We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but a lot simpler than the pics make it look”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sky Palace Hotel Bagan
Ranked #37 of 52 Hotels in Bagan
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The hotel is fine, the outside and (small) pool actually beautiful, but keep in mind that it is a lot less posh than pictures make it appear. The internet works pretty well, which for Myanmar is a small miracle, and it has electricity, also a plus. The brakfast is pretty basic. Still, overall comfortable and super friendly staff. You probably didn't come to Bagan to enjoy a posh hotel in any case ;-)

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank omegendorph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

Great value for money - with spacious rooms, clean, helpful service, great pool. Beds are comfy, breakfast is decent. So if you don;t expect anything beyond 3 starts amenities, you'll definitely enjoy your stay :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Igor Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Stayed here 3 nights on a Peregrine Trip. Nice room upstairs overlooking glorious pool and grounds. The bed was very nice and the room a good size. Bathroom had shower over bath of separate large shower head on tiled bathroom floor. Safe in rooms for belongings. Pool was luke warm, huge and very clean. The breakfast was very average - poor, but included. Although they had dinners we didn't eat here as there was no atmosphere in the dining room at all. Some of the rooms again had the mothball/deodoriser smell in them which was horrid, we were fortunate not to have this. There were lovely fluffy towels at the end of the pool. Best meals out were at "The black Rose" a smallish cafe run by a very friendly man. Food was great and very cheap. It was good Myanmar food. Deserts of pancakes approx $2US of a plate of fresh fruit US$1 approx. Beer 600ml bottles approx US$2.50. So good we returned there for 2 nights. Bagan (the new city) is very small and quite a distance from the old city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool. Beautiful gardens and setting
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AucklandCedarchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We arrived at the Sky Palace Hotel and were put in small dark room that had a window that looked immediately out onto the wall of the next building less than 2 meters away. We asked to move as the hotel was nearly empty and were shown a room upstairs with the same view. I asked again to move and were given a different room which was brighter and airer. I asked if the room was quite and the answer was yes. At 4am the generator started outside the room which was very noisy. Why the manager could not have given us a better room from the beginning considering there was no one in the hotel I do not know. The pool area however was lovely! This is also one of the closest hotels to Old Bagan where most of the pagodas are so a great location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Great swimming pool. The room was old looking and wasn't so clean. And they have only twin rooms??? So I was told. Pretty bad breakfast. If you wanna walk around outside of the hotel, get a flashlight as it's really dark around the area. There are a few dining options walking distance. I got a good rate so wasn't expecting much but was a little disappointed. Overall average.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keio s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

A nice place to stay in. The quality of the breakfast isn't exceptional, but there is a larger variety of food than the other Hotels we have been to. The rooms are very tidy and clean with a good bathroom, not too elegant. Nevertheless, all in all, with good service, internet and air conditioning, it's all you need for a good night before leaving for your visit in the city!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giantonella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

The Sky Palace hotel is situated in a lovely garden just off the main road in Bagan. This being a city with just 15.000 inhabitants, main road is quite different to those in Mandalay or Yangoon.

Rooms are spacious and so are the beds and the bathroom. All amenities are there and I particularly appreciated the bathrobe.

The pool is good for doing laps or just unwind after another long day with temples and pagodas.

Breakfast is a bit more blend than other Burmese hotels I stayed at but dinner turned out to be tasty and they are more than happy to serve it by the pool. Be aware that they only sell liquor by the bottle and that Gin is not on their drinking menu. They offered to go out and buy a bottle though.

Staff is as friendly and helpful as you would want them to be. Always a kind greeting and a smile. Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuroraPolaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bagan hotels
0 mi away
Royal Emerald River View Golf Resort
3 mi away
Gracious Bagan Hotel
Gracious Bagan Hotel
#39 of 52 in Bagan
94 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon Bagan
Hotel Yadanarbon Bagan
#25 of 52 in Bagan
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Sky View Hotel
Sky View Hotel
#10 of 52 in Bagan
200 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arthawka  Hotel
Arthawka Hotel
#7 of 52 in Bagan
486 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Floral Breeze Hotel Bagan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Palace Hotel Bagan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Palace Hotel Bagan

Address: Shwe Loung Qtr, Bet, Bagan, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 52 Hotels in Bagan
Price Range: £32 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sky Palace Hotel Bagan 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sky Palace Hotel Bagan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing