We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Above Average for Myanmar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bagan Hotel River View
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Bagan
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
137 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Well Above Average for Myanmar”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed two nights at the Bagan Hotel River View in Bagan while on a bicycle tour of Myanmar. It’s a premier property in a spectacular location [between a stunning pagoda and the river]. The Hotel should probably be called a resort as it includes a swimming pool, lush grounds, some fine antiques, and spacious grounds. There are perhaps a dozen pods each with 4-8 rooms each which are reached by a maze of walkways. The location is in the midst of Bagan’s temples and pagodas; hundreds are within a Km or two radius. There is no feeling of poverty or depression in the local area and we felt free to come and go on foot [by bicycle as in our case]. Those not inclined to walk or pedal can chose to be shuttle by horse carriage or can rent electric bikes by the day from a variety of vendors. Both can be found just outside the hotel entrance. English is widely spoken by those in the tourist industry so there is no problem conversing inside or outside the hotel.

Our room was more like a 1 bedroom apartment with separate living area and bedroom area. There were even two AC units to keep the place cool. We had two twin beds pushed together to make a pseudo king. They were comfortable and we slept well. As is usual for Myanmar, the lighting was rather low. We had in room coffee, bottled water, and of course a flat screen TV. Our only complaint is that the internet signal was unusably weak in the room unless one stood at the back window. A few additional routers would solve this at minimal cost. Even standing by the window, we found the internet unusable between 7AM and 10PM. It would time out while trying to get email or access simple web pages. We attribute this to minimal bandwidth to Bagan.

The bathroom was also large. It had a regular tub and double sinks set into a vanity. The towels were great. The whole accommodation and especially the bathroom were very clean.

Breakfast was outdoors in a lovely location along the riverfront. Omelets can be custom ordered. The rest is by a buffet with plenty of choices. We especially enjoyed these breakfasts. We did not dine nor drink at the Bagan Hotel. Others in our party indicated that drinks were expensive at the bar.

In summary, the Bagan Hotel provided great lodging and a great experience. It was the best hotel of our two week trip. It happened to be the end of our trip and left a favorable impression about Myanmar in general.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    167
    109
    24
    10
See reviews for
66
162
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
567 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 367 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

As you can see I 'm usually appreciative and 'cup half full' in my reviews and try not to be 'Mr Fussy traveller' expecting unreasonable standards in third world countries. However this hotel is one I would not recommend at all I am sorry to say. First the positives- great location by spectacular temple which is lit at night, bike hire (thoroughly recommend) and nice pool area.
The rooms were pretty poor standard considering the amount we were paying and Bagan is a relatively well developed tourist resort. Furniture dated, rooms didn't look clean, Ac not working, toilets not properly flushing . Needless to say a complaint was lodged and the manager was very responsive and moved us into suites. Still room service was poor and it culminated in having to take a plate of chips to reception because first it was undercooked and then practically burnt- normally i would laugh but not when you are paying close to £100 a night. I would hope the management improve this place and refurbish it. The staff and particularly the manager is good but they need the support of the owners.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sankes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bagan hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My second stay at this hotel. Location is stunning, temples in the grounds and location on the river, difficult to beat. However....my first stay there was 12 months ago and it was better than my most recent stay on a couple of fronts. Firstly the food was less good this time, breakfast was very basic, foods and drinks not refreshed when finished and crockery not very clean. Dinner definitely gone downhill, poor quality in general. We had cultural buffet on Saturday night and wish we hadn't, limited choice of food and not very hot.
By far the biggest problem we experienced this visit was the awful smell of drains throughout most of the hotel. In particular our room smelled awful a lot of the time as did the swimming pool area.
Shower in room didn't work and air conditioning not very effective. Staff lovely, very friendly but lack of process and organisational skills. Took a long time to get drinks and bar bills, it appeared that staff had to keep going to reception to process payments.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myview P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We booked a river view suite in the hotel via Agoda. The resort has a beautiful garden and our suite was spacious and clean, with a spectacular view on the river. The balcony was a bit too small to enjoy and there was no wifi in the room.
The staff seemed a bit uninterested. When we wanted to extend our stay with one night they referred us to the Agoda website, instead of making an effort to check availability. The next day we tried again, but by the time we got an answer we already had booked a room in a similar resort, with a similar price, which did live up tot all the expectations we had.
There was wifi in the lobby area, but it was slow in general and at times unavailable. The breakfast was served from a buffet which had lost a lot of its freshness at the time we usually showed up (as far as I am concerned, buffets are a bad idea in high tropical temperatures), but the breakfast area has a stunning view overlooking the the river. Again the staff was a bit unattentive.
On the whole we had a pleasant stay, but we'd expected a lot more for the price we payed. I would have chosen three and a half starts if possible.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SybrenWiersma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Surprised to see comments on tired rooms and furniture at this hotel. My River View Suite was lovely--everything new and very clean indeed. Perhaps some of the rooms have been renovated more recently than others.

As others have noted, great location and has some Burmese atmosphere/temples on the grounds. Breakfast buffet was lovely but our experience eating other meals here was mixed--Western entrees were terrible, but I had some of the Asian soups as well and they were good, if not outstanding. Suggest sticking to Asian options here.

Service was OK and staff are extraordinarily friendly but a bit disorganized. It took me half an hour to order and pay for a drink at the pool bar since every step seemed to require the bartender to take a trip to the main desk.

I did not use the pool but it looked lovely.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
99 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This hotel has an exceptional location in the Old bagan near the Gawdaw Palin temple , this even allowed you to visit some by foot.
The terrace overlooking the river is fantastic for breakfast nd sunset.
A nice pool, and huge park , unfortunately less attention is done on the maintenance and cleanliness, mainly in the bathroom (that are very small by any standard).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gil_750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SG
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

First time staying at this hotel. Nice environment, good view, good service. The feel is just so right. A bit costly but if you compare it with those crappy hotels in Yangon, their price is just so acceptable. Will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beedao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bagan hotels
0.1 mi away
Thande Hotel Bagan
Thande Hotel Bagan
#10 of 46 in Bagan
1,172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort
0.8 mi away
The Hotel at Tharabar Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aye Yar River View Resort
3.4 mi away
Amazing Bagan Resort
Amazing Bagan Resort
#6 of 46 in Bagan
744 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bagan Lodge
Bagan Lodge
#3 of 46 in Bagan
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagan Hotel River View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagan Hotel River View

Property: Bagan Hotel River View
Address: | Near Archeological Museum, Old Bagan, Bagan, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Bagan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bagan Hotel River View 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bagan Hotel River View is situated in a stunning location with fantastic views across the Ayeyarwaddy River. With the towering Gawdawpalin Temple on one side and the river front on the other, this attractive hotel is situated in the heart of Old Bagan, one of the world's most fascinating cultural heritage sites and Theravada Buddhism first flourished in Bagan. The hotel set on its own 7.8 acres of landscaped garden, indulges prominent view to breathtaking Ayeyarwaddy River, a treasure of Myanmar and a gift from the Nature. Not only the resort has been meticulously planned to be unique and original. The hotel unique architecture remains loyal to authentic Myanmar cultural and its lush garden compound features two ancient Pagoda are Shinpinthettawshay Pagoda and Shinpinthettawya Pagoda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bagan Hotel River View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River View Hotel Bagan
River View Bagan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing