We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Bagan
Certificate of Excellence
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
374 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Incredible hotel”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Amazing hotel over an incredible setting. The ifinity pool was one of the most impressive I have ever seen. The individual cottages are huge. Staff very friendly and helpful. Only drawback there was no buzz here due to the limited number of guests there off season. The food was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winstonthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    323
    117
    48
    30
See reviews for
180
498
45
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights while visiting Bagan. It was July, during the low season. The property was pretty much empty, with occupancy of just a little over 10%. We felt that this was almost a private stay. We had two villas with lake view.

The rooms were excellent. The A/C worked well. The room was spacious and well kept. There was a separate bathroom area with large shower and separate jacuzzi under skylight windows. There was a porch overlooking the small lake, and several ancient monument. In all, rooms were perfect. The only downside was the relatively slow wi-fi. Even though each room had a separate router, the traffic was very slow.

The surroundings of the property were also good. The location is a little out of the way so you are pretty much on the property while resting from sightseeing. This worked well for us as we had a private guide that took us everywhere. Also, do NOT miss out the view from the tower.

The grounds are well kept, and the pool is gorgeous. The spa was good. We had a great Myanmar massage focusing on our aching legs. The restaurant offered a generous breakfast buffet on our first day. On the second day they did not offer a buffet because of the small number of guests. Instead we ordered a-la-carte. It was good, nevertheless. Dinners were good but relatively expensive. The Thai curries were excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Prozach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

While in Bagan we stayed in a Palm Tree Villa at the Aureum Palace Hotel which was unbelievable. Everyone from the front desk, housekeeping, servers and spa really made us feel welcome. Bagan is truly an amazing place and must see.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Johnny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Traveling with the family we just stayed at the Aureum in Bagan. First off, Bagan is a truly magical place that you must see at least once in your life. It is unlike anywhere we have ever been to. There are countless pagodas, of all sizes, from very large to phone cabin-size, dotting this beautiful valley. All are accessible, most are completely alone and it gives you the chance to just walk around and contemplate the commitment and faith it has taken to build this over a period of about a thousand years. Truly extraordinary. Back to the hotel. June is the low season, because of the frequency and intensity of the rains, unfortunately it is also when the kids are on school vacation, so no choice but to brave the weather. The Aureum Palace has to be one of the most gorgeous resort properties in the world. The setting, right in the middle of the archaeological area and far from the beaten path make it ideal for honeymooners or those just wanting to relax and still get a taste for the Pagodas and temples, since they are right outside your room. The villas we got (low season discount!), were very big, absolutely flawless and beautiful, with a deck overlooking a lotus flower pond with a number of lovely Pagodas on the other side. Sunrise and sunset sitting on the deck were clear highlights of the trip. Where we found the Aureum lacking was in the service. During our 3-day stay we spent probably 10 hours in the pool and at no point dd anyone come and offer towels, umbrellas or drinks. It seems like for the low season they barely have a skeleton staff and just focus on the key stuff. My wife went down to the fitness center and she said it looked and smelled like no one had been in there for months.

Getting out of the resort is also a huge challenge. The privileged location also makes it far from restaurants and many of the more interesting Pagodas. In most very high end resorts, this problem would be easily solved by having some type of shuttle service since it is just about 10 minutes into town by car. No such luck. We could either rent their electric 'scooters' (glorified powered bikes) or pay a US$15 fixed fee for a taxi. Just to put this in context, a really good meal at most places in Myanmar will cost US$7 per person, so you are paying double that just for the transport. The hotel does have a restaurant, but given their outrageous prices (US$20-30 for a single entree) and the super low occupancy, we did not want to chance a bad expensive meal, so for the daytime we rented the bikes and nighttime we relented with the taxi service. The bikes were a highlight of the trip for the kids, but you spend a good 44-60 minutes to get into Old Bagan, since they go about 10 miles per hour max.

All-in-all, the Aureum is an absolutely gorgeous property with some of the nicest rooms we have ever seen in an extraordinary setting. The service, though, is lacking, and if you are in Bagan to do more than hang out in the hotel pool, they make it very challenging to get around.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Jazmin Villa,s rooms 202 and 203. They have the most incredible views overlooking a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gabriel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed at Aureum Palace for 3 nights while touring Bagan. It is a fabulous property! The very best part are the views - the hotel main areas, pool and a lot of rooms look right over the ruins!

We stayed in a Lotus Villa which is the two storey villa with main floor living area and kitchen, and upper level bedroom and spa like bathroom. It also had two beautiful balconies overlooking the Bagan ruins - a truly amazing site to wake up to every day! The room itself is decorated traditionally, but is beautiful. The room had all the amenities I needed - including mini fridge, tv, hair dryer, soaker tub, toiletries.

The service was wonderful, and yes there are some difficulties in language barrier, but all that is needed is for you to be patient while the staff tries to understand you, and sometimes if you try phrasing things in a different way it helps - do not lose your temper or get frustrated. They were wonderful in the dining room, by the pool, and the front desk really tried to help us sort out our Balloons Over Bagan re-scheduling issue.

Food I would say is average - I did experience better food in Myanmar at other hotels, and they could definitely improve in this area. As I vegetarian I did not have a problem with choices, but taste and quality could be improved. We did have food by the pool, in the dining room and in the room as well, which was lovely. We also ate at the viewing tower - and we were the only ones there - which was astounding given the view - and the food was the best we had at the hotel.

The viewing tower - I would say a must visit! The 360 view is mind blowing, and at sunset a truly memorable experience, and is free for hotel guests....bring binoculars if you have them.

The grounds of the hotel are amazing and have done a wonderful job at blending it to the surroundings. There seem to be two parts for the rooms and each has a pool, but if you can splurge on a villa, and sit by the main pool or lounge in the pool for the afternoon and cool down before resuming site seeing.

The ruins of Bagan itself are simply on another level - I feel in love with the architecture, truly you could spend days and days wondering around the temples - and it looked like great fun to rent bikes and ride them around the temples. At the time of year the weather was so warm though an air conditioned car was heaven - and we visited early morning, then took a swim/lunch break to the hotel, then back to the temples. Spend at least 3 days if you can and really enjoy it. A visit to the local market is also wonderful.

I would recommend this hotel to friends and family!

Room Tip: Splurge for a villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quinn78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

aurum palace is one of the best hotel In bagan, when I checked in and saw the hotel...i actually felt as if I was in one of the hotels in bali, they have done up the hotel beautifully. we were staying in the rooms facing the swimming pool. the rooms are very comfortable, though the 1st day we had some issues with the airconditioning...the housekeeping people got it rectified. the breakfast spread is very good. for dinners we ate the local myanmaar cuisine which the chef made it for us as we are vegetarians. we also used the spa.....excellent, the therapist knew her job pretty well.to get the best pictures of the pagodas near the hotel, u must use the tower building. overall the staff is very friendly and and the hotel is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vrindagoenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had an incredible villa at this property - I guess the price was right because we came in the lowest season (and hottest month)...absolutely gorgeous spot - as one walks into the enormous, open air "lobby" you see an infinity pool an d beyond that 12th century pagodas/temples dot the landscape. Great internet, SONY tv, nice bedding and handsome furniture...and the nicest people everywhere working at the hotel - from cleaning people to restaurant to repair folks...An excellent experience all around and again, the views are unforgettable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bagan hotels
3.1 mi away
Bagan Lodge
Bagan Lodge
#3 of 46 in Bagan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
3.1 mi away
Thande Hotel Bagan
Thande Hotel Bagan
#8 of 46 in Bagan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Hotel at Tharabar Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort
0.4 mi away
Amazing Bagan Resort
Amazing Bagan Resort
#7 of 46 in Bagan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
2.6 mi away
Aye Yar River View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan

Property: Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan
Address: Near Bagan Viewing Tower, Min Nanthu Village Nyaung Oo, Mandalay Division, Bagan, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bagan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bagan
#3 Spa Hotel in Bagan
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bagan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort, a tranquil paradise in Bagan. This incomparable resort and spa set amid 27 acres of tropical landscaped garden offers the ultimate in luxury for guests seeking a superlative vacation experience. Museum quality antiques and artifacts adorn each villa, complementing the majestic ambiance of the resort. Strolling around the lake, enjoying the breeze come over the water of lovely oasis in the heart of dry-zone Bagan will be your unique pleasure. Bedrooms are spacious and elegant: bathrooms are large and lavishly equipped with five-star amenities. Outdoor highlights include private terraces for al-fresco dining and relaxation, while many villas also offer Jacuzzis or plunge pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Southall Travel, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aureum Palace Hotel Bagan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing