We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnifique”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Bagan
Certificate of Excellence
la rochelle
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Magnifique”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

our stay was perfect in this hotel. The lotus villas we had were perfect, clean. The room service is very good. the restaurant has a good level but we prefered the lunch or diners in old bagan. Thegarden is really nice with perfect views on temples and stupas. its only cons is that it belongs to Htoo.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voyageursLaRochelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    328
    119
    48
    30
See reviews for
185
503
47
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Everything about this hotel has been said. It is beautiful (unparalleled in Bagan), service oriented, expensive, not very soundproof (if you are in the hotel section) with some sewage smell and a fair number of mosquitoes. The breakfast (included) was very good but we avoided the restaurant for other meals and drinks since it was so expensive. And because the hotel is in a somewhat isolated location that meant always taking taxis into town. We too noted the garbage which was pretty shocking and the ownership is suspect. We booked our room directly with the hotel from Canada which involved sending a money transfer to a business in Singapore. I was instructed not to mention either the name of the hotel or the country. So if you want to stay in the most glamorous hotel in Bagan this is it but you may have to hold your nose.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mainjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

This resort is located near the historical site of Bagan. The room is decorated with modern traditional Burmese art, and is quite an amazing interior design. No comments on the rooms here, all is good. The swimming pool is a relaxing method comfort as I drove all day with a rented bicycle that I rented from the hotel to see all the tempels. There is a high tower near the hotel you can climb for a small fee to have a great lookout over the Bagan Temples. Food was great and high class kitchen served incredible dishes from Myanmar, a good way to learn the local cuisine.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AsianTravelGuru11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Aureum Palace, Bagan, Mynmar
Situated not far from the airport just where the temples begin, a fantastic position. Made up of rooms an villas. We had a standard room, which was big, floor, doors and furniture in teak. Really beatiful. The hotel has two big pools, one with the view of the termpel landscape. Staff very friendly an helpful. Room cleaning of very low quality. Quality of restaurant decent but very expensive. A local standard dish is 15$ and a steak 40$. A local bottle of wine, made in Myanmar, 30$. On top of that, they don't take credit cards !
Free wifi internet in reception area. Big plus.
A very nice hotel, beatifully decorated. To be recomended if you have the budget. Maybe it would be advised to take half board.

Room Tip: There are independent villas and normal rooms The normal room are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PsonMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed at the Aureum Palace in Bagan over Chinese New Year period and this was a truly enjoyable experience. One of the top hotels in Bagan, the rooms are quite large and nicely decorated, with wood decoration and true Burmese atmosphere and surroundings. A good 4-star hotel level (Asian standards), the hotel is really pleasant, with two swimming pools, one of which features an amazing views on old Bagan pagodas. Staff is very friendly and does its best to accommodate private requests. We were 6 adults and 4 kids on the trip, and we really enjoyed the property and its features!

Room Tip: All rooms seem pretty nice. Ask for connecting rooms if you travel with family and kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ming_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yavne, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
407 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

The most impressive hotel we have been to in two weeks in Myanmar!
Located on a vast area, with lots of separate vullas as well as two main buildings.
Two pools, manicured lawns, very well equipped rooms.
A 13 floor high watch tower enables you to enjoy breathtaking sunsets and sunrises.
The tower also includes two restaurants with impeccable service.
Breakfast was OK, not more than that.
Service could be improved: after a day they took away from the room the electric kettle and we could not get another one: they were always sending a thermos with hot water but no kettle.
The wifi is very weak and slow, their wired internet is not much better and the charge is improportionate.
Location is excellent for sunset viewing, but there is no way to get out , inly with specially ordered taxis.

Room Tip: Don't miss the restaurant in the lookout tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

This is a gorgeous resort, impecably designed and professionally run, with an attentive, welcoming staff. Our villa was stunning. Unfortunately, modifications must have been made by someone other than the original architect, which you notice only after dark: the tacky blue LED lighting on the rooftops and the general overuse of lighting in the outdoor areas. Dinner at the poolside was also marred by the truly horrible live music we had to endure, it being hard to eat anywhere else once you're this far out. We learned after our trip was over that there are strong political reasons to avoid the Aureum chain, which are discussed in the Lonely Planet and by other reviewers on this page..something to think about before you book.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bagan hotels
3.1 mi away
Bagan Lodge
Bagan Lodge
#3 of 46 in Bagan
609 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Hotel at Tharabar Gate
3.1 mi away
Thande Hotel Bagan
Thande Hotel Bagan
#10 of 46 in Bagan
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Amazing Bagan Resort
Amazing Bagan Resort
#7 of 46 in Bagan
752 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort
2.6 mi away
Aye Yar River View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan

Property: Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan
Address: Near Bagan Viewing Tower, Min Nanthu Village Nyaung Oo, Mandalay Division, Bagan, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bagan
#3 Spa Hotel in Bagan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bagan
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bagan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort, a tranquil paradise in Bagan. This incomparable resort and spa set amid 27 acres of tropical landscaped garden offers the ultimate in luxury for guests seeking a superlative vacation experience. Museum quality antiques and artifacts adorn each villa, complementing the majestic ambiance of the resort. Strolling around the lake, enjoying the breeze come over the water of lovely oasis in the heart of dry-zone Bagan will be your unique pleasure. Bedrooms are spacious and elegant: bathrooms are large and lavishly equipped with five-star amenities. Outdoor highlights include private terraces for al-fresco dining and relaxation, while many villas also offer Jacuzzis or plunge pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Evoline ltd, JovagoAsia, Booking.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aureum Palace Hotel Bagan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing