We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”
Review of Bagan Temples

Bagan Temples
Book In Advance
More Info
US$58.00*
and up
Private City Day Tour of Bagan
Ranked #1 of 104 things to do in Bagan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An area of 42 sq km houses thousands of richly decorated pagodas & temples.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
640 reviews
446 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Something I will remember all my life, stunning 360* views of temples and pagado's, a magical landscape.
So amazing you can walk, ride, drive or cart to all these without any restriction.
Loved it all.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris101111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,993 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,406
    521
    52
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Magical place”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

A truly unique destination with Pagodas dotting the landscape wherever you turn. A must see for any traveler.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Calafate, Argentina
Level Contributor
115 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“great in off-season but still no match for Angkor Wat”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I was there in off-season and had most of the pagodas and temples for myself. Sitting all alone up on the top of one of this buildings made it a pretty great experience. I do not want to imagine how it is like in peak season with busloads of other tourists and beeing bugged by thousand more hawkers. Most likely my rating would go down to poor in that case. My advice: Come in June. Yeah, it's hot, but you can rent one of those e-bikes for 5$ to get around and save the sweat.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyShake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodside, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Templed out in history”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Temples abound in Bagan and we enjoyed visiting about 100 of them. One of our favourites was a Teak temple up in the mountains further from the tourist area. We had a driver named phyo waiwin phyonyu@gmail.com who was just wonderful and made sure that we saw all thiings that were important too us over our three days. A great stay. If looking for local accommodation also try Maw Maw email mamawbaganhouse@gmail.com. Maw Maw also has a local lacherware shop and uis heavily involved with working for the Pandaw Charity.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wehl, Netherlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Amazing Bagan”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Bagan with almost 2000 pagodas, temples, monasteries in an area of 40 square km is simply amazing. Most of these monuments are about 1000 years old (built in the period of years 1000AD to 1300AD). We visited the temples partly by rental bikes and partly (the farther ones) by taxi. Our favourite temples are Ananda Temple, Sulamani and Dhammayan Gyi, although other temples are also very impressive: That Byin Nyu, Gaw Daw Palin, Shwe San Daw etc. There are numerous small temples which are also quite nice (often nameless). Unfortunately, we were there in late May i.e. beginning of the rainy season, so sky was mostly overcast / cloudy and no nice sunrise / sunset and no possibility for a a hot balloon ride.
We also visited Salay and Mount Popa using a taxi (USD 65 for 8 hours). Quite a nice trip, also visiting a toddy palm farmer on the way between Mt Popa and Bagan.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank WinR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bagan Temples also viewed

Bagan, Mandalay Region
Bagan, Mandalay Region
 
Bagan, Mandalay Region
 

Been to Bagan Temples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing