We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Star Beam

Star Beam
Ranked #14 of 153 Restaurants in Bagan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Asian, Burmese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: {One in new Bagan }and {One in Old Bagan}.Home-cooked, clean, traditional Myanmar food and French bistro fare prepared by local classically-Chef. Lunch and Dinner Highlights include:- Fresh-baked French baguettes & sandwiches- Bagan & Rakhine traditional curries- Specialty salads including eggplant, avocado, & tea leaf- Creamy pumpkin soup- Grilled Irrawaddy River fish- Roasted pork loin
Oslo
Level Contributor
115 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Tried this as everyone said it was great. We were off tourist season so maybe that's why the menu was a bit "thin". Good food, but nothing to be blasted about.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank PetterGulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    484
    305
    93
    28
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“professional cook and service !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

we have dinner in a big group at new bagan branch . we did not make appointment, i guess they need time to prepared food for 10 person , so the food serve slow... around 45mins wait. be take noted that their menu serve is one meal portion for one person , it's hard to sharing food with others if you like to eat like chinese style. but,star beam serve the best food. we miss star beam all the time. chef is well trained. feel like having original french food.waiter professional service skills ( another one not fluent in english, he choose to stay far from our table) . although it was take time to ready food and just one waiter serve our table, but we still could strongly feel star beam do their best to delivery professional cook and service.

Helpful?
Thank hedyhee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“pleasant place to chill for dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

visited the one at Old Bagan as it was near the hotel in old bagan. food was averagely good. had the pumpkin soup and smoked river fish and it tasted quite good. the tea salad was so so. grilled fresh water fish was fresh and tasty but a bit salty. Chef's signature chicken was nice but a bit more curry would make it better. And the fresh mango juice was fresh and sweet even without sugar.

Overall, nice place and food but the price of food is not that cheap.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisC_al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Food is ordinary.
Nothing much to shout about.
We've had better myanmese food elsewhere.
Not worth our cab fare from the hotel.

Helpful?
Thank EileenaLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Inventive and charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Had a perfectly seared eggplant starter followed by a succulent baked butterfish with veggies, plus a refreshing ginger-lemon juice. Service was charming and attentive. While the menu is not expansive, the dishes are exquisite. It's a lovely place to kick back after a day of pagoda hopping -- just around the corner from the NLD headquarters in New Bagan (close to Blue Bird, Myanmar Treasure Resort and Ruby True.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank SDAKOTADAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Star Beam also viewed

Bagan, Mandalay Region
Bagan, Mandalay Region
 
Bagan, Mandalay Region
Bagan, Mandalay Region
 
Bagan, Mandalay Region
 

Been to Star Beam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing