We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good priced rooms in other building”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bagan Princess Hotel
Ranked #46 of 55 Bagan B&B and Inns
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Good priced rooms in other building”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Good Standard rooms with a/c, ensuite, fridge, kettle etc. These are the cheaper rooms in a separate building just down the side street for c$30 per night. The staff have limited English, but do try to help. Wifi/Internet is slow and unreliable as per elsewhere in Myanmar.
If the hotel is quiet, there is no buffet breakfast, but you get eggs/toast/pastry/juice/tea to order. The pool was very green and dirty when we were there so didn't risk using it which was a shame.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank expressive-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    40
    45
    20
    33
See reviews for
25
59
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Lots of people have given this place a bad review, but having just come from Yangon in a grimy little room, my standard room felt like a palace. It was in the building away from the main one (3 minutes walk away) and was bright, bit and clean. There's so much to see in the area that I planned on spending little time here anyway.

The wi-fi in the reception area is pretty good, and I found the staff helpful and friendly, if a little slow to spring into action at times. They got me a hire bike for a good price. The breakfast was substantial, and yes, the room is quite dark, but I can honestly say that this didn't bother me at all.

The hotel is well located on the road between Nyaung U and Old Bagan. I found it extremely convenient. You will need a flashlight at night if you are travelling between the villages in the dark.

Room Tip: Get one of the pool rooms which look directly onto it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phang Nga, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This bagan princess looks nice, but there is a lot to tell:
-we booked rooms with 52% discount. It is not. (Agoda should check)(Agoda should answer emails too by the way)
-room was 'clean', breakfast was ok, coffee was good. Only breakfasttime, further it is a dark-closed reataurant.
-reception, halls, toilet in restaurant were not clean.
-staff.... not customer friendly to say the least.
-swimmingpool looks nice, you can swim, but it is not clean. Pigeons,birds drink water from the pool....
-I booked 'cheap' (most hotels are NOT cheap in Myanmar) i understand that I will not get the nicest room, but I don't want to be cheated: other building 70-100 m away, 52% discount on what price?what rooom? If they had been honest on agoda, it would get a better response of me.

The best thing we did is 'get over it, enjoy your holiday' and that worked.
Room 608: big, everything worked, can open window in daytime (wooden).second floor
Not to much noise in that room. But a restaurants kitchen with a lot of noise is near some of the rooms. Best thing: AVOID cheapest room, look first if it is ok for you.

Room Tip: Avoid Agoda's cheapest. Look first if you want the cheaper rooms. Second floor in that other bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bagan hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

I can't understand the good reviews here and agree with the bad (I understand the room quality is less for standard but my main complaints are hotel generally). Booked this over another cheaper place that had a better rating because of the pool and breakfast. Big mistake.
1. Book through Agoda and the room you get is nothing to do with the hotel. It is a 2 min walk away in another building which has no resemblance to the hotel grounds.
2. Breakfast was truly terrible both days. Everything was cold fruit was old bread was stale. I can't understand how it was so bad.
3. Swimming pool was green and filthy the whole time. I complained near on 10 times including the manager and was lied to telling me it would be fixed later.really didn't seem to care. It looked as if the pool had been like this for weeks.
4. The employees were generally helpful but the manager was in apologetic and defensive. Hospitality overall was appalling.
5. Pigeons - there is bird crud all over pool area and benches.
6. There is no where to sit around the pool (if you decide to swim in green water)
In Myanmar the best places we stayed without fail were guest houses. Please look elsewhere in Bagan.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Timmy2s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This place is a little pricey for the superior room. But dont even think about one of their standard room... they are worlds apart. If you can't afford the superior room, no need to stay here, Standard rooms are in a far distant building with not even a touch of class, next to a building playing disturbing muzak. Staff are living in pathetic rooms in near proximity.

But the superior rooms, are very nice, very large, have a big bathtub in addition to a shower, pleasant decoration, next to the pool. A few interesting TV stations. Good breakfast. Staff are fairly helpful (when you can understand what they are saying, and vice versa). Laundry is expensive. Cleaning staff were a little weak about replenishing supplies.

Best advice: try to get a superior room away from the front window as the traffic noise is significant. There are plenty of rooms inside so this should be possible.

Hot water takes a long time to load up, internet is pretty slow. Seems par for the course in Burma. They could have improved on cleaning up the shared area near the pool.

Room Tip: dont stay in the standard rooms. Get a superior room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hello_Dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stayed there recently with some photographer friends for 3 nights. Soon after checking in, we noticed tonnes of dust at the reception. If one carefully observe on the chairs and tables there, they are soaked with tonnes of dust. At the first glance, my friends were happy with the condition of the deluxe rooms but later notice there was no hot water available. I stayed at the superior room ( got downstairs room) which was totally separate one from the hotel and didn't get hot water through out my stayed there. One can hear all the footsteps and noise from upstairs. Breakfast was stone cold all the time. There was a bird nest in my friend room and pigeons were running here and there inside his room. When we talked about that to the manager, he refused that there is no bird nest inside the room. Some of the staffs there are very friendly and helpful. We have one dinner there and it was really good one. Hot shower problem was never solved although we complained many times at the reception. Internet is available only at the lobby. I will never come back to this hotel. This hotel is very close to many major sightseeing place in Bagan.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khunmyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roudnice nad Labem, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2014

1. Booked standard room - its located outside hotel in a completely different building. Unacceptable room quality - dark rooms with wooden windows, wet, dirty bathroom (for 110usd/night cmon). The room was more like a basement. We complained and were upgraded to superior, which was the only positive thing I can say about this hotel. Anyway, it is cheating of the guests. I think nobody would book the room if there were more pics on the internet.
2. Superior room was better, but AC not working, toilette flushing not working (repaired after I complained), room too dark and wet with only limited option to ventilate air.
3. The staff had no uniforms or tags, so you never know who do you talk to and what is his job in the hotel. Very poor knowledge of English. Only the guys cleaning our room were quite friendly and smiling, the rest was totally unfriendly.
4. Poor maintenance of the room. The staff sweep fallen leaves in front of the hotel, but there was water leaking from pipes in the bathroom.
5. We had a cockroach in the bathroom, we killed it and keep the lights turned on during nights in the bathroom. Our booking was prepaid and after complaining standard room I doubted that they will refund me more than 300 usd in cash.
6. Overpriced. Worst value/quality ratio I have ever seen. I asked them to get me a taxi in the morning to drive me to the bus station (1.5 km). It cost me 7 USD! It is expensive even according to European standards. When I told this to the receptionist, he only laugh to me.

Overall, it is apparent that the hotel poorly managed by some greedy manager. They only benefit from the fact the hotel is mentioned in Lonely planet. I would never stay there again.

Room Tip: Dont stay there, there are many batter hotels in Bagan with this hotel rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matej K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bagan hotels
0.8 mi away
Zfreeti Hotel
Zfreeti Hotel
#2 of 6 in Nyaung U
652 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hotel Bagan Umbra
The Hotel Bagan Umbra
#13 of 46 in Bagan
487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Six Star Guest House
Six Star Guest House
#14 of 55 in Bagan
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
New Wave Guest House II
#44 of 55 in Bagan
5 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Wave Guesthouse
New Wave Guesthouse
#2 of 13 in Nyaung U
97 reviews
0.3 mi away
Large Golden Pot
Large Golden Pot
#8 of 13 in Nyaung U
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagan Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagan Princess Hotel

Property: Bagan Princess Hotel
Address: Wet Kyee Inn Village | Nyaung U Township, Bagan, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bagan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bagan Princess Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful boutique hotel located in Bagan with minutes away from famous sites, temples and pagodas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bagan Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing