We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, that's it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Bagan
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful, that's it.”
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Okay here's a short review as I only stayed 1 night here. And from other reviewers here, my heart goes to those that gotten zap when showering. (Thank Goodness I used the rainshower)

Pros:
15 mins from/to Bagan Airport
Beautiful/Scenic/Cute and artistic furniture.
Quiet place.
Room was huge, with balcony. (Ground floor rooms, at the balcony, you can open the wooden gate and go for swimming, not need to go through the main door)
Good for honeymooners I guess, since the bathroom door can slide open, revealing a bath tub.
Bed was comfy.
2 swimming pools, I used the one nearby to our Deluxe Triple Room.
Air-cond worked.
Swimming at night 10:30PM until midnight is okay. (If the swimming pool lights is still on)

Cons:
Too quiet. I think only 6 rooms being used.
Didn't notice any other travelers (September wasn't peak season, I suppose)
Our room was on 2nd Floor. Had to climb 20-25 steps?
A friendly staff helped us to carried our baggage on the day we arrived but not on the day we leave...Luckily I traveled light.
Breakfast, I don't even remember what we had, some breads, rice and bacons maybe, not much choice.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yukijunno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    328
    122
    48
    31
See reviews for
188
508
47
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Five of us booked two rooms. We'd read the previous review and were cautious testing the showers. Everything seemed fine, especially as I used the rainshower.

My friend, though, did not. She used the handheld shower. I heard her squeal from the bathroom. Apparently her arm brushed the shower hose and she felt her tingle.

The next time she showered, I heard her squeal again. The shower handle was live too.

My friend in the other room was not spared either and got zapped.

The property might be beautiful and the service impeccable, but who wants to take showers and not know when they're going to get zapped?

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank MIng C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

One can first argue about the location of the hotel so close to the sites and about the connections of the owner but our choice was eventually to stay there as we were traveling with our young daughter.
Our stay at the Aureum turn into a complete nightmare; at the end of the first afternoon, we heard our daughter screaming from under the shower. I run to the bathroom and found her stuck to the shower water tap, clearly being electrocuted. I jumped on her to try to free her (no time to find the main power switch, could not through a towel at her as it was all wet plus a good dose of protection/survival instinct) but found myself in the same situation. My wife soon tried to rescue us but was also electrocuted and could not move. It lasted only a few seconds but I still don't know as of today how we managed to get out of the shower (I vaguely remember trying to push sideways with one of my legs).
Following this event, our daughter was obviously in absolute shock commenting that she saw herself dying and did not want to go to bed any more because she would not wake up and would most probably die overnight (not to mention that she would not shower or swim in the pool).
The manager subsequently tried to explain that the problem was most probably coming from the water heater but that the voltage was only 15 Volts (!!!!!!). Aureum management did not report the problem to our travel agency neither.
I insisted on getting feedback on the problem and follow up from Aureum. The following day, I was shown the heating coil from our room with a corroded and broken temperature probe through which the water passed and short circuited the 2 live wires on the back of the coil. We were electrocuted (with 220 Volts) as the electricity breakers did not work or did not exist and the heater was badly or not grounded. Management confirmed that all the rooms where check the same day (which I don't believe a second now).
In a nutshell, the hotel looks great (and the service quite good) but basic safety features are not properly installed or inexistent. This type of incident should never happened in any hotel and most particularly in this supposedly top-of-the-range category where you pay extra money to have some guaranty of quality.

I am reporting this incident that could have been catastrophic but am facing some problems:
- one can never check a heater before taking a shower so not much to be done after such a story (& one would not expect to be cautious in such a place. Lesson learned)
- should I have reported this problem on Tripadvisor as, once again, if less tourists go to this place, these are the poor local guys (waiters, cleaners, cooks etc.) who would be penalized and not the owner, who I believe, at the head of a massive consortium, could not care less about this (non)issue for him.
Still, Burma is amazing; people are friendly, the culture is impressive and sceneries are amazing. Opening will come from within.
Happy traveling.

Room Tip: If you survive the 220V trauma, you will be upgraded to Palm Tree villa with private pool& you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
143 Thank world18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

we booked for our family (2 ad + 3 children) a Palm Tree Villa with own pool, very nice place to stay, after a great day between the Bagan area, we had a perfect relax at the villa, it was a pitty we only stayed for 2 nights.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kers-Arana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marin County, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

It's not just that the room we were given had a bathroom that smelled like sewage--a bathroom open to the sleeping area. It's that we had to ask *three times* for another room before they accommodated us, and this in a hotel that was nearly empty. At first they cleaned the bathroom instead of moving us. This helped a little, but not much. When we asked again, they gave us an inferior room with the wrong kind of bed in the same building (which also had a faint smell of sewage, leading us to believe something was seriously wrong in the construction of the plumbing system of that entire building). After we insisted a third time to be moved to another room, they gave us a room with fine plumbing that did not smell of sewage--just across from the generator, which was loudly audible every time the electric service went out.

In a nearly empty hotel, you'd hope for better.

Electric outages are endemic in the region and not the fault of the hotel. But the hotel does not have its air-conditioning system hooked up to its generator system. So every time the electricity went out (often, on a hot July afternoon) so did the AC. And when the electricity came back on again, the AC did not.

I would have given the hotel only one star ("terrible") but for the unfailing friendliness (albeit a bit incompetent) of the staff.

But that's just the personal part of the story.

The environmental part of the story is that the hotel owners have built a so-called "viewing tower" on the site, a structure of phallic design and overstated proportions that overshadows the gorgeous historic site of Bagan for miles around. That such an atrocity could have been approved and built boggles the mind. Bagan might never be the World Heritage site it should be because of this alone.

That we actually inadvertently supported this outrage by staying here still makes me feel awful. Please, don't you do it, too. Stay anywhere else other than here.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank gskenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

The pluses- Location and setting. Right in the middle of the site- the pool overlooks some lovely ruins. Service was friendly. rooms were very sizeable, with all the luxuries you would expect. Breakfast was good too- very comprehensive. Site is so big it never felt crowded. The negatives- ownership is somewhat controversial, but its hard to escape contributing to the establishment when you are visiting Myanmar. Gym was a bit run-down. Neutral on- the tower. On the one hand it really is something to see sunsets and sunrises from it- the light bouncing off the ruins is unbelievably beautiful. You don't really need to go up in a balloon if you have the tower. On the other hand- it really is ugly, can be seen for miles around, and well- spoils the aesthetic.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank scalpel73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sils im Engadin, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

This Hotel is just plain great. The setting is beautiful, the staff really friendly and welcoming (given the size of the hotel - we found the service incredibly friendly!!), the food and the pool just great!
There is only one drawback and that is the location i.e. the Hotel is far away from any town (Bagan-Old/new, Naung U) therefor your are "chained" to the Hotel Services, which are overpriced. But never the less the advantages outweigh this disadvantage by far! The place to go in Bagan :-)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spacealien008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bagan hotels
2.4 mi away
The Hotel at Tharabar Gate
3.1 mi away
Bagan Lodge
Bagan Lodge
#3 of 47 in Bagan
620 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amazing Bagan Resort
Amazing Bagan Resort
#6 of 47 in Bagan
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Thande Hotel Bagan
Thande Hotel Bagan
#10 of 47 in Bagan
1,196 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort
2.6 mi away
Aye Yar River View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan

Property: Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan
Address: Near Bagan Viewing Tower, Min Nanthu Village Nyaung Oo, Mandalay Division, Bagan, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bagan
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bagan
#4 Spa Hotel in Bagan
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bagan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort, a tranquil paradise in Bagan. This incomparable resort and spa set amid 27 acres of tropical landscaped garden offers the ultimate in luxury for guests seeking a superlative vacation experience. Museum quality antiques and artifacts adorn each villa, complementing the majestic ambiance of the resort. Strolling around the lake, enjoying the breeze come over the water of lovely oasis in the heart of dry-zone Bagan will be your unique pleasure. Bedrooms are spacious and elegant: bathrooms are large and lavishly equipped with five-star amenities. Outdoor highlights include private terraces for al-fresco dining and relaxation, while many villas also offer Jacuzzis or plunge pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Hotels.com, JovagoAsia and Cancelon so you can book your Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aureum Palace Hotel Bagan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing