carnival Shopping Mall and tourist attractions such as Tow Boo Kong Temple, Penang Bird Park, St. Anne's Church and also River Cruise.It is 5-10 minutes driving distance from Mak Mandin Industrial Area and Butterworth Bus & Ferry Terminal.Getting to Georgetown is only 15 minutes ride by Ferry with scenic view of Penang and 45 minutes drive to airport via the scenic Penang Bridge.There are 123 units elegantly modern design well furnished rooms, inclusive of handicap accessible room, with complete amenities tailored to the needs of both business and leisure guests. Offering our hotel guests with superior services and a broad range of amenities, De' Garden Hotel Butterworth is committed to ensuring that your stay is as comfortable as possible. Top features of the hotel include family room, guarded and gated free ample parking, in room safe box, complimentary bottled water, coffee/tea making facilities, laundry service/dry cleaning, mini fridge, astro channels, free wifi, iron and hair dryer on request.Beside our facilities available are Garden Terrace Cafe, Room Service, business center, banquet and seminar rooms. In addition, we ensure parking is easy accessible as we provided gated and guarded free ample car park for the safety of our guest. The hotel's modern setting rooms are ideal places to relax and unwind after a busy day. Whatever your purpose of visit, De' Garden Hotel Butterworth is an excellent choice for your stay in Butterworth, Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing