We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow Wow Wow” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bagan Temples

Bagan Temples
Book In Advance
More Info
US$58.00*
and up
Private City Day Tour of Bagan
Ranked #1 of 87 things to do in Bagan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An area of 42 sq km houses thousands of richly decorated pagodas & temples.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
261 reviews
159 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Wow Wow Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Starting with your landing at Bagan airport where you can see temples everywhere - to your drive into town - it is truly breathtaking. There are said to be about 3000 temples in Bagan. It is also said that Unesco won't give them world herigate status because of a ghastly hotel built by apparently the richest man in Burma that stands out as an eyesore in the middle of the temples. Unesco apparently also does not care for the electrical lines.

The temples are the reason you go to Bagan - and they do not disappoint.

You can visit by car - which we did - also did a horse and cart which was a great way to see - and we rented bikes - another perspective

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank SFOglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,199
    490
    48
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Vlaardingen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
227 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Had an excellent time, spent 4 days in Bagan. Rented an electrical scooter and that was a convenient way to explore the tempels and villages. Can absolute recommend, best thing I have seen in Myanmar

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tessavanweelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“No shortage of temples in Bagan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

As I had done my research before visiting I showed my list of temples etc to a taxi driver I had met at the (new) bus station. I paid 35000 Kyats for aircon vehicle & the driver had very good English as well as pretty good knowledge of the temples history. I also visited Myinkaba Village to check out the lacquerware at Jasmine Family. As well as Min Nan Tue Village where a local will take you around & show you how they pretty much live self-sufficient.

As it was my last day I had the driver drop me back out at the bus station which saved me 10,000 Kyats. The heat can be draining so be sure to carry fluids.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank stonemanSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Go and see!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

So much to see and unbelievable number of temples - so few people there, go before the tourist hoards invade!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vietnam
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

I wouldn't be that into walking around temples all day normally but here was great, everywhere you look over the vast area temples are dotted around, some huge and some small. I recommend renting an E-bike, which is just an electric bike as tourists can not have motorbikes. rent one for 5 dollars for the day and go get lost in amongst the temples. there are so many that you almost never bump into other tourists when exploring the smaller temples, although some of the bigger ones get crowded for sunset, but it is still a vey peaceful place. as you get off the bus to get into bagan you will be asked for 15 dollars and you get a 5 day ticket , but none ever checks the ticket after that.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jj_t0urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bagan Temples also viewed

Bagan, Mandalay Region
Bagan, Mandalay Region
 
Bagan, Mandalay Region
Bagan, Mandalay Region
 

Been to Bagan Temples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing