We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort when you really want it”
Review of Kaday Aung Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kaday Aung Hotel
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in Bagan
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Bagan often is hot, dusty and tiring. You don't mind so much when you are visiting those temples, poking around the lacquer ware workshop, or jostling along on the horse cart. But at the end of the day you want to unwind and cool off. Kaday Aung is soooo nice to come home to. The pool is borderline frigid; it will drop your temperature fast. The rooms are spacious and quiet; if you need a nap to recover, you can do it. And the breakfast is delicious, especially their variety of savory noodle or rice soups with garlic, lemongrass, and onion; have a breakfast like that and you are ready to explore more.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road are quieter. Many buses and tour vans arriving a departing create noise ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2013

This hotel is in New Bagan. The rooms are big (we had twin beds, I don't know if they have double beds...) Aircon is quiet. The swimming pool was cold and dirty. Breakfast is OK : pancakes, eggs, toasts, fruits... You can walk to Sunset Garden Restaurant and Green Elephant Restaurant which are the 2 best restaurants in town.

Room Tip: Room 101 and 102 are goods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecile083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Can't imagine staying in Bagan at a hotel that doesn't have a pool. You spend the mornings visiting temples and then the hot afternoon laying around the pool.

There are limited hotels in Bagan and for the price this was a good value for what you got. Breakfast was included and changed daily.

We walked to the Green Elephant for dinner twice. Make certain to bring a flashlight with you if you'll be coming home in the dark since there are no street lights it is a dark 6 blocks on the local road.

Take a 7 minute walk to the lacquer factory which had the better quality pieces though more expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GHamp23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Kaday is the first hotel in New Bagan (coming from Old Bagan). We had a room right next to the pool. It was simple, spacious, but also dark and with a bad bathroom smell (sewer). But since we planned to be out all day, we solved the problem by closing the door to the bathroom and starting the ventilator well before taking a shower. (mold and bad smell is something you better get used to when traveling Myanmar on a budget) The pool is a real (though very fresh) treat after a long day visiting Bagan.
On arrival we ordered rice and chicken but sent it back because the chicken was still raw inside. On our last day we had dinner at the hotel restaurant (vegetable soup) and had stomach problems the next day.
On our first night we went to the Italianrestaurant San Carlo (leaving the hotel, go left for a few blocks) and had a nice carbonara.
From the hotel to Old Bagan by bike takes about 15 minutes, but there is already a lot to see on the way. We found it easy to even bike to Nyaung U. Tip: leave early (breakfast starts at 6am). You are almost alone visiting the pagoda's and temples until 11, temperature is nice. Have lunch at Star Beam in Old Bagan and bike back to the hotel for a swim and a read at the pool. Bike back around 4.30pm to Shwesandaw or some other place to see the sunset.

Room Tip: ask a room close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelman-Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Stayed at the Kaday Aung Hotel for three nights in January 2013. We really enjoyed our stay, the grounds, swimming pool, and outdoor restaurant are very impressive. The superior rooms are good but not exceptional. Spacious rooms with mostly twin beds, but the bathroom did leave a bit to be desired but it was on a par with other hotels we stayed at of a similar rating - but hey for the price it was great. We would definitely stay there again. Beware of hiring the hotel's economy bikes they are almost guaranteed to let you down - pedals and chains fall off. Either invest in the top of the range mountain bike or rent elsewhere. Although cycling is the done thing here you will need a certain amount of fitness if you intend to do a day tour of the temples on one - the tracks between the temples are very sandy and rutted and it makes for hot and sweaty cycling, and there are miles and miles to cover if you choose. For those of you who like nightlife you should book a hotel in the back packers town of Nyuang U; New Bagan is a small new town which is a lot quieter, and Old Bagan is not a town at all - there are a group of high end hotels right amongst the temples but you would need a taxi to get anywhere. Getting between the three areas is relatively cheap though - £7 (7,000 kyatts) seems to be the minimum charge. We hired a car and a guide for the day, and it was worth it.

Room Tip: Definitely recommend the superior room which is a spacious bungalow. There are some pool side opti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnCorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Stayed at the Kaday Aung for 3 days on our wonderful tour of parts of Myanmar. This hotel has the potential to be an excellent boutique hotel. Sadly, it falls well short.
What's great?
* The pool with waterfall and sun beds all surrounded by flowers. It's hard to beat a refreshing swim after a hot day visiting the temples!
* The open air restaurant.
* Location is off the beaten track so peaceful and quiet.
* Staff at reception were cheerful and friendly.
* Proximity to stupas. Turn right as you leave the hotel and within 10 minutes on foot you are next to clusters of small and crumbling stupas. For me these are more atmospheric that the larger restored temples.
What's poor?
* Rooms are dark, could do with better lighting and a makeover.
* Bathrooms could be modernised, however water was always hot.
* Breakfast looked good but food which should be hot was warm or cold.
* Staff at buffet breakfast were surly.
* Had one evening meal there. Service was a disaster! Several waiters were involved yet orders were mixed up. Some people waited over an hour for their dish to arrive. Inexcusable as the restaurant was not busy. Sorting out the payment took far too long. When it did arrive the food was good but expensive. Management should reduce the waiters and increase the kitchen staff.
* Location is out of the way so a 15 minute walk to the main restaurant area along dark uneven lanes is required. Turn left as you leave the hotel grounds.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peartree69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013 via mobile

Lovely quaint resort with a very nice pool close to old Bagan. All of Bagan is a very small area of 7 sq miles so do not worry about the location. In fact there is more to see outside of the old area and did not see any advantage to staying there. We checked out the hotels on the river and did not feel we were missing anything. We Highly recommend this hotel and felt it a bargain for approximately $45 a night ( we did not book it ourselves so have no idea of the final price). Outdoor patio Buffet Breakfast with enough choices to satisfy even vegan or vegetarian eaters. If you bike 2 miles to old Bagan, rent your bike early in the day as the good ones go fast. Yes, they are $.50 more than down the road. The internet is free if you have your own device, otherwise it is $1.00 for 30 min. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whenyouwishuponastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bagan hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon Bagan
Hotel Yadanarbon Bagan
#18 of 47 in Bagan
316 reviews
6.4 mi away
WEStay @ Bagan Lotus Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ruby True Hotel
Ruby True Hotel
#12 of 47 in Bagan
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Yun Myo Thu Hotel
Yun Myo Thu Hotel
#27 of 47 in Bagan
105 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Floral Breeze Hotel Bagan
0.1 mi away
Thurizza Hotel Bagan
Thurizza Hotel Bagan
#16 of 47 in Bagan
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaday Aung Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaday Aung Hotel

Address: Hninn Pann St. Hteeminyin Block | Kyansitta Quarter, Bagan 11181, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in Bagan
Price Range: £24 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaday Aung Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on an acre of landscaped gardens, Kaday Aung Hotel is ideally located within walking distance of most of the famous temples and attractions of the ancient city Bagan. Kaday Aung Hotel offers superior level, warm hospitality service with convenience and flavor at attractive prices. Our properties are rooted in indigenous cultures and reflect and protect their environments. Indulge your artistic senses in elegantly appointed rooms and suites designed to reflect Myanmar's culturally rich heritage. All rooms, spacious and meticulously furnished with teakwood, fine fabrics and traditional handicrafts, come equipped with modern amenities for your comfort. Kaday Aung Hotel is situated at the Kyansittha Quarter of Bagan which is just 3 minutes walking from the Myingabar village and about 20 minutes drive form Bagan Airport. Opportunities for sightseeing and shopping abound as hotel guests can take in some of Bagan's famous attractions or bring home local handicrafts available at handicraft centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kaday Aung Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing