We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For business it's ok.”
Review of De Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De Garden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Butterworth
Reviewed 1 February 2011

I was in Peneng to see a local supplier on the mainland and from reading there really seemed to be 2 choices, this and the Sunway. I chose De Garden because it was new.

The Hotel is new and clean and directed soley at the business traveller. The rooms are clean, the basic room is small but it does have the basic ammenities that you would expect (ie. flat sceen TV, coffee, towels, etc..) There are also other rooms you can choose from that are larger but the small room @ RM125/night is good value.

The bed is pretty good, firm. The pillows are a bit too soft for my liking but in saying that I had a good night sleep with out any trouble so no issue there.

The location if you don't have your own transport is not the best, you are tucked away behind a dodgy looking shopping mall with no real resturants or tourist friendly locations. The hotel does have it's own resturant which is the basic Malaysian/Western cuisine. Nothering special but edible, the downside is that they have the smae menu for breakfast/lunch/dinner so there is little variety (Note: for breakfast there is a little Chinese coffee shop about 100 in front of the hotel, go there for some local coffee and kaya toast)

Overall, I'd have no issue staying there again.

The drawbacks I found were, 1. Idle banter between the staff in the reception, I understand this is Asia and it happens but it's pretty unprofessional to have to bloke gossiping with another peson on the intercom. 2. While new, the quality of the renovation is actually pretty poor, again not unexpected. 3. I had to ask for a taxi and the one the front desk got me was a rip off with no meter, they should try to use a more professional taxi service for their guests.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith_KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for De Garden Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2010

Butterworth is essentially not a tourist destination, so the hotel options are really limited, apart from the expensive Sunway Hotel in Seberang Perai. So, if I am working around Bertam, Kepala Batas, Kulim, Bkt Mertajam area, there isn't really much option, until De' Garden Hotel comes along.

This hotel recently open sometime in Feb2010. It is located right behind the Butterworth Billion Departmental Store. In Google Map, you will find this hotel located on Lorong Cempaka instead of Lorong Cempa.

For a sales person like me, my needs for a night stay is really quite basic, and De' Garden Hotel has delighted my staying experience.

The standard room with balcony is brighly lit, with individually controlled air-cond, large LCD TV with 5 channels or so (think it was ESPN, Star Movies, AEC, NTV7 and etc.) The bed is really firm and great pillows. I particularly like the wooden flooring that really helps keep the room cleaner compare with carpets. There's safe in the room as well. Wifi didn't work when I was there, but I am sure they will fix that up soon.

The toilet design is really good: no bath tub, water leak proof (helps keep the flooring dry), and the shower is hot and strong.

There's ample parking, located conveniently with loads of food choices around. So, even though breakfast is included (not much choice, like Nasi lemak, American Breakfast choice), you want to eat outside those coffee shop nearby.

The cafe downstairs is managed by a professional caterer that does outside catering, so the food quality is good and pricing reasonable.

Overall, this Hotel is not easy to get to unless if you have a car (as with around Butterworth-Perai area anyways). I would still strongly recommend if you just want a good comfortable stay when you are around the area.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank danachow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Kensin56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Viperlucky_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer sind sicher alle ruhig keine Durchgangstrasse
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobistheBoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank Antonie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Alifuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Butterworth
0.3 mi away
Aroma Hotel
Aroma Hotel
#5 of 11 in Butterworth
55 reviews
0.4 mi away
T+ Hotel Butterworth
T+ Hotel Butterworth
#9 of 11 in Butterworth
20 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Palm Inn
Hotel Palm Inn
#3 of 11 in Butterworth
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya
4.9 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#13 of 85 in George Town
463 reviews
2.3 mi away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#17 of 85 in George Town
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Garden Hotel

Address: Lorong Cempa | off Jalan Telaga Air, Butterworth 12200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Seberang Perai District > Butterworth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Butterworth
Price Range: £22 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — De Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a world of refined corporate luxury, De'Garden Hotel is a star rated hotel strategically located in the heartland area of Butterworth surrounded by lush greenery situated at Lorong Cempa off Jalan Telaga Air, Butterworth nearby to commercial center, Raja Uda famous local food stalls, Sunway Carnival Shopping Mall and tourist attractions such as Tow Boo Kong Temple, Penang Bird Park, St. Anne's Church and also River Cruise.It is 5-10 minutes driving distance from Mak Mandin Industrial Area and Butterworth Bus & Ferry Terminal.Getting to Georgetown is only 15 minutes ride by Ferry with scenic view of Penang and 45 minutes drive to airport via the scenic Penang Bridge.There are 123 units elegantly modern design well furnished rooms, inclusive of handicap accessible room, with complete amenities tailored to the needs of both business and leisure guests. Offering our hotel guests with superior services and a broad range of amenities, De' Garden Hotel Butterworth is committed to ensuring that your stay is as comfortable as possible. Top features of the hotel include family room, guarded and gated free ample parking, in room safe box, complimentary bottled water, coffee/tea making facilities, laundry service/dry cleaning, mini fridge, astro channels, free wifi, iron and hair dryer on request.Beside our facilities available are Garden Terrace Cafe, Room Service, business center, banquet and seminar rooms. In addition, we ensure parking is easy accessible as we provided gated and guarded free ample car park for the safety of our guest. The hotel's modern setting rooms are ideal places to relax and unwind after a busy day. Whatever your purpose of visit, De' Garden Hotel Butterworth is an excellent choice for your stay in Butterworth, Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing