We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pity about the service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Bagan
Certificate of Excellence
bangkok
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“What a pity about the service!”
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Without doubt a beautiful hotel, Aureum is set in the midst of the remarkable Bagan pagoda expanse and holds both charm and splendor in its structure. Its rooms, though dark, are spacious and nicely appointed. It is also conveniently located near the airport.
However, service is the area where praise falls short; a distinct lack of greetings, aid and attentiveness is perceptible in Aureum. The receptionists especially are curt and sulky. On arrival, we were treated very rudely indeed by the lady working at the front desk. We were, moreover, kept waiting over an hour for rooms which should have been ready far before, and weren’t informed of the facilities provided by the hotel.
Overall the food was adequate. Breakfast was of good quality but restaurant meals only average. My daughter, in fact, got sick from a soup eaten at dinner which she fortunately only consumed half of due to the abominable taste.
Thanks to its astonishing location, architecture, gardens and view this hotel truly does has the potential to reach perfection. Its service, however, has to be greatly worked on and adjusted accordingly.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank romaita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    323
    117
    48
    30
See reviews for
180
498
45
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We stayed here 2 nights for our visit to Bagan and as mentioned by others, you could hardly be closer to the attractions with ruins about 100 yards from the hotel. The hotel common areas are beautiful with loads of teak and large split level rooms. The restaurant was also a delight in both setting and food.

As seems standard with hotels in Burma the service is wonderful if not as polished as more developed Far East destinations. Everyone was friendly and helpful.

The tower in the garden is a huge monstrosity but does provide a great view of the sunset and, mercifully, cannot be seen from most of the hotel.

Room Tip: We had hoped to have a Villa but these were fully booked and had to settle for one of the newer room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quakered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Stayed at Aureum Palace for 3 nights on a recent trip to Myanmar.
The hotel is 5* in every way. The location amongst the pagodas and stupas of Bagan is stunning. The staff service was excellent the food of the standard that you would expect from a five star hotel.
The swimming pool is exceptional and a welcome relief after daily trips around the Bagan area.
The viewing tower is also worth a visit at sunset. It is free to hotel guests.
Once again our guide told us that it is the best hotel in Bagan. This I can believe.
Thoroughly recommended and if I ever visit Bagan again it will be the Aureum Palace again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thaibart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelham, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

I had a great experience at this hotel. Staff are very friendly and they speak English very well. The infinity pool has a view of temples and there is a show about traditional dance. The breakfast buffet is extensive, including eggs prepared as you like and pancakes. The rooms are large and beautiful -- especially the Jasmine villas. They have a very nice decor with a jacuzzi and view of the lake and pagodas. The only drawback is that it's location is far from the majority of the pagodas. They do have a nice viewing tower with a great panoramic view.

Room Tip: I really liked the Jasmine room. I was offered an upgrade to the Lotus room? which was 2 stories a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sixweeksoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watford
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

just spent 3 nights at the Aureum, absolutely fantastic. Could not find fault with any thing. Staff friendly charming and really helpful.Rooms spacious and spotless , food excellent.Some people have critisised the viewing tower and yes it look somewhat out of place but the view from there at sun set makes up for it !! excellent hotel and would reccommend this one to every one who visits Bagan

Room Tip: if you can afford it go for a suite but the rooms are top class
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flannersWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
93 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We (wife and self) stayed at this hotekl for two nigjhts in early November. Set in an atmosphere of the Bagan ruins, this hotel is ideally located in Bagan. It is very near the airport. The views of the ruins are simply breath taking from the obesrvation tower. The sunset is marvelous.
The rooms are excellent and very clean. The ambience is simply wonderful. The lake view chalet we stayed was beathtaking. The service was excellent.
This hotel had a good buffet breakfast by Myanmar standards.

Room Tip: Don"t miss the view from the tower. Dinner at the tower to view the sunset is also recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rajendran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Thanks to the exceptional service of our lovely travel agent in Mandalay, we were able to secure a Deluxe room at a great rate at this palatial resort near the airport in Bagan, Myanmar. The tree lined drive leading to the hotel opened up to a circular driveway where one walks up the hotel entrance with carp filled ponds on both side of the walkway leading to an expansive vaulted open air lobby. Walking onward from the lobby is the real gem of the hotel, the infinity pool. Beyond the pool are some of the ancient temples which are the wonder of Bagan. Another lovely pool sits in between the deluxe room annex. The real gems are the villas, but the deluxe rooms are also very well appointed and very large. Beautifully furnished, split level design, with balconies looking out onto the pool. The restaurant was open air also and vaulted pavilion style where the breakfast buffet was served. Lovely grounds, beautiful local classic architecture, perfectly situated amongst the ancient ruins. Some problems exist, however, such as the soundproofing of the rooms. We could clearly hear the couple next door to us, and with the hotel at minimum occupancy, I could not understand why they would put guests in proximity. Another issue was the mold in the shower and the smell of the drainpipes in the bathrooms, but that is to be expected in climates like these in such a rural setting.

Room Tip: Get a villa is possilbe, located close to the "lake" and no noise issues as in the Deluxe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank herenthere61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bagan hotels
3.1 mi away
Bagan Lodge
Bagan Lodge
#3 of 46 in Bagan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
3.1 mi away
Thande Hotel Bagan
Thande Hotel Bagan
#8 of 46 in Bagan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Hotel at Tharabar Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort
0.4 mi away
Amazing Bagan Resort
Amazing Bagan Resort
#7 of 46 in Bagan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
2.6 mi away
Aye Yar River View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan

Property: Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan
Address: Near Bagan Viewing Tower, Min Nanthu Village Nyaung Oo, Mandalay Division, Bagan, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bagan
#3 Spa Hotel in Bagan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bagan
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bagan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort, a tranquil paradise in Bagan. This incomparable resort and spa set amid 27 acres of tropical landscaped garden offers the ultimate in luxury for guests seeking a superlative vacation experience. Museum quality antiques and artifacts adorn each villa, complementing the majestic ambiance of the resort. Strolling around the lake, enjoying the breeze come over the water of lovely oasis in the heart of dry-zone Bagan will be your unique pleasure. Bedrooms are spacious and elegant: bathrooms are large and lavishly equipped with five-star amenities. Outdoor highlights include private terraces for al-fresco dining and relaxation, while many villas also offer Jacuzzis or plunge pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Southall Travel, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aureum Palace Hotel Bagan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing