We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Temples beyond number”
Review of Bagan Temples

Bagan Temples
Book In Advance
More Info
US$53.00*
and up
Private City Day Tour of Bagan
Ranked #1 of 103 things to do in Bagan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An area of 42 sq km houses thousands of richly decorated pagodas & temples.
Lake Elmo, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
746 reviews
333 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Temples beyond number”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Temples, pagodas, and stupas seem to stretch on and on forever. Realizing the effort and resources of this empire is mind bending.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank OneAddictedTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,084 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,489
    524
    55
    8
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sites to See!”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We found Bagan an almost magical place not yet overcrowded with tourists. Our guide was superb (Mr. Oo. Bagan (mroobagan@gmail.com) - he showed us the right palaces at the best times of day.

A definite must see!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bagan took my breath away!”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

All I can say is "WOW". This was the most amazing place I ever saw. Full of history, culture, amazing people, everyday something new to discover. It was the highlight of a 2 month SEA trip. Hurry up to see it before it gets overcrowded like Angkor Wat!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank GokGok82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“What else do you go to Bagan for?!”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The bagan temples are great, full of history and a real sight to behold as they are at every angle you looked. A couple in our group did the balloon ride at sunrise and said it was spectacular. We chose to ride bikes all day around the temples and had an excellent day. You really can't go to Myanmar without stopping by to see Bagan and it's thousands of temples.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sheridan2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Bagan temples, jewel of southeast Asia”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The architecture, history, art are fabulous. I don't like walking barefoot on rough surfaces and climbing barefoot.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dwain I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bagan Temples also viewed

Bagan, Mandalay Region
Bagan, Mandalay Region
 
Bagan, Mandalay Region
 

Been to Bagan Temples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing